Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 589101112 LastLast
Results 181 to 200 of 240

Thread: To Q or to Q10?

  1. #181
    Member PhilipKr35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Yew Tee
    Posts
    1,615

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Looking beyond the already nice DxOMark measurement of Q and Q10,

    Look at what some people did to Q, Q + Sigma 500mm , Wow, a Whopping 2790mm !
    _IGP9515 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

    Squirrel
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/pearsaab/8465827971/

    Q Extreme Tele !

    Quote Originally Posted by ageha View Post
    DxO Mark is out:
    DxOMark - Measurement
    Pretty good!
    Last edited by PhilipKr35; 18th February 2013 at 09:06 PM.
    GR,K2,K3, DA15Ltd, 10-24 f 3.5-4.5, K135 f2.8, K55 f1.8, Q, Q2K, Q10, 01020306,FA31,FA100WR

  2. #182

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilipKr35 View Post
    Looking beyond the already nice DxOMark measurement of Q and Q10,

    Look at what some people did to Q, Q + Sigma 500mm , Wow, a Whopping 2790mm !
    _IGP9515 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

    Squirrel
    IMGP9651 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

    Q Extreme Tele !
    Well, not very impressive for a tripod shot, pretty blurry and that at just 1k res.

  3. #183
    Member PhilipKr35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Yew Tee
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ageha
    Well, not very impressive for a tripod shot, pretty blurry and that at just 1k res.
    Hi, what u mean at 1k res? Resolution ?
    I thought the squirrel was quite clear sharp?
    Well cannot compare with K5 lah!
    GR,K2,K3, DA15Ltd, 10-24 f 3.5-4.5, K135 f2.8, K55 f1.8, Q, Q2K, Q10, 01020306,FA31,FA100WR

  4. #184

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilipKr35 View Post
    Hi, what u mean at 1k res? Resolution ?
    I thought the squirrel was quite clear sharp?
    Well cannot compare with K5 lah!
    Seriously, the shot is horrendous. But I don't think the Q is the problem. Yes, downsampled to 1k it should be much sharper even coming from a 1/2.3" sensor. You don't need a K5 for that, it might be even worse because at the same distance to the subject you would need to crop massively (sure you could compensate with a longer lens).

  5. #185
    Member PhilipKr35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Yew Tee
    Posts
    1,615

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Had a closer look on Flicker of larger sizes, ya I get what you mean, seemed out of focus like that , could it be the Sigma 500mm ? I have same problem with SIgma 70-300mm APO on Kr, it never sharp in focus on tripod. Kind of a hazy feel to the photo.

    Quote Originally Posted by ageha View Post
    Seriously, the shot is horrendous. But I don't think the Q is the problem. Yes, downsampled to 1k it should be much sharper even coming from a 1/2.3" sensor. You don't need a K5 for that, it might be even worse because at the same distance to the subject you would need to crop massively (sure you could compensate with a longer lens).
    GR,K2,K3, DA15Ltd, 10-24 f 3.5-4.5, K135 f2.8, K55 f1.8, Q, Q2K, Q10, 01020306,FA31,FA100WR

  6. #186

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Finally after contemplating for over 5 months since Dec 12 when I went Osaka for holiday and played with Q10 for the 1st time, I finally took the plunge and ordered Q10 from Amazon JP last week and spent SGD 626.97 in total on Q10 with 02 and 06 lens, 2 x 40.6mm silver rim filter and shipping. Got the set today and waiting to go out and shoot with it. With weakening of Yen and SGD and the recent drop in price of Q10, this is a deal too difficult to resist. Price definitely so much better compared to local distributor - APD pricing of SGD1.2k.

  7. #187
    Member PhilipKr35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Yew Tee
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Great deal indeed! Clearly parallel import is better.

    Quote Originally Posted by dracoid4 View Post
    Finally after contemplating for over 5 months since Dec 12 when I went Osaka for holiday and played with Q10 for the 1st time, I finally took the plunge and ordered Q10 from Amazon JP last week and spent SGD 626.97 in total on Q10 with 02 and 06 lens, 2 x 40.6mm silver rim filter and shipping. Got the set today and waiting to go out and shoot with it. With weakening of Yen and SGD and the recent drop in price of Q10, this is a deal too difficult to resist. Price definitely so much better compared to local distributor - APD pricing of SGD1.2k.
    GR,K2,K3, DA15Ltd, 10-24 f 3.5-4.5, K135 f2.8, K55 f1.8, Q, Q2K, Q10, 01020306,FA31,FA100WR

  8. #188

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    What you guys use to carry the Q10 with 02 or 06 or both? Any cheap and good options?
    Last edited by dracoid4; 8th May 2013 at 10:59 PM.

  9. #189

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Quote Originally Posted by dracoid4 View Post
    What you guys use to carry the Q10 with 02 or 06 or both? Any cheap and good options?
    Er... nothing....
    I just sling it over the shoulder and let those folks with big neclacE 'D' something or something 'D' see that I have a cute little Q...

  10. #190

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Any decent bag will do. The charm of the Q system is that if you wanted to, you could simply slip the lenses into your pockets and wear the camera - no bag required. I used to chuck them in small separate compartments in my laptop bag!

  11. #191

    Default

    Those small chalk bags used by climbers.

  12. #192
    Member PhilipKr35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Yew Tee
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dracoid4 View Post
    What you guys use to carry the Q10 with 02 or 06 or both? Any cheap and good options?
    Go to beach road army shop and see if there is a grenade and ammunition belt suitable to carry Q10, 01,02,03,06.
    GR,K2,K3, DA15Ltd, 10-24 f 3.5-4.5, K135 f2.8, K55 f1.8, Q, Q2K, Q10, 01020306,FA31,FA100WR

  13. #193
    Member geengar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Ok, Im over with ADPS. Anybody tried Japan Shopping to buy from mapcamera before? Seems cheaper for custom colour set.
    K-30(Crystal Blue), K-r(Blue/Black), DA 35mm(Blue), DA 18-135mm, DA 18-250mm, Q10(Blue/Black), 02+06

  14. #194
    Senior Member felixcat8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    9,108

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Quote Originally Posted by geengar View Post
    Ok, Im over with ADPS. Anybody tried Japan Shopping to buy from mapcamera before? Seems cheaper for custom colour set.
    How about Amazon.com: Pentax Q10 - Pentax or Digital Cameras| B&H Photo Video
    Pentaxian for Life
    K1, KP, FA*28-70/2.8, FA31, 43 & FA77 Limiteds, K85/1.8, FA*200/2.8, A50/1.2



  15. #195

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Can consider forwarding company tenso http://www.tenso.com/ for Japan. Just order from mapcamera and delivery to tenso.

    The troublesome parts are
    1) They has to open up your parcel and put the battery into the camera, stating it is a EMS requirement
    2) They required you to send them your any form of identification to prove who you are and your address is indeed yours.


    Well it is Japan therefore I didn't quite really bother with it.
    Last edited by dracoid4; 9th May 2013 at 09:43 PM.

  16. #196

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Finally got the time to take Q10 out for a snap, I was trying out the special filter especially the water colour and the in camera processing which I don't get with my other cameras.

    Here's the photos from the snap

    Part 1:










  17. #197

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Part 2










  18. #198

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Just a question for those who brought their Q from Amazon Japan.

    Did your camera have the option of an English language menu ? ...or is it strictly Japanese menu only ?

    Thinking of joining the Q bandwagon now that the yen is so low.
    Shoot everything ! ...if it moves, shoot it ! if it doesn't moves, shoot it as well !

  19. #199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ghostfit View Post
    Just a question for those who brought their Q from Amazon Japan.

    Did your camera have the option of an English language menu ? ...or is it strictly Japanese menu only ?

    Thinking of joining the Q bandwagon now that the yen is so low.
    I bought my Q10 from Japan and it does come with an English menu. Just need to set it.

  20. #200

    Default Re: To Q or to Q10?

    Quote Originally Posted by ParanoidAndroid View Post
    I bought my Q10 from Japan and it does come with an English menu. Just need to set it.
    Thanks for the quick reply, I wonder if it is the same for the Q ? ...I'm worried if Pentax is like Sony, the JDM models only have menu in Japanese.

    Thinking of ordering from here :Amazon.co.jp: PENTAX デジタル一眼 Q レンズキット ブラック PENTAXQLKBK: 家電・カメラ

    Anyone here knows how to read Japanese, can confirm if english menu is available on that model ?
    Shoot everything ! ...if it moves, shoot it ! if it doesn't moves, shoot it as well !

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 589101112 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •