Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 56 of 56

Thread: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

  1. #41
    Member chillicutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Telok Blangah
    Posts
    727

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?


    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    I have no choice as there isn't a way for me lay cable from livingroom to my room with PC... I'm now 'Armed' with a 14mm drill bit and hopefully will make a hole big enough to get a Ethernet Cable through the 9cm thick wall.... then I could start laying cable.
    Make sure your power drill got hammering mode.

  2. #42
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Quote Originally Posted by chillicutter View Post

    Make sure your power drill got hammering mode.

    Sure... my 550watt drill got both drill and hammer drill mode....

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    East of Singapore
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    Sure... my 550watt drill got both drill and hammer drill mode....
    Make sure you check the wall you're drilling into, not structure wall/beam, no electrical/gas/water/drainage pipe.
    I get paid more shooting part time ...... damn, I should find more time to shoot part time

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    East of Singapore
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    For those staying in homes about 5 years old, check if your phone jack is a RJ45, if it is, changes are your home is already structure cable ready and you only need to install the termination box next to your structure cable box (some call it the telephone box) and from there you can connect the termination box to any of your room/"telephone jack and you can have wired connection anywhere in your house.
    I get paid more shooting part time ...... damn, I should find more time to shoot part time

  5. #45

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Yesterday, I KP a bit and ask why ... they say this is a "provision" for future streaming of TV content .... wah really?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    They laid it where I asked them to - which is nowhere near the cable point

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    East of Singapore
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Quote Originally Posted by keiser View Post
    Yesterday, I KP a bit and ask why ... they say this is a "provision" for future streaming of TV content .... wah really?
    That is true. In time to come the fiber optic will replace the TV point in your house, much like how the old TV antenna on the roof top was replaced by the broadband/cable point.
    I get paid more shooting part time ...... damn, I should find more time to shoot part time

  7. #47

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    all installed w.o testing
    i had a friend who gave them a surprise at my home during installation
    HAHAHA

  8. #48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soeypixels
    all installed w.o testing
    i had a friend who gave them a surprise at my home during installation
    HAHAHA
    She hot or not? ;-)
    Alpha

  9. #49
    Member chillicutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Telok Blangah
    Posts
    727

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yqt
    For those staying in homes about 5 years old, check if your phone jack is a RJ45, if it is, changes are your home is already structure cable ready and you only need to install the termination box next to your structure cable box (some call it the telephone box) and from there you can connect the termination box to any of your room/"telephone jack and you can have wired connection anywhere in your house.
    Mines still RJ11 for phone....

  10. #50
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Just got my giant roll of Ethernet Cable (CAT6) and did a little download test... using HomePlug... I get around 22Mbps on my 100Mbps plan... on Ethernet Cable... I get 75+Mbps.

    Will be laying cable as soon as I'm free....

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  11. #51
    Member chillicutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Telok Blangah
    Posts
    727

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Just to share with you. UTPs works best under 100m (for Cat 6 standard) and less then 4 breakage.

  12. #52
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Quote Originally Posted by chillicutter View Post
    Just to share with you. UTPs works best under 100m (for Cat 6 standard) and less then 4 breakage.

    Thxs... big roll of cable is 30m with zero breakage... will be drilling tonight... but already kena 'complaint' by my mum the trucking looks ugly...

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  13. #53
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunnypore
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    just got my TP fixed recently, and am thinking of switching over from my ADSL to fibre (there's a few dollars difference in the price plans)

    the TP is currently in the living room, and my PC is in my room, which is separated by 2 walls between where the modem will be placed...

    anyone knows will the wireless signal be able to go through (assuming 802.11n) and still able to achieve the speed? or better to run cable (which will involve a lot of work)?

  14. #54

    Default

    If don't do will kanna fine or not later?
    I am happy with my Adsl for now. At most, go starhub cable.
    Do we really really need fiber ???
    | 5Diii | 24 ii | 40 | 24-70 ii | 24-105 | 70-200 F4 IS | 270 ii | 600EX-RT |

  15. #55
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunnypore
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    Quote Originally Posted by ahboy168 View Post
    If don't do will kanna fine or not later?
    I am happy with my Adsl for now. At most, go starhub cable.
    Do we really really need fiber ???
    if don't install now, next time when you want to install will have to pay for them to come down, and don't think will have the first 15m free already

  16. #56

    Default Re: OpenNet installation - Any good / bad experiences or advice to share?

    not so straight forward i guess as there are many factors to consider ... i for example had to "bridge" to a 2nd router to increase overall signal strength ...

    Quote Originally Posted by mookie View Post
    just got my TP fixed recently, and am thinking of switching over from my ADSL to fibre (there's a few dollars difference in the price plans)

    the TP is currently in the living room, and my PC is in my room, which is separated by 2 walls between where the modem will be placed...

    anyone knows will the wireless signal be able to go through (assuming 802.11n) and still able to achieve the speed? or better to run cable (which will involve a lot of work)?
    Last edited by keiser; 23rd October 2012 at 11:14 AM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •