ClubSNAP Photography Forums

Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > General, Reviews, Tech Talk

General, Reviews, Tech Talk Share tips & tricks, techniques, general photography chat.


 
Thread Tools
Old 26th February 2005   #1
Kimlee
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lavender
Posts: 82
Default Yahoo Auction: 1Ds for SGD$1800??

Hi to all,

There is a two person posting at yahoo auction selling DSLR at ridiculous price.
Is this for real or they are trying to go for some quick money. (eg. Cheating)

look suspicious. Both person are from NY, US.

http://=http://user.auctions.shoppin.../user/sefsunt?
http://=http://page.auctions.shoppin...4?aucview=0x30
Kimlee is offline  
Old 26th February 2005   #2
singscott
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.whltelightphotographer.com
Posts: 1,659
Default

Way too low. If you can't personally see it then dun risk it
singscott is offline  
Old 26th February 2005   #3
asturias105
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 604
Default

look at their locations. Stated "NewYork, USA". Must be fraud then. Their usual trick is:

1. ask for your address
2. ask you to send 1/2 the amount of money to their bank account
3. run away with the money without a trace.

So, don't be fooled by them!
__________________
My Blog
asturias105 is offline  
Sponsored Link
Old 26th February 2005   #4
AMDer
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Digital Age
Posts: 431
Default

the other time i was also almost conned by a guy.
stated selling D70 kit for just US$250. i won the bid and was about to send him the payment through Western Union Money Transfer when i was "saved" by the Singapore Post person.He ask me if im buying something from Ebay. after i answer 'yes', he look at the address, and it was stated as Russia,but im sending US dollars. so he quickly as me to think twice because there are a lot of 'cheating' cases, especially the Russia region.
the seller will disguise as someone from the US.then say they are currently working in Russia. so they will ask you to send the $ there. they also use this trick as 'send half the money first if u dun believe'.
in the end, i cancel the deal. phew....so CSers...dun buy from this kind of "too good to be true" deals...
although Singapore cameras are a bit expensive as compared to other countries...u can at least feel it and its yours when u pay and buy it home.
AMDer is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #5
asturias105
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 604
Default

Originally Posted by AMDer
the other time i was also almost conned by a guy.
stated selling D70 kit for just US$250. i won the bid and was about to send him the payment through Western Union Money Transfer when i was "saved" by the Singapore Post person.He ask me if im buying something from Ebay. after i answer 'yes', he look at the address, and it was stated as Russia,but im sending US dollars. so he quickly as me to think twice because there are a lot of 'cheating' cases, especially the Russia region.
the seller will disguise as someone from the US.then say they are currently working in Russia. so they will ask you to send the $ there. they also use this trick as 'send half the money first if u dun believe'.
in the end, i cancel the deal. phew....so CSers...dun buy from this kind of "too good to be true" deals...
although Singapore cameras are a bit expensive as compared to other countries...u can at least feel it and its yours when u pay and buy it home.
That's a close shave! gd 4 u. Yup, most of them operate in Russia. So, it's always safer not to buy things from overseas.
__________________
My Blog
asturias105 is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #6
RichardSeah
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: AMK
Posts: 231
Default

Originally Posted by AMDer
i was "saved" by the Singapore Post person.
Maybe you should write a letter to ST Forum to praise and thank this Singapore Post guy and, at the same time, warn others. You will be doing a favour to many people.
RichardSeah is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #7
Robin
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tanah Merah
Posts: 646
Default

These days they are doing the western union trick on handphones...particularly the attractive new models....
Robin is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #8
sti2300
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 176
Default Escrow Services

Can always use escrow services. But they charged a fee. My advise is when thing is too cheap, better have a second thought. For expensive item use escrow.
sti2300 is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #9
asturias105
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 604
Default

Originally Posted by sti2300
Can always use escrow services. But they charged a fee. My advise is when thing is too cheap, better have a second thought. For expensive item use escrow.
I attempted to deal with one of those conmen before. When I asked for escrow services, they gave lame excuses like the services is not available in their country. lol
__________________
My Blog
asturias105 is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #10
ParkertR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Singapore/Thailand
Posts: 5,804
Default

same thing almost happened to me before - i ordered 3 sets of D2h! haha wow!! but when it came to payment, the guy kept insisting he couldnt use ESCROW services... cuz I'd experienced western union bulls*it before. The final line is, if its too good to be true, it probably aint
__________________
Budget wedding photographer :)
ParkertR is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #11
Grub
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 196
Default

What is this escrow that you are talking about? I so blur wan lah...
Grub is offline  
Old 27th February 2005   #12
taku1a
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 146
Default

Originally Posted by sti2300
Can always use escrow services. But they charged a fee. My advise is when thing is too cheap, better have a second thought. For expensive item use escrow.
The more sophisticated scams even fake escrow service website.

So buyers beware.
taku1a is offline  
Old 28th February 2005   #13
Caussway
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 995
Default

Can't believe there are so many victims / "near" victims here

There are so many news abt such cons yet ppl still fall victims , why ? Greed ?
Never believe such bull***. If you buy online get it from a reputed shop.
Even if he send you the camera, what will be the condition ?
Caussway is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2009 ClubSNAP.com
Page generated in 0.11059 seconds with 7 queries