Thread: The Peak (Hong Kong)

Default The Peak (Hong Kong)

1. in what area is critique to be sought?
    -Exposure and composition

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
    -Improve shooting at night

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
    -Evening, med - strong winds, public walking around which could affect the ground (prone to shaking)

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture
    -I think the highlights of some buildings (left, center, right areas) are blown a bit high, the sky is a bit bright as well. It's my first time using UWA at night and overall, it looks acceptable IMHO.

Shot using D90 & Tokina 11016 (version 1)

Default Re: The Peak (Hong Kong)

I think the vantage point was not good to begin with. The trees on the bottom left and the glass rail on the bottom right takes all of the attention away from the the entire photo, so a zoom would have been far more appropriate if you insist on the spot where you stood to take the photo. For any photos of the city from the peak, take a 10 to 15 minute stroll on the trail to the left where you took this photo. You will bypass some apartments along the way, When you reach the point where you will need to walk on platform, turn around and you will notice that the city suddenly opens up with far less blockage. This is where an ultra wide angle lens does best as the city is not just in front but below you as well. I have not tried walking on the trail to the right, so maybe someone else can comment on that direction. If you need to walk on the trail, best advised not to do it alone as it gets rather quiet.

the triangle shape of the city is rather refreshing

For the current location of the photo was taken, to improve the composition just remove the top 1/3 of the photo which do not show much of the details, This will help to bring viewer attention to the city view.