Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Digi-Cabi display

  1. #1

    Default Digi-Cabi display

    Hi all,
    I just bought a digi-cabi 036N and noticed that the LCD has some lines along the sides of the display.I have attached a picture of it.
    CS Bros who has digi-cabi cabinets,does yr LCD screen appear to be similar to mine or does it appear to be something wrong?

    Thanks in adv!


  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JxXx87
    Hi all,
    I just bought a digi-cabi 036N and noticed that the LCD has some lines along the sides of the display.I have attached a picture of it.
    CS Bros who has digi-cabi cabinets,does yr LCD screen appear to be similar to mine or does it appear to be something wrong?

    Thanks in adv!
    Weird. Mine is ok. No such issue.
    Sony A7/ Sigma 19-2.8 E/ CV 35-1.7 ASPH/ FE 55-1.8/ MC Rokkor 58-1.2/ Pentax SMC K 135-2.5

  3. #3

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by Thoth View Post
    Weird. Mine is ok. No such issue.
    Wah,fast reply

    looks like i have to do a replacement?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by JxXx87 View Post
    Wah,fast reply

    looks like i have to do a replacement?
    U bought brand new? Possibly u should...
    Sony A7/ Sigma 19-2.8 E/ CV 35-1.7 ASPH/ FE 55-1.8/ MC Rokkor 58-1.2/ Pentax SMC K 135-2.5

  5. #5
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    You should worry more about the high RH value than about those funny little lines... Recommended RH about 45%.
    EOS

  6. #6
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine
    You should worry more about the high RH value than about those funny little lines... Recommended RH about 45%.
    He said just bought it so it is possible that it's still being stabilised.

    TS, digicabi's aftersales support is pretty good. This LCD indicator can be changed. You just need to email them and explain the problem to them and I believe they will arrange to send someone down to swap.

    That's what happened in my case when I got a new digicabi and the RH didn't go below 57% after more than a day.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post
    He said just bought it so it is possible that it's still being stabilised.

    TS, digicabi's aftersales support is pretty good. This LCD indicator can be changed. You just need to email them and explain the problem to them and I believe they will arrange to send someone down to swap.

    That's what happened in my case when I got a new digicabi and the RH didn't go below 57% after more than a day.
    Ok.thanks.But call them tmr and explain to them the problem..so mine is an isolated case after all.
    yap just bought in the aftn and the humidity haven stabilized.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by JxXx87 View Post
    Ok.thanks.But call them tmr and explain to them the problem..so mine is an isolated case after all.
    yap just bought in the aftn and the humidity haven stabilized.
    Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
    You'll Never Walk Alone

  9. #9

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by haman View Post
    Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
    Oh and also, what is the difference between a DB-036 and DB-036N? My front cabinet door sticker is showing a DB-036 with the same digital display on top but TK and Digihub website is showing DB-036N available.
    You'll Never Walk Alone

  10. #10
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haman
    Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
    Very normal because you are introducing moisture into the cabinet. As long as it does not take a long time to drop back. But isn't 40 too low for RH? For camera gear I remember reading its recommended that it reads between 45-55%.

  11. #11
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post
    Very normal because you are introducing moisture into the cabinet. As long as it does not take a long time to drop back. But isn't 40 too low for RH? For camera gear I remember reading its recommended that it reads between 45-55%.
    there is no such thing as too low nowadays in this day and age, with modern lubricants and all.

    I have a Dry cab set at 30% for the last 18 years and all the gears work perfectly well.

  12. #12
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123

    there is no such thing as too low nowadays in this day and age, with modern lubricants and all.

    I have a Dry cab set at 30% for the last 18 years and all the gears work perfectly well.
    Hmmm didn't realise that. Still, won't hurt to have it at between 45-55% ya? Or is there a possibility that would cause problems? Only concern is the rubber and lubricants drying out if I place it at such a low RH.

  13. #13
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post
    Hmmm didn't realise that. Still, won't hurt to have it at between 45-55% ya? Or is there a possibility that would cause problems? Only concern is the rubber and lubricants drying out if I place it at such a low RH.
    It could increase the growth rate of all those waiting spores. Lubricants without water are unaffected, rubber that can sustain subzero temperatures (and the resulting low RH) won't be affected (much) by a range just below the average for moderate climates.
    EOS

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Does the display of the Digicab DHC model lights up all the while? RH set at 45%, and current RH is 45%, however the LED display still lights up.
    According to the instruction sheet, upon reaching the desired RH, the LED light should be off, anyone?

  15. #15

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnabster View Post
    Does the display of the Digicab DHC model lights up all the while? RH set at 45%, and current RH is 45%, however the LED display still lights up.
    According to the instruction sheet, upon reaching the desired RH, the LED light should be off, anyone?
    The new LED display for the DHC series is ALWAYS on and never off. The older LCD display with backlight only lights up when the Peltier is working.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    I just bought digi-cabi 036 but the RH display is "LL" is there something wrong?

  17. #17
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by canbedone View Post
    I just bought digi-cabi 036 but the RH display is "LL" is there something wrong?
    What does the manual say? Have you checked the batteries in the display?
    EOS

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    tampines
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
    i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
    thx for replies~~~ just want to clarify
    "Your imagination and content will open your mind to the possibilities of your equipment."

  19. #19
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gau55ian View Post
    Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
    i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
    thx for replies~~~ just want to clarify
    Too dry leather will crack.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  20. #20
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: Digi-Cabi display

    Quote Originally Posted by gau55ian View Post
    Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
    i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
    When living in Germany I never needed any dry cabinet and my wallets did well in the lower humidity there. The problem started when I came to SG.
    40-45% is fine. In addition, you can use leather polish products to protect the leather.
    EOS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •