Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 8th March 2005   #1
AMDer

Default Nikon Warranty

has anyone of u went down to Nikon Service Centre before to service any of your Nikon (e.g Body, Lens, Accerrories, Flash...etc.) without ever producing the warranty card and reciept?

my concern is will Nikon accept servicing with just the original warranty but no receipt?

thanks.
Old 8th March 2005   #2
espn

No, without the receipt, Nikon Service centre will take the production date of the particular equipment as the date of warranty. Which might be many months back before it was sold to you.

Nikon Singapore requires BOTH the receipt & warranty card.
Old 8th March 2005   #3
kegler

if warrenty card already send in previously.... but no receipt? which date will they look at? the date when i sent in the warrenty or manufacture date?
thx in advance
Sponsored Link
Old 8th March 2005   #4
AMDer

What if there was a delay in sending in the warranty late?

for example, the warranty was sent in after a month from the date of the receipt. so does that mean that Nikon will reject the warranty?
Old 8th March 2005   #5
espn

Originally Posted by AMDer
What if there was a delay in sending in the warranty late?

for example, the warranty was sent in after a month from the date of the receipt. so does that mean that Nikon will reject the warranty?
That's precisely why Nikon wants BOTH the receipt & the warranty card to honor the warranty.
Old 8th March 2005   #6
kegler

Originally Posted by espn
That's precisely why Nikon wants BOTH the receipt & the warranty card to honor the warranty.
espn, so does that mean send or dun send warrenty also valid?
Old 9th March 2005   #7
AMDer

no...i think i understand liao.

e.g.
D70 bought on 1st of Jan 2005.date on receipt is 1st of Jan 2005.
the warranty mus be send 7 days from the date of purchase, which is latest 7th of Jan 2005. if not,if u delay by a few days, the difference between the receipt date and the warranty date will not be within 7 days. Nikon willl not accept the warranty.

right guys?
Old 9th March 2005   #8
AMDer

but now i don't understand 1 thing...

why ppl still sell Nikon stuffs in the 'Buy and Sell' thread with 'warranty unfilled' comments. that is unless their receipt is unfill too. if they dun have their receipt or they have delayed in sending in their warranty. then the warranty is void.

now...anyone?
Old 9th March 2005   #9
espn

Originally Posted by kegler
espn, so does that mean send or dun send warrenty also valid?
For me, I never send in, some others I know also don't. It's up to your preference.

no...i think i understand liao.

e.g.
D70 bought on 1st of Jan 2005.date on receipt is 1st of Jan 2005.
the warranty mus be send 7 days from the date of purchase, which is latest 7th of Jan 2005. if not,if u delay by a few days, the difference between the receipt date and the warranty date will not be within 7 days. Nikon willl not accept the warranty.

right guys?
By right, yes. But as long as the receipt & warranty card can be produced when sending in, Nikon should honour the warranty if the date on the receipt is within the 1 year grace.

but now i don't understand 1 thing...

why ppl still sell Nikon stuffs in the 'Buy and Sell' thread with 'warranty unfilled' comments. that is unless their receipt is unfill too. if they dun have their receipt or they have delayed in sending in their warranty. then the warranty is void.

now...anyone?
Receipt is a receipt what, got unfilled one meh

Yes, if you don't have receipt, it's voided. Regarding the sending in of warranty, Nikon isn't too particular about it, but first time servicing MUST bring the receipt along for verification, after that Nikon would keep a record of the item sent in. Next time, you don't need to bring the receipt nor the warranty card along anymore.
Old 9th March 2005   #10
billpepsi

Originally Posted by espn
Yes, if you don't have receipt, it's voided. Regarding the sending in of warranty, Nikon isn't too particular about it, but first time servicing MUST bring the receipt along for verification, after that Nikon would keep a record of the item sent in. Next time, you don't need to bring the receipt nor the warranty card along anymore.
Does this mean your warranty will be automatically voided if your Nikon camera was received as a prize or a gift, b'cos in such situation, receipts are usually not included.
Old 9th March 2005   #11
espn

Originally Posted by jeffhiew
Does this mean your warranty will be automatically voided if your Nikon camera was received as a prize or a gift, b'cos in such situation, receipts are usually not included.
That I have no idea, because I've never received one as a gift/prize. I'm voicing out only in my view as a consumer and not others.

For the prize/gifts maybe the person giving them away could send the warranty on the behalfs of the receiver. Once there's a record, it's there.
Closed Thread