View Poll Results: Which calibrator would you recommend more, considering the price as well?

Voters
35. You may not vote on this poll
  • Datacolor Spyder4Pro

    31 88.57%
  • X-Rite Colormunki Smile

    4 11.43%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 54

Thread: Monitor Calibration

  1. #21
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by SkimMilk View Post
    Thanks for the tip! Never occurred to me to ask for their settings!
    if you go to neighbour printing labs asking them for setting, they won't able to tell you, cause the don't have such knowledge.

    the best you can do is ask them to remember YOUR FACE and YOUR PREFERENCE.
    Last edited by catchlights; 26th January 2013 at 08:46 AM.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  2. #22
    Member Turboredbean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by Dfive View Post
    I prefer the Spyder4 Elite.... just more options and I use it on one monitor and to MAC Laptops...
    I thought that Mac (pros and desktops) don't need screen calibration due to their retina display, Apples desktop publishing claim, etc, etc.
    Canon 550D /18-135/50 1.8/75-300 USM III/10-22/70-200 f2.8L IS II/

  3. #23
    Member Turboredbean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyep View Post
    Calibrating your screen does not mean your print is going to be perfect. It just makes editing easier and consistent and it's only the first step to a color managed workflow and this is where most hobbyist stop.
    I agree on this..
    Canon 550D /18-135/50 1.8/75-300 USM III/10-22/70-200 f2.8L IS II/

  4. #24
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by Turboredbean View Post
    I thought that Mac (pros and desktops) don't need screen calibration due to their retina display, Apples desktop publishing claim, etc, etc.
    Every screen comes with a default calibration and it will age. The default is easily thrown off by some clicks and the colour reproduction of the entire system (graphics card, cable, monitor) can be affected by many other factors as well. Calibration will offset all these factor and can even consider ambient light in the room to make sure that the screen shows what is digitally encoded. Even the most expensive car's tires need regular pressure checks.
    EOS

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    521

    Default

    And is it safe to say they last forever?
    I'm still using my Eyeone Display w/o ambient calculations.

    Any reason to upgrade to newer device?

  6. #26
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by saberlancer View Post
    And is it safe to say they last forever?
    I'm still using my Eyeone Display w/o ambient calculations.
    Any reason to upgrade to newer device?
    Nothing lasts forever. Also the calibration devices will age. [Assume ON] But they age slower than a display that gets used and heated up daily. [Assume OFF]
    Older devices might not work with all newer display technologies. Spider2 devices have known issues with some newer backlight LED displays.
    EOS

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,195

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    I have a Spyder 3 Elite and would go for the Colormunki Photo for its capability to calibrate printer as well.

    Want to buy my Spyder 3?

  8. #28

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Anyone of you tried it on dual screen? Not sure if I have done it wrongly. The colors on both screens are slightly different. Color changes when I drag the image from 1 LCD to the other.

  9. #29
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by liveevil View Post
    Anyone of you tried it on dual screen? Not sure if I have done it wrongly. The colors on both screens are slightly different. Color changes when I drag the image from 1 LCD to the other.
    Two screens need two profiles and two graphics cards. You cannot load two profiles into the same graphics card.
    EOS

  10. #30
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Two screens need two profiles and two graphics cards. You cannot load two profiles into the same graphics card.
    Nope. just 1 graphics card can support 2 screens with their individual profiles. Just drag the calibration program window to the screen you want to profile
    sigh.

  11. #31
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by Clown View Post
    Nope. just 1 graphics card can support 2 screens with their individual profiles. Just drag the calibration program window to the screen you want to profile
    Ok, then my knowledge seems to be dated. During times of Spyder 3 it was not possible, because two different profiles could not be loaded at the same time. If newer drivers can do that now then it's better. I use two graphics cards, one profile each.
    EOS

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Is there a local dealer for colormunki? Or must indent from USA ?
    D800 | N 50/1.8G | N 24-70/2.8G | T 150-600VC | S 35/1.4DG

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by boxerfan View Post
    Is there a local dealer for colormunki? Or must indent from USA ?
    guess u need to order . got mine from ebay.
    X Rite I1 Display Pro Professional Monitor Calibrator New Easy Accurate | eBay

  14. #34

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Is this Spyder gadget a plug & play calibration or you need to adjust each setting manually during the calibraton process?
    Thank in advance.

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by flame angel View Post
    Is this Spyder gadget a plug & play calibration or you need to adjust each setting manually during the calibraton process?
    Thank in advance.
    u can choose basic mode for the calibration . i think only Spyder4PRO & Spyder4ELITE offer advance mode.

    Datacolor Spyder4EXPRESS - The Affordable Color Calibration Solution - Datacolor Imaging Solutions product comparison

  16. #36

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    I am using Spyder4pro, bought from Cathay Photo at $170.

    I seem to face the problem of red tinge on all my screens after calibration. Does anybody out there face the same problem??

  17. #37

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by Errz View Post
    u can choose basic mode for the calibration . i think only Spyder4PRO & Spyder4ELITE offer advance mode.

    Datacolor Spyder4EXPRESS - The Affordable Color Calibration Solution - Datacolor Imaging Solutions product comparison
    if you have multiple monitors, Spyder4express doesnt work. You will need at least pro version to calibrate multiple monitors...

  18. #38

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    What about the monitor being very dim and less vibrant after calibration. Anyone have that 'issue'? Or is that a necessity?

    Thanks!

  19. #39
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by rainfyre View Post
    What about the monitor being very dim and less vibrant after calibration. Anyone have that 'issue'? Or is that a necessity?

    Thanks!
    Necessity.

  20. #40

    Default Re: Monitor Calibration

    Quote Originally Posted by rainfyre View Post
    What about the monitor being very dim and less vibrant after calibration. Anyone have that 'issue'? Or is that a necessity?

    Thanks!
    It just means that your monitor was set up to look "shiok shiok" for showroom/movies/gaming but was actually inaccurate for photo work.
    Alpha

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •