Thread: Need help!!

Default Need help!!

Hey there!
    I am a newbie in using Manual Focus lens on DSLR! I have got 3 Pentax SMCs, namely the Pentax Asahi SMC M 40-80mm f/2.8-4, Pentax SMC M 28mm f/2.8, Pentax SMC F 35-80mm f/4-5.6. For the 40-80 and the 35-80, I have got no problems but with the 28mm, Sometimes I just can't get the focus right. I am using a 400D, so when I see the photos on the camera itself, its okay. But when I transfer to my computer, its rather blur. Any suggestions? Like any equipments that I need to buy? Thanks!

Maybe the lens itself is soft. Try shooting at smaller aperture with tripod. If it doesn't improve, u can throw away ur lens.

Or maybe some lens elements are loose
    hi

Default Re: Need help!!

When the shop owner took the photos, its completely perfect. I think its more of my own problem(?) Like unable to catch the focal point...

Maybe your focusing is off.... When previewed on the camera LCD, the screen is too small to see it. You can try to zoom in on the preview pict to see if your focusing is spot on or not.

But if using manual focus lenses, I think quite many folks here use focusing screen to help get the focus nailed down. I think Pentax may have something equivalent. you may want to also read up on that.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

I'm pretty sure it's a matter of technique.

Are you compensating for mirror slap?
    Alpha

OKay! Great help man. Thanks! But how much would it cost? Like around how much? Cus I just read up briefly and it takes a slight bit of skill to put it in...

Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    I'm pretty sure it's a matter of technique.

Are you compensating for mirror slap?
    Do mirror slaps occur on the 400D? Cus I thought its only on the FFs. I think I lack the technique...

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Low Zhen Hui View Post