Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 4567811 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 226

Thread: Are Bose speakers any good?

  1. #101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plinius
    ermmm...what u mean by spent >10k in Adelphi, in the end also like that?
    care to share the details?
    Heh heh....maybe i shall rant a bit here. Hifi/HT, like photography and many other boy toy hobbies, it always boils down to measurbating and the likes. Class A-SET better than solid state debates, my sunfire EQ signature is better than your SVS PC+ 16-46, my Mark Levinson is better than your Marantz etc.... It really gets stale and like photography, what is important is the software (ie music). Invest in good software, play it on the system that it will excel on, save the money and go VCH or Esplanade on Saturdays, not Adelphi (the music shops excluded). The chasing of the holy grail will never end.

    An analogy in photography, you willing to pay for a 50/1.8 or a 85/1.4 to get the job done?

  2. #102
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Try Cambridge Audio, the 640 series, good value for money. I am using the CD player, Digital Tuner and Amplifier and I tell you, IT ROCKS!

  3. #103
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Oops...sorlee hor , the post ask if BOSE speakers are any good...

    Try ELAC, German made. I use it with my Cambridge Audio and IT ROCKS! Actually depends on a few things also lah...like your CD player, your Amp, and your cables that you use...YES, cables and interconnects.

    Also your music taste matters, some speakers are more warm sounding etc.

  4. #104

    Default

    Do you guys know of anywhere else that show NAD amps besides GP Acoustics?

  5. #105
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    AFAIK, none in Adelphi, try Sim Lim Square........ why must be NAD? How about Rotel or Marantz?

    Cheers.....

    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    Do you guys know of anywhere else that show NAD amps besides GP Acoustics?

  6. #106
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    yeap plinius is right...

    Besides the NAD you can audition the Rotels and Marantz as well though the Marantz would most likely cost more.

    Another point to note is during the purchase of speakers, try to get those with 8ohm load which is easier to drive compare to their 4ohm counterparts.

  7. #107
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    hey dude,
    u not following the postings manz...laugh wants only an Int Amp now....heh

    Laugh,

    Do you mind used? else you could check this out http://www.echoloft.com/cgi-bin/buys...num=1110367277

    NAD C370 is a powerful amp, but $399 for 2.5yr old set, i not too sure abt the pricing, anyone could help on the pricing?

    Cheers......

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    yeap plinius is right...

    Besides the NAD you can audition the Rotels and Marantz as well though the Marantz would most likely cost more.

    Another point to note is during the purchase of speakers, try to get those with 8ohm load which is easier to drive compare to their 4ohm counterparts.

  8. #108
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Yea i know ..just some extra info ... useful or not ... i guess its up to the buyer.

    No offence

  9. #109
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    ? no offence to me? heh... me just poking fun at u lah.... heh

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL

    No offence

  10. #110

    Default

    thanks plinius,
    the amplifier requirements of my speaker is 10-80W.. can a 120W amp do?
    Sorry, Im quite clueless in the aspect.

  11. #111
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    thanks plinius,
    the amplifier requirements of my speaker is 10-80W.. can a 120W amp do?
    Sorry, Im quite clueless in the aspect.
    Yup no problems .. but at what ohm load?

    Different ohm loads = different power ratings

    If its 8ohms ... should be ok ... since its 60w/ch ... the NAD or Rotel should do nicely ...

  12. #112
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plinius
    ? no offence to me? heh... me just poking fun at u lah.... heh

  13. #113
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    can can no problem, to quote what Pro Image mentioned in one of his posts:"Requirements
    Amplifier requirement figures are intended only as a guide. As a general rule buy the biggest amplifier you can afford within the specified range and use if with car. It is easier to damage the loudspeaker by using a small amplifier driven into distortion by too much volume with bass and treble boost, than by using a larger amplifier which has power in reserve. If in doubt, ask your dealer."

    The C370 can also be used for your future upgrade of Spiks.......


    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    thanks plinius,
    the amplifier requirements of my speaker is 10-80W.. can a 120W amp do?
    Sorry, Im quite clueless in the aspect.

  14. #114
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plinius
    can can no problem, to quote what Pro Image mentioned in one of his posts:"Requirements
    Amplifier requirement figures are intended only as a guide. As a general rule buy the biggest amplifier you can afford within the specified range and use if with car. It is easier to damage the loudspeaker by using a small amplifier driven into distortion by too much volume with bass and treble boost, than by using a larger amplifier which has power in reserve. If in doubt, ask your dealer."

    The C370 can also be used for your future upgrade of Spiks.......
    Pro Image got his quote from the KEF website.

  15. #115
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    laugh,

    after all the research and searching asking....you better buy something good! Or else all of us is going to

    laugh, another thing is when you purchase your successful amp please let it run thru for a few days. Please do not put it at full blast. Let the amp be comfortable with the old speakers you have....if possible try not to switch off immediately after turning on. This is because your old speakers have not been run thru for a long time.

  16. #116
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by afbug
    Pro Image got his quote from the KEF website.
    Of course lar......what do you expect? Need to highlight that out for someone who is relatively new in the hi-fi world

    I am a hi-fi kaki myself too. Since I have a small house, I would not be bothered to get those $10,000 systems and collect dust. However I do know that it is a general rule for the amp to have extra juice.

    It's just like driving a Rolls Royce which weighs a few tonnes and have a 1.3 litre Toyota engine under the hood.

  17. #117
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default



    He'd better buy something good or we follow him down and kpo his purchase...

  18. #118
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Of course lar......what do you expect? Need to highlight that out for someone who is relatively new in the hi-fi world

    I am a hi-fi kaki myself too. Since I have a small house, I would not be bothered to get those $10,000 systems and collect dust. However I do know that it is a general rule for the amp to have extra juice.

    It's just like driving a Rolls Royce which weighs a few tonnes and have a 1.3 litre Toyota engine under the hood.
    Haha mai angry lah. I like your Rolls Royce theory.

  19. #119
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    It's just like driving a Rolls Royce which weighs a few tonnes and have a 1.3 litre Toyota engine under the hood.
    You see the VVTI ad??? It's a sheep.....can outrun all the 95 emperos

  20. #120
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Of course lar......what do you expect? Need to highlight that out for someone who is relatively new in the hi-fi world

    I am a hi-fi kaki myself too. Since I have a small house, I would not be bothered to get those $10,000 systems and collect dust. However I do know that it is a general rule for the amp to have extra juice.

    It's just like driving a Rolls Royce which weighs a few tonnes and have a 1.3 litre Toyota engine under the hood.
    Very true ... currently my pre/power setup .... my power amp's output is limited to only 50% and not max. So no matter how much i push my preamp, it has a limit, so i won't over power my speakers or fry my amp.

    Also most setups like these would sound more "wholesome" and "richer" compared to those that are under powered unless you're using extremely efficient speakers, then a small output amp would be sufficient.

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 4567811 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •