Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 28th February 2005   #1
Goldenstars08

Default Which Lens Is a Better Choice Canon 70-200 F/4 or Tokina 80-200 F/2.8 ?

Is the Canon 70-200 L F/4 a better choice
or the Tokina 80-200 F/2.8 a better choice.

I am saying in term of the Quality, Sharpness, F-stop and so on.

Thanks in advance for any reply...

Last edited by Goldenstars08; 28th February 2005 at 11:48 PM.
Old 1st March 2005   #2
mpenza

Instead of Tokina, most people consider the Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX HSM as the 3rd party alternative to Canon for this range due to the faster focussing and generally good optical performance.
Old 1st March 2005   #3
mpenza

if you need the f2.8 and don't mind the weight, go for the Sigma. Else go for the 70-200F4L.
Sponsored Link
Old 1st March 2005   #4
zhangyb

tried all 3 before and in my very personal preference, i like the F4/L that i own, not because bias due to ownership. I dun remember much about the tokina as i didn't play much but the sigma 2.8 is much heavier and overall i like the feel of the f4/L more. The edge sigma has over the F4 is the F2.8, sharpness for sigma also good as long as you don't get a lemon copy.

if you want a walkaround lens, the f4 wld be ideal
Old 1st March 2005   #5
nightwolf75

dunno which cam u are currently using. but, if u do happened to buy a tokina, do make sure it can work on ur current canon body(s). i used to have a 80-200mm (red ring) which worked on my 10D but not on my EOS 30. later found out dat this older lens (compare to the current gold ring version) don't work some of the EOS bodies. the current gold ring version shld work on all bodies.

dat aside, the tokina is heavy! very solid construction - ie can take a bit of punishment without a whimper. the focusing on my red ring is a tad slower than canon's USM. however, dat is to be expected of any 3rd party lenses. slightly soft at f2.8, also expected. nothing dat can't be cured with a bit of sharpening in PS. the colours on my ex-tokina was netural. not excessively muted or faded. with a little colour adjustmens to my RAW files, the colours can be restored to its original.

in the end, tho i was quite okie with the lens, i sold it off to another EOS 1N user becos i wanted a lens to be able to work on both my cam. the tokina is a little cheaper than the sigma. but, depends on u whether u mind the weight. the sigma, with the HSM motor, focuses faster than the tokina. also, its much lighter. my sports/events shooting colleagues in office swear by this lens. come to think of it, except for one richer guy who has the f2.8 IS USM lens, the other 2 all uses sigma. if u buy the sigma, do make sure u test for back-focusing problems? there are some known issues regarding back-focusing problems with some batches of this sigma lens.
Old 1st March 2005   #6
megaweb

If you dun shoot a lot of indoor, get 70-200mm f4L.
Old 1st March 2005   #7
ghost77

Default 70-200mm f4L.

Get the 70-200mm f4L.

I love this lens...

Last edited by ghost77; 1st March 2005 at 11:42 AM.
Old 1st March 2005   #8
ghost77

Default more..

Old 1st March 2005   #9
dkw

Originally Posted by ghost77
Get the 70-200mm f4L.

I love this lens...
Excellent! What shutter speed if you don't mind, and do you miss the IS?

Cheers,
Old 1st March 2005   #10
ghost77

Default 70-200 L4

For the first pic
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/200
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
70.0 - 200.0 mm
Focal Length
200.0 mm

For the sec. pic
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/400
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
70.0 - 200.0 mm
Focal Length
200.0 mm

For the Third Pic
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/160
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
70.0 - 200.0 mm
Focal Length
70.0 mm

For the fourth pic
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/320
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
70.0 - 200.0 mm
Focal Length
188.0 mm

Thanks.
Old 1st March 2005   #11
ghost77

Default 70-200 L4

For the last pic
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/400
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
70.0 - 200.0 mm
Focal Length
200.0 mm

Thanks.
Old 1st March 2005   #12
centrino

used both canon f4L and sigma f2.8. personally prefer sigma.
f2.8 and f4 is quite big difference to me especially for tele lens.

u should try both before decide.
Old 1st March 2005   #13
user111

take the canon f4
Old 1st March 2005   #14
Goldenstars08

Thanks all for reply.

Any more......reply...
Old 1st March 2005   #15
theITguy

Want my reply? Buy my F4L hard sell

But seriously, try both lens first, see which you like.
Old 2nd March 2005   #16
Goldenstars08

Thanks all for reply...
I think i will save up for the Canon F/4L.
Old 2nd March 2005   #17
Belle&Sebastain

Originally Posted by Goldenstars08
Thanks all for reply...
I think i will save up for the Canon F/4L.
buy theITguy's lens!!!
Old 2nd March 2005   #18
theITguy

Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
buy theITguy's lens!!!

Good idea. Seriously, Goldenstars08 if you are interested in having a try on the 70-200/4.0, you can pop in at our meetup for the 50+36 gathering when we view our photos. I will be bringing my len over let you try try. Of course no buying lah, coz I say liao let you try try.

I think the best is whether the person likes the len or not, not because someone else like it. I do not like zoom lens, or rather I used them like prime
Old 2nd March 2005   #19
Belle&Sebastain

Originally Posted by theITguy
Good idea. Seriously, Goldenstars08 if you are interested in having a try on the 70-200/4.0, you can pop in at our meetup for the 50+36 gathering when we view our photos. I will be bringing my len over let you try try. Of course no buying lah, coz I say liao let you try try.

I think the best is whether the person likes the len or not, not because someone else like it. I do not like zoom lens, or rather I used them like prime

you are suppose to bring ONLY your 50mm lens for the outing!!!
JUST PULLING YOUR LEG MAN!
Old 3rd March 2005   #20
Keltzar

The most likely important advantage of the 70-200/4 L is that its probably more portable (well, at least it was when I compared it to my 80-200/2.8L) and that 5 years from now it will probably work on your new EOS camera.

Don't underestimate the importance of weight. You won't use a lens you don't carry.

Don't underestimate the importance of compatibility, unless you plan to change your equipment every 2-3 years (which is the problem with sigma and some tokina lenses due to compatibility issues).

And depending on what you usually shoot ... unless you need the bokeh of f2.8 at 200mm, your loss of one-stop is easily made up for in a DSLR by upping the ASA by one stop (couldn't do that with film so easily).

I have had my 80-200/2.8L for 10years and am happy with it. It was a replacement for a Sigma 70-210/2.8 then which broke-down 2weeks after purchase. That Sigma would have been incompatible with today's cameras. I'm sure the new Sigmas are better optically and mechanically ... but the electronics are the issue.
Closed Thread