Thread: Swipe and Smoke

Default Swipe and Smoke

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fb...type=3&theater

Q. In what area is the critique to be sought?

I am interested in creating better B W pictures. therefore, can i get comments about my B & W?. Also, I am new to street photography. Any comments that i can get in order to have taken a better shot of this subject?

Q. What one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

I hope that people will get be reminded of the 'craziness' of life here in singapore.

Q. Under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

The man is a delivery man and was taking a break after unloading a few goods from his lorry nearby.

Q. What the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

I like the composition of the picture and also the man's action.
    Last edited by zaren; 5th October 2012 at 12:27 AM.

Blog Entries

Yunus, I feel the framing could be tighter. The bicycle could be excluded and go in more to show what your subject is focusing on and capture a closer look of your subject. As it is, I feel there are quite a lot of elements in your shot, which doesn't really add much value to the context thus could be excluded altogether. I feel also that it could be more contrasty. I always hold the opinion that black and white images should be more contrasty.

I found my eyes scanning at the stools and black arm chair and the table.this could be avoided if you exclude them or make your subject more prominent. In my humble opinion, in street photography, sometimes less is more. Compositionally, u could strive to minimalise what you include into your frame. Even if you wish to add context to your shot, i would not include so many elements. Hope that helps.

Bing Dun
    Last edited by nitewalk; 5th October 2012 at 12:58 AM.

Default Re: Swipe and Smoke

It's a very clear feeling that there is a story behind the photo, esp. with B&W.