Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 3rd March 2005   #1
ortega

Default Questions for the Xpert

1. Can the standard curves from the D2X be saved to a file?
2. Can I import these curves to the D70?
3. Are they the same?

Just an idea.
Thanks
Old 3rd March 2005   #2
Zenten

You already are an expert to ask such questions. No other experts are expert enough to answer them questions.
Old 3rd March 2005   #3
gooseberry

If you shot a raw NEF photo with the D2X using the standard curve - you can extract the curve using a program called Curve Sugery Pro (or the later software called Raw Magick Lite) and save this curve and then import it into the D70. Don't know whether the "Normal" curve for the D2X would be different from the "Normal" curve for the D70 - but I guess it probably is.
Old 3rd March 2005   #4
Jed

I would be very surprised if they are the same, and I would also recommend not transporting curves. Different sensors behave differently with different performance levels in highlights and shadows, midtones, different colours...
Old 3rd March 2005   #5
ortega

Default Thanks for your input

Originally Posted by Zenten
You already are an expert to ask such questions. No other experts are expert enough to answer them questions.
hey dun say like that lah, I am a newbie as well.

there is always someone who is knows more,
so never assume that one is the best.

Just as the student learns from the teacher,
the teacher learns new ways of seeing/thinking from the student.
(No pun intended)

BTW this is not my area of expertise.

Just an idea that came into my head.
Thanks anyway.