ClubSNAP Photography Forums

Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image


 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd March 2005   #1
awongkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampines
Posts: 261
Default D2X for RM8500

hi guys,

happens to browse this in one of m'sia thread

" Nikon D2X for sale. 12.4-Megapixel D2X Offers Class-leading Combination of High Image Quality, High-Speed and High-Resolution in a Single Camera Body. All-New Wi-Fi Options Include Wireless Remote Camera Control and High Speed Crop Mode. Come with body, battery & charger only. No lens. Selling it off for RM 8500. Will arrive on my hand on 3/3/2005.Sold as it is. No warranty. Link : http://www.nikonusa.com/template.php...roductNr=25215. Call / sms 012-6577055 (please no emails, just sms plz) - gadgeteer <noemailsplz@nomails.com> "

Not sure how true..
awongkk is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #2
nightpiper
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,797
Default

so cheap.... i think its a scam. like they always say "if its too good to be true, it probably isn't" lots of such scams on auction sites, so be very very very careful.

last check with CP, the D2x is retailing for $7300 incl GST. u can roughly gauge how much ringgit it shud retail in M'sia. my estimate is around RM$14000.
nightpiper is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #3
ParkertR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Singapore/Thailand
Posts: 5,804
Default

WHOA... thats almost same price but in SG dollars! haha :S even in thailand it costs so much :S thats CHEAP
__________________
Budget wedding photographer :)
ParkertR is offline  
Sponsored Link
Old 3rd March 2005   #4
ParkertR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Singapore/Thailand
Posts: 5,804
Default

but as we've mentioned in other threads... too good to be true is usually really too good to be true...
__________________
Budget wedding photographer :)
ParkertR is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #5
awongkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampines
Posts: 261
Default dummy set ??

ha ha, thought that too. maybe some guys at KL watching this now should give that guy a call and meet face to face, "yi shou jiao huo, yi shou jiao jian". , ops, not forgetting to bring lens and cf cards to test.. LOL
awongkk is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #6
rhythm_traveller
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: !
Posts: 246
Default

KL is not too far. If you are considering D2X for that price at a savings of 4 big ones, you could take leave and go KL to meet up with the guy COD.

If he refuses, its probably a scam
rhythm_traveller is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #7
espn
Deregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet Nikon
Posts: 22,045
Default

Originally Posted by rhythm_traveller
KL is not too far. If you are considering D2X for that price at a savings of 4 big ones, you could take leave and go KL to meet up with the guy COD.

If he refuses, its probably a scam
Either that they will just ambush you along the way and do away with your cash, you can even forget about seeing a fake D2X
espn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #8
awongkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampines
Posts: 261
Default D2X for ME ??

Originally Posted by rhythm_traveller
KL is not too far. If you are considering D2X for that price at a savings of 4 big ones, you could take leave and go KL to meet up with the guy COD.

If he refuses, its probably a scam
Even at that price also beyond my reach... nah, not my dream cam though..
But... at least i have a d2x....... memory card holder
awongkk is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #9
rhythm_traveller
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: !
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by espn
Either that they will just ambush you along the way and do away with your cash, you can even forget about seeing a fake D2X

Haha true! Or you can sponsor some CSers to go with you for protection purposes.
rhythm_traveller is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #10
awongkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampines
Posts: 261
Default

Originally Posted by espn
Either that they will just ambush you along the way and do away with your cash, you can even forget about seeing a fake D2X
just a thought... ha ha ha. use the GPS device to track the cam and see if the cam really at KL or US..
awongkk is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #11
espn
Deregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet Nikon
Posts: 22,045
Default

Originally Posted by awongkk
just a thought... ha ha ha. use the GPS device to track the cam and see if the cam really at KL or US..
The WT-2/2a not available yet I believe can't use GPS.
espn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #12
rhythm_traveller
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: !
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by awongkk
hi guys,

happens to browse this in one of m'sia thread

" Nikon D2X for sale. 12.4-Megapixel D2X Offers Class-leading Combination of High Image Quality, High-Speed and High-Resolution in a Single Camera Body. All-New Wi-Fi Options Include Wireless Remote Camera Control and High Speed Crop Mode. Come with body, battery & charger only. No lens. Selling it off for RM 8500. Will arrive on my hand on 3/3/2005.Sold as it is. No warranty. Link : http://www.nikonusa.com/template.php...roductNr=25215. Call / sms 012-6577055 (please no emails, just sms plz) - gadgeteer <noemailsplz@nomails.com> "

Not sure how true..

Oh yah, just a personal experience. Theres this guy selling on SG ebay, D2X 2 months ago, auctioning for S$3000. I emailed him, and he mentioned that he's in Bali. I told him that I would sponsor him a trip to singapore with free hotel for 3 days if he can come and deliver the camera. He refuses, insisting that I TT half the money to him as deposit first. Then I told him, I would go over to Bali to get from him, again he refuses.

So I asked him to take a photo of the D2X and send it to me to prove he has it. He sent me a D70 photo. Furthermore the D70 photo is from the net. This dude can't even scam properly.

Last i know, is that he was de-registered by ebay.
rhythm_traveller is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #13
Sjourn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Punggol 21/中国
Posts: 1,370
Default

there's a lot of scams out there..someone might be just desperate enough to fall for it. anyone remember the scam case of some rich Nigeirans leaving thier money after thier death and need guarantors to take money out of the country, catch is you have to pay out some for document fees and crap...btw...some Singaporeans actually were fooled into that. So, D2x at half price.....hahahaa...fat hope.
__________________
I lup SG, but SG don't love me...
Sjourn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #14
espn
Deregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet Nikon
Posts: 22,045
Default

Originally Posted by Sjourn
there's a lot of scams out there..someone might be just desperate enough to fall for it. anyone remember the scam case of some rich Nigeirans leaving thier money after thier death and need guarantors to take money out of the country, catch is you have to pay out some for document fees and crap...btw...some Singaporeans actually were fooled into that. So, D2x at half price.....hahahaa...fat hope.
Yeah, it'd probably be easier to get suntan on feet whilst wearing sandals too

espn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #15
tantingchin
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tanjong Pagar
Posts: 635
Default

i think last time he was selling minolta's 7D DSLR at half price also...
__________________
Are you looking for a way out?
tantingchin is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #16
Sjourn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Punggol 21/中国
Posts: 1,370
Default

Originally Posted by espn
Yeah, it'd probably be easier to get suntan on feet whilst wearing sandals too


true ...true....hahaha
__________________
I lup SG, but SG don't love me...
Sjourn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #17
espn
Deregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet Nikon
Posts: 22,045
Default

I have a shot of my feet like yours too, after trekking 1 day in Penang last year
espn is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #18
scanner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,643
Default

Maybe 1 to 2 years time where 2nd price is worth that much. 4k plus...
scanner is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #19
Paul_Yeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sengkang
Posts: 2,156
Default

i dun even have S$3000 cash, it is way too expensive for me still
__________________
www.boo.sg
Paul_Yeo is offline  
Old 3rd March 2005   #20
snowspeeder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 35A East Coast Rd
Posts: 3,436
Default

Originally Posted by rhythm_traveller
Oh yah, just a personal experience. Theres this guy selling on SG ebay, D2X 2 months ago, auctioning for S$3000. I emailed him, and he mentioned that he's in Bali. I told him that I would sponsor him a trip to singapore with free hotel for 3 days if he can come and deliver the camera. He refuses, insisting that I TT half the money to him as deposit first. Then I told him, I would go over to Bali to get from him, again he refuses.

So I asked him to take a photo of the D2X and send it to me to prove he has it. He sent me a D70 photo. Furthermore the D70 photo is from the net. This dude can't even scam properly.

Last i know, is that he was de-registered by ebay.
Well, sometimes its amazing to see how "unsophisticated" these fools can be. Maybe if we could identify more of these "sale" on online in the future, we could all take turns to bombard his email and give him a good time!
snowspeeder is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2009 ClubSNAP.com
Page generated in 0.12782 seconds with 7 queries