Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > World of Nature

World of Nature Images of animals taken in the wild, in captivity or of pets in your home.

Old 27th February 2005   #1
harlequin2902

Default Will this work ? (Getting close to the subject)

That's me in the picture

Is this sufficient and will this work while I make my approach ? Arms are exposed.

What I used :

- Jungle hat
- Camo t-shirt cut up at the sides to form a camo net to drape over the hat
- Camo singlet worn over the shirt I'm wearing

Last edited by harlequin2902; 27th February 2005 at 12:02 AM.
Old 27th February 2005   #2
joeyao

If you never try, you'll never know BTW I also just obtained a similar camo outfit as yours and will be trying it out this coming Thursday.
Old 27th February 2005   #3
AMDer

like BMT like that lah...wear your helmet, and put some tall grass to break your sillloutte...use camo sticks to camo your hands and u are 'invisible' liao...haha..
Sponsored Link
Old 27th February 2005   #4
harlequin2902

Originally Posted by joeyao
If you never try, you'll never know BTW I also just obtained a similar camo outfit as yours and will be trying it out this coming Thursday.
Ok. Are you intending to try out at a neutral shooting location ? If you are and don't mind me joining you, I may just drop by if I'm free on Thursday. I'd feel better putting that camo stuff on (at least when it's the 1st time) if there's someone else with me in a similar outfit
Old 28th February 2005   #5
Ghostpipefish

My nature shooting motto is "What I lack in focal length, I try to make it up with Stealth."

Good one!
Old 28th February 2005   #6
Wai

wah....are birds really so smart until you have to conceal until like that?

want to borrow my suits and try? lol

Old 28th February 2005   #7
harlequin2902

Originally Posted by Wai
wah....are birds really so smart until you have to conceal until like that?

want to borrow my suits and try? lol

Well, I've been reading / hearing that some form of concealment (coupled with a slow and steady approach) will help me to get closer to them without scaring them off. That will make all the difference for me now, considering the equipment I'm using.

Wah, those ghillie suits look very interesting Maybe I can consider trying out just the bottoms if I'm shooting at somewhere really wild Where can I get those locally ?
Old 28th February 2005   #8
megaweb

muahahha

look like going back to army time .. anyway to camouflag yourself is like breaking the outline shape of human .. so put more leaves and branches should work better
Old 28th February 2005   #9
CYRN

Originally Posted by harlequin2902
That's me in the picture

Is this sufficient and will this work while I make my approach ? Arms are exposed.

What I used :

- Jungle hat
- Camo t-shirt cut up at the sides to form a camo net to drape over the hat
- Camo singlet worn over the shirt I'm wearing
You only need to break your human profile outline (ie head and shoulder outline). Also U still have to take care in breaking the shape of your legs (most birds avoid bi-peds).

As for your bare arms... try covering it also, cus arms are dangerous visual signal to birds also.

A suggstion.. u might like to try a army poncho... but cut plenty of holes for comfort and add something like those camo nets similar to ghillie suits.... you'd be a moving bush to those birdies
Old 28th February 2005   #10
Wai

Wah, those ghillie suits look very interesting Maybe I can consider trying out just the bottoms if I'm shooting at somewhere really wild Where can I get those locally ?
buy? nope, got to DIY

buy those camo clothes and cut into irregular stripes

and then get some threads and needles and sew each and every pieces by hand.

took me 3 weeks to complete one set. Also got another set done by my mum
Old 28th February 2005   #11
Wai

Originally Posted by CYRN
You only need to break your human profile outline (ie head and shoulder outline). Also U still have to take care in breaking the shape of your legs (most birds avoid bi-peds).

As for your bare arms... try covering it also, cus arms are dangerous visual signal to birds also.
hmm..never know birds are so smart, can they smell too?
Old 28th February 2005   #12
CYRN

Originally Posted by Wai
hmm..never know birds are so smart, can they smell too?
Aiyo... dun suan me can or not ... I also read books and watch discovery channel to learn mah... but no chance to ask the question you pose... The idea is to blend in with your surrounding and not stressing the subjects mah... u should know what happens if you spot a "bush" with 2 legs

Anywayz, they need not be smart, but still need their survival instincts loh... seen a few TV programs where wild animals got too friendly with humans... then

I do know vultures have keen sense of smell... as for the rest... I dunnoe loh. .... to add on, I remembered that most birds eyesights (like predators) are more sensitive to motion than static objects.

Last edited by CYRN; 28th February 2005 at 06:47 PM.
Old 1st March 2005   #13
Fred

Try stitching more camo net together, the type you can get from the Beach road market. If possible, cover yourself completely with the netting. It works pretty well for me in the field.
Old 1st March 2005   #14
harlequin2902

I actually managed to try out my DIY outfit (above) this afternoon and managed to get rather close to this Yellow Bittern (um..it's a Yellow Bittern yes ?), with some help from the surrounding trees and applying the slow and steady approach method.

This head shot is cropped from the original.

And the end result :

Last edited by harlequin2902; 1st March 2005 at 09:24 PM.
Old 2nd March 2005   #15
CYRN

I actually managed to try out my DIY outfit (above) this afternoon and managed to get rather close to this Yellow Bittern (um..it's a Yellow Bittern yes ?), with some help from the surrounding trees and applying the slow and steady approach method.
Wah!

Looks like I'll be going to beach road soon