Thread: Upgrading from Canon S95

Default Upgrading from Canon S95

Hi everybody,

Newbie here.

I am looking to upgrade from my good old Canon S95. This compact has served me very well through many overseas trips.

Now, I am looking for a fairly portable camera with significantly better image quality. I think the DSLR is just too big for my liking.

So I am thinking of the Canon G1X which I understand has a much larger sensor.

Question - Am I right to assume that the Canon G1X would give me much better image quality compared to the S95?

Any thoughts or suggestions (other cameras even) are most welcomed.

Thanks.

You can consider sony rx 100 too.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

Yes, but do note that the af is slow and it's a big, bulky point and shoot. But image quality is great.

I'd recommend an rx100 instead.
    Alpha

Default Re: Upgrading from Canon S95

Thanks for the suggestions. I will go check out the Sony RX 100 as well.

Well... many reviews pointed to the Canon G1X have sluggish AF performance, but some who had used it had said that the AF performance is actually pretty alright, not extremely fast like the mirrorless like the latest offering from Olympus and Panasonic... and the G1X doesn't had a very desirable macro capability.

However image quality wise, it is almost as good as a DSLR, having a sensor that is even larger than the m4/3 sensor size and definitely bigger than the 1 inch sensor from Nikon 1 series sensor and Sony RX100.

To say the truth, I would definitely prefer the bigger sized G1X (personal opinion only) and I believe the G1X is going a bit cheaper than the RX100 nowadays... and if you are used to the S95, user interface wise shouldn't be too different with the G1X.

Do go down to the shop and play with these cameras first, see which one you like best then get that one...
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots