View Poll Results: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

Voters
136. You may not vote on this poll
  • No.

    55 40.44%
  • Yes - Within 100 shots

    26 19.12%
  • Yes - Within 200 shots

    6 4.41%
  • Yes - Within 400 shots

    13 9.56%
  • Yes - Not sure when

    36 26.47%
Page 45 of 55 FirstFirst ... 203540434445464750 ... LastLast
Results 881 to 900 of 1092

Thread: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

  1. #881

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    I was at NSC and i overheard the counter staff servicing a client with a D600 stating that it is only free for the first time and subsequent servicing is chargable. As for how much, it depends on the services provided.

    Quote Originally Posted by aogiliu View Post
    My shutter count is only <300, lots of dust at the top left corner. Bought on the last day of March at funan. Serial number is 804****. Sian!

    BTW, how many times can we have the NSC to clean the sensor for free within warranty period? The seller, S**R shop told me only once for FREE, from 2nd time onwards will be charged. About $100+ per time. Is this true?

  2. #882

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luminare View Post
    I was at NSC and i overheard the counter staff servicing a client with a D600 stating that it is only free for the first time and subsequent servicing is chargable. As for how much, it depends on the services provided.
    I think some folks here got their D600 cleaned at NSC for free more than once. The D600 should be a special case.

  3. #883

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lenslust View Post


    I do have that many images in a shoot, but I don't think all would be shooting the same scene for over thousand frames. If it really bothers the photographer having the spots in the same image over a thousand frames, then I think either the photographer should re-look at why is he shooting the same frame x 1000s and should not be using a D600 but a D800 or D4 as an option.

    Just my 2c.
    ppl cannot use d600 for timelapse? must use d800 or d4?

  4. #884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post

    ppl cannot use d600 for timelapse? must use d800 or d4?
    You're spot on, using the D600 for time lapse is prohibited by law.

  5. #885

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ageha View Post

    You're spot on, using the D600 for time lapse is prohibited by law.
    Heheheheheheheh

  6. #886
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luminare View Post
    I was at NSC and i overheard the counter staff servicing a client with a D600 stating that it is only free for the first time and subsequent servicing is chargable. As for how much, it depends on the services provided.
    Sure boh? Or r they refering to shutter change?..

  7. #887

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    That unit definitely had its shutter changed and general servicing performed at the same time. Wether if NSC still continue to provide free sensor cleaning after the shutter change, it think it is better to clarify with NSC.

    Just passing on what i saw and heard.

    Quote Originally Posted by saberlancer View Post
    Sure boh? Or r they refering to shutter change?..

  8. #888
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    North Singapore
    Posts
    128

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Usually when a factory launch a new model it takes at least 2 years before they come out with a new model. Every 3 year they launch a new model.

  9. #889

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    There must be an explanation...

    If I use my voigtlander 20mm f3.5 for landscape stop down from f8 to f16. I only see 1 hard spot on the upper left but the rest just disappear.

    If I use other lense for landscape like the 24-85 at 24 FC on f/16, I can see all of the spots! If I took still shots even at f/8, the white pomeranian dog I took turns into dalmatian.

  10. #890

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Hi Guys, just found this on dpreview posted less than 9 hours ago.....hope it happens to the singapore as well....

    I sent my D600 in to Nikon around 4-5 weeks ago for sensor cleaning after they released the sensor dust spot advisory. Since it was taking so long I inquired as to what they delay was, through the camera store that helped me with the shipping. I was told by the store that Nikon are replacing the sensors in the D600 cameras they have been sent with the dust spot issue. I am not sure if they doing this in some cases, or in all cases. However, anyone having particularly persistent problems with oil/dust spots should definitely send the camera in to Nikon for this service. Other than the dust issue I love the D600 and am very happy I upgraded. Can't wait to get the camera back to see how effectively this resolves the issue.

  11. #891

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    ppl cannot use d600 for timelapse? must use d800 or d4?
    Can, since it's the choice to do so, don't complain about dust and oil spots.

  12. #892

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aogiliu View Post
    My shutter count is only <300, lots of dust at the top left corner. Bought on the last day of March at funan. Serial number is 804****. Sian!

    BTW, how many times can we have the NSC to clean the sensor for free within warranty period? The seller, S**R shop told me only once for FREE, from 2nd time onwards will be charged. About $100+ per time. Is this true?
    I have mentioned this before. Send in 3 times, never once billed for the cleaning. I doubt they want to Incur the wrath of some customers who are already very angry

    If anyone was billed for the service, please shout real real loud here. Thanks
    "Time is often the best editor" - Alex Webb

  13. #893
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    River Valley
    Posts
    272

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blur Shadow View Post
    Oh my goodness! A D600E! I gotta get myself one of those! Hahaha!
    My imaginary camera is a D600e. I love it.

    In my mind it takes perfect pictures every time.

  14. #894
    Member or1onz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pasir Ris~~
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ATR76ers View Post
    Hi Guys, just found this on dpreview posted less than 9 hours ago.....hope it happens to the singapore as well....

    I sent my D600 in to Nikon around 4-5 weeks ago for sensor cleaning after they released the sensor dust spot advisory. Since it was taking so long I inquired as to what they delay was, through the camera store that helped me with the shipping. I was told by the store that Nikon are replacing the sensors in the D600 cameras they have been sent with the dust spot issue. I am not sure if they doing this in some cases, or in all cases. However, anyone having particularly persistent problems with oil/dust spots should definitely send the camera in to Nikon for this service. Other than the dust issue I love the D600 and am very happy I upgraded. Can't wait to get the camera back to see howi effectively this resolves the issue.
    This 'service' has been implemented. Took my d600 over. Said there are spots. Took it in and shuttle changed without question askes. 4 working days.

  15. #895
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by or1onz View Post
    This 'service' has been implemented. Took my d600 over. Said there are spots. Took it in and shuttle changed without question askes. 4 working days.
    He said replace sensor leh
    btw I think you meant 'shutter'

    Quote Originally Posted by ATR76ers View Post
    Hi Guys, just found this on dpreview posted less than 9 hours ago.....hope it happens to the singapore as well....

    I sent my D600 in to Nikon around 4-5 weeks ago for sensor cleaning after they released the sensor dust spot advisory. Since it was taking so long I inquired as to what they delay was, through the camera store that helped me with the shipping. I was told by the store that Nikon are replacing the sensors in the D600 cameras they have been sent with the dust spot issue. I am not sure if they doing this in some cases, or in all cases. However, anyone having particularly persistent problems with oil/dust spots should definitely send the camera in to Nikon for this service. Other than the dust issue I love the D600 and am very happy I upgraded. Can't wait to get the camera back to see how effectively this resolves the issue.
    Exploring! :)

  16. #896

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Anyone in singapore can validate the changing of sensor (and not shutter) claim?

  17. #897
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by lenslust View Post

    I do have that many images in a shoot, but I don't think all would be shooting the same scene for over thousand frames. If it really bothers the photographer having the spots in the same image over a thousand frames, then I think either the photographer should re-look at why is he shooting the same frame x 1000s and should not be using a D600 but a D800 or D4 as an option.

    Just my 2c.
    I don't quite understand your point about the dust. If it's on the sensor, it would appear on EVERY single shot, regardless of the composition (same scene multiple times or many different scenes).

    If it's a product shoot and hundreds of high-res images need to be delivered to client, can you imagine the hassle of trying to clone out the dust spots, especially if it's not on a plain background?
    From some of the images that were posted early on in this thread, the issue looks quite severe, and I can imagine it would be pretty annoying.

    Anyway, my point is that this issue IS (or was) a pretty big deal, and certainly not such a common occurrence with the other models. Just glad that it looks to be on its way to being resolved.

  18. #898

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Bros who have their shutter replaced, any recurrence of the dust / oil since?

    I was around NSC on Wednesday with my D600. Since there are some dust / oil issue, I went up to try my luck if I can get the sensor clean with half an hour. The CSO was very polite and told me to leave it for a detail checking. I declined cause need it on the evening, so asked for a cleaning instead. I requested to get it back soon, and willing to wait. She told me about an hour waiting. She tried to expedite it for me and waited only for about 15 mins to get it returned. She advised me to leave it for thorough checking when I find the time.

    I then asked for those who had the shutter replaced, any recurrence of dust issue. She said so far no. Not sure if she's telling the true. I will wait for more dust or before its expiry, then send back for replacement. I would say they are quite service oriented.

  19. #899

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    Bros who have their shutter replaced, any recurrence of the dust / oil since?

    I was around NSC on Wednesday with my D600. Since there are some dust / oil issue, I went up to try my luck if I can get the sensor clean with half an hour. The CSO was very polite and told me to leave it for a detail checking. I declined cause need it on the evening, so asked for a cleaning instead. I requested to get it back soon, and willing to wait. She told me about an hour waiting. She tried to expedite it for me and waited only for about 15 mins to get it returned. She advised me to leave it for thorough checking when I find the time.

    I then asked for those who had the shutter replaced, any recurrence of dust issue. She said so far no. Not sure if she's telling the true. I will wait for more dust or before its expiry, then send back for replacement. I would say they are quite service oriented.
    I got my D600 in Dec 2012. In Jan I sent it to NSC for sensor cleaning after spotting dust spots on my pictures. 2nd time I rang NSC and they sent a courier to pick up my camera for cleaning - no charge. They will courier it back to my place but I went down to collect it as I wanted to speak to the CSO to see what can be done so that I dont have to keep sending my camera in. She said then for the moment their instruction from Japan is to clean the sensors. Third time my camera went it they told me they will do a shutter mechanism change. No charge but it took 4 days or so.

    I have since spotted abt 3 dust spots after about 1000 clicks. I will be sending it to NSC for a quick cleaning and I do hope this will be my last trip there for sensor cleaning.

    I would advised bros here who noticed dust spots in their D600 to just send the camera in and not worry about anything else. Doing later will just deprive you of enjoying your camera to the fullest and you may encounter an out of stock situation with the shutter mechanisms. This dust on sensor thing is a known problem and there are many reports about it online so I think NSC will give you the benefit of the doubt if need be regarding your claims.
    Last edited by bullterrier; 26th April 2013 at 08:12 PM.

  20. #900

    Default Re: D600 Do You Have Spot/Oil Issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    I don't quite understand your point about the dust. If it's on the sensor, it would appear on EVERY single shot, regardless of the composition (same scene multiple times or many different scenes).

    If it's a product shoot and hundreds of high-res images need to be delivered to client, can you imagine the hassle of trying to clone out the dust spots, especially if it's not on a plain background?
    From some of the images that were posted early on in this thread, the issue looks quite severe, and I can imagine it would be pretty annoying.

    Anyway, my point is that this issue IS (or was) a pretty big deal, and certainly not such a common occurrence with the other models. Just glad that it looks to be on its way to being resolved.
    The dust that appears also depends on the scene you're taking. If now it's bright scene, later it's a darker corner, and later it's silhouette at the side. The dust issue is no longer significant, isn't it? I was referring to same scene, taking 1000 of the same frame, same composition, same lighting, even time lapse from 6.30-7.30pm, I think by 7.15 the frame would have gotten darker eventually, and if dust is on the same spot, after merging the shots, the dust will remain at that spot you still PS that spot. Do let me know if I'm on the wrong track.

    If it's a product shoot and you need to deliver images, would you use a D600 known for a dust issue, or would you use another camera that will deliver what you want, with less problem and headache? And if it's a product shoot, on a coloured backdrop, it would be easier to photoshop. If it's a low key shot, it's already dark, isn't it?

    It is annoying no doubt, when you get it on the frame. However, given the usage as described by many, time lapse, professional work, how many really do it? If you're really doing it, then you know it a problem, then you have the option not to get it, and opt for D7100, D800 or D4.

    If you can't decide it will affect your set, you have an option not to buy it either. Not being condescending here, btw.

    What I'm reading is people complaining it will affect them and it's not cheap and thus they're complaining about the D600 unable to fit their needs when there are options available? Just seems weird.

    Anyway, just for discussion only. Maybe I'm less picky on my D600, maybe others are more picky, and there's also the bo hiew group. To each their own. Voicing my opinion only.

Page 45 of 55 FirstFirst ... 203540434445464750 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •