Thread: Negative scanning... professional or home scan?

Default Negative scanning... professional or home scan?

hi people... just wondering what do most film users think about -ve scanning at home. I'm quite new to this and didn't do my research. But now some scanners for home use can actually scan negatives!.
    Anyone out there owns such a thingy and can tell me smthing about the resolution, price, quality and some of the issues i should know about -ve scanning at home with these commercial products. (i'm talking abt like say: canon , epson or hp scanner that sort of commercial products)

Advice appreciated.

Blog Entries

Not for 35mm, if you are serious about your images get yourself a film scanner.

Almost all those flatbed scanners that scans negative/positive are having these scanning option as a by-product, which I think is not comparable to lab scans or film only scanners (consumer/prosumer). For hassle free pay a bit more to a pro lab that will adjust to your likings or buy a cheap Minolta DS III/IV to scan yourself, taking up your own time.

Blog Entries

Some labs actually use consumer flatbed scanners to scan your negs.

Quote Originally Posted by Climber
    hi people... just wondering what do most film users think about -ve scanning at home. I'm quite new to this and didn't do my research. But now some scanners for home use can actually scan negatives!.
    Anyone out there owns such a thingy and can tell me smthing about the resolution, price, quality and some of the issues i should know about -ve scanning at home with these commercial products. (i'm talking abt like say: canon , epson or hp scanner that sort of commercial products)

Advice appreciated.
    Right off the bat..."canon , epson or hp scanner that sort of commercial products" are pretty much a joke without sounding like I am bias and just wanting to bash them in.