Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: GND & ND filter

  1. #1

    Default GND & ND filter

    Recently i just bought this 2 filter but still not sure how to get the right exposure.
    For example ND 0.9 filter, let said without this filter, the right exposure are

    ISO 100 F11 and Shutter 1/30

    If i put the ND 0.9 filter, ISO and Apperture remain the same, what is the right shutter speed ?
    how to calculate to get the right shutter speed ?

    For now, i just guessing to get the right shutter speed.
    Any pro please teach and explain.
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Neutral density filter - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    0.9 is 3 stops,
    so original exposure of ISO 100 F11 and Shutter 1/30 after adding a 0.9 ND filter (3 stops),

    the new exposure setting of ISO 100, F11, and the shutter speed should be __________________.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi TS. Instead of learning how to calculate, there are some tools to assist you in getting the right exposure after you put on the filter. 1. iPhone app: Longtime. 2 download and print a long exposure chart (google it). One advise from me is, many time i put 1 stop lower give me a correct exposure. Hope that's help. Cheers !

  4. #4
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    1 stop = double exposure time...

    0.9 ND = 3 stops = 2^3 = 8 times exposure time

    You can do the math, cheers!

  5. #5

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    thanks alot, get the idea.

    and the longtime apps very easy to use .. hahahaha

  6. #6
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, get the idea.

    and the longtime apps very easy to use .. hahahaha
    with your finder put on the camera shutter speed dial, just turn three stops down,


    compare to


    take out your mobile device,
    search for the app
    click open
    key in your data,
    hit enter
    read the out put,
    go to your camera
    find shutter speed dial,
    turn the shutter spend to shutter speed indicated by the app.



    the choice is yours
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  7. #7
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    with your finder put on the camera shutter speed dial, just turn three stops down,
    Until you go beyond 30 seconds, then have to x 2 manually.. :P

  8. #8

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today

  9. #9
    Moderator nitewalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,628
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    Either u are good with mental sum (not difficult since times 2 to 30 sec is a minute, so working in from there is easy), or u multiply the original shutter speed by the required value (say 8 for nd0.9 or 64 times for 6 stop nd and such).

    My mental sum got better with photography. Hahahah

  10. #10
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    30 seconds x 2 = 1 minute

    1 minute x 2 = 2 minute...

    If you want to do a 32 minute exposure pls be my guest... I haven't had the chance to shoot star trails yet so don't need...

  11. #11

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    assuming you are using Nikon D800, the default EV step should be 1/3 stop, turning the dial 1 time = 1/3 stop, 3 times = 1 stop, so you will need to turn 9 times to get 3 stops.

  12. #12

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    At the start, you can use stopwatch. Alternately, if you got extra budget, you can go for intervalometer. It act like a cable release cum timer.

  13. #13

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, get the idea.

    and the longtime apps very easy to use .. hahahaha
    Glad you like it

  14. #14
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    if you wear a watch....... get the drift?

  15. #15
    Moderator nitewalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,628
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skybroodz

    At the start, you can use stopwatch. Alternately, if you got extra budget, you can go for intervalometer. It act like a cable release cum timer.
    Bulb mode got timer, no?

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nitewalk

    Bulb mode got timer, no?
    You are the timer when in bulb mode.
    KF Photography
    Thanks for viewing!

  17. #17
    Moderator nitewalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,628
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blur Shadow

    You are the timer when in bulb mode.
    Er wait. I've got a timer in bulb mode.

  18. #18
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: GND & ND filter

    Quote Originally Posted by nitewalk View Post
    Bulb mode got timer, no?
    Certain cameras have... Most don't, I think.

  19. #19
    Moderator nitewalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,628
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos-
    Certain cameras have... Most don't, I think.
    Oh. I tried using 3 different models and they all have the timer somewhere. So I thought all models of camera have the timer. Oops. Hahah

  20. #20
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77
    thanks alot, i nearly forgot 1 dial equal to 1 stop
    btw if beyong 30 sec , how you all count ? manually in mind or use stopwatch
    Lean something from Pro today
    Use an intervalometer. Very useful accessory for a string of other functions.

    Ryan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •