Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

  1. #1

    Default Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    The new Counterstrike: Global Offensive's spec for Mac is

    Intel Core Duo processor with 2GHz or better, 2GB of RAM, and an ATI Radeon HD 2400 or better or a NVidia 8600M or better.

    I have a MBA with

    Model Name: MacBook Air
    Model Identifier: MacBookAir5,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i5
    Processor Speed: 1.8 GHz
    Memory: 4 GB
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 384 MB

    and a MBP with

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,4
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
    Memory: 8 GB
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB

    Can they play the game? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member Foxshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    In cat's stomach
    Posts
    849

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    The MBP specs seems ok.
    Is the game spec minimum req or recommended? if Minimum, then you'll gewt a sluggish gameplay.
    A true photograph need not be explained, nor can it be contained in words.
    ~Ansel Adams

  3. #3

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Wiki says this is the sys requirements

    Mac OS X[3]
    OS: Mac OS X 10.6.6 or higher
    Processor: Intel Core Duo Processor (2GHz or better)
    Memory: 2GB RAM
    Hard Disk Space: At least 7.6GB of Space
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 2400 or better / NVidia 8600M or better

    I thought my almost 3 year old MBP won't be able to make it already

  4. #4

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Can play, but I think the graphics will have to tone down quite a lot.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by silencer13 View Post
    Can play, but I think the graphics will have to tone down quite a lot.
    Silencer13, are you referring to the MPA or MBP?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside View Post
    Silencer13, are you referring to the MPA or MBP?
    On both.

    MBA: Good CPU, lousy GPU
    MBP: Ok CPU, GOOD GPU

    I think you'll be happier with the MBP. The Air is really not designed for intensive stuff like gaming.
    Alpha

  7. #7

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside View Post
    Silencer13, are you referring to the MPA or MBP?
    Yup, both.

    MBA graphics is built-in, so might be slow esp for FPS.
    MBP's graphics is discrete, but it's a very old card with little memory.

  8. #8
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,850

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    feel like playing CS again!

  9. #9

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    one more thing: how come the biggest SSD upgrade for the MBP is only 256gig? Isn't there bigger sizes we can go to? The uncle in Sim Lim told me 256 is the biggest that he got at the moment.

    What gives?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside View Post
    one more thing: how come the biggest SSD upgrade for the MBP is only 256gig? Isn't there bigger sizes we can go to? The uncle in Sim Lim told me 256 is the biggest that he got at the moment.

    What gives?
    That's for restrictions on the Mac. They usually use their own custom parts and only recognize specific parts in the BIOS. It's not like on a PC where you can just easily pop in a new, faster, bigger HDD. Apple wants more of your $$$. That's the price of going with a closed, proprietary hardware platform.
    Alpha

  11. #11

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Mac expert, saw some ads that says clean up and make mac faster. got such thing?? i mean better to clean up by thrasing unwanted stuffs mysrlf right??
    Eat breath LIVERPOOL!!!

  12. #12
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside
    one more thing: how come the biggest SSD upgrade for the MBP is only 256gig? Isn't there bigger sizes we can go to? The uncle in Sim Lim told me 256 is the biggest that he got at the moment.

    What gives?
    It's the biggest HE got, and he never did say it's the biggest available. Big difference.

  13. #13

    Default

    Went to 2 shops and got the same reply.

    Anyone got recommendation?

  14. #14
    Member Deyeno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside View Post
    Went to 2 shops and got the same reply.

    Anyone got recommendation?
    How much are you willing to pay .....

    Apple at present are the only ones I know that have 512GB Solid State Drive Kit for Mac Pro. Price is SGD1,388.00

    Link Here.
    40D|BG-E2N|24-105L F4.0 IS USM |70-200L F2.8 IS USM

  15. #15

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside View Post
    Went to 2 shops and got the same reply.

    Anyone got recommendation?
    Fork out a lot of $$$ for original Apple parts. Like I said, they use proprietary junk.
    Alpha

  16. #16
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duckside
    Went to 2 shops and got the same reply.

    Anyone got recommendation?
    Amazon has SSD that costs significantly less than what you pay here even after adding GST & shipping. And yes they have 512gb SSD.

    No need to get proprietary Apple SSD since its probably using the same thing as what you get in most shops.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post
    Amazon has SSD that costs significantly less than what you pay here even after adding GST & shipping. And yes they have 512gb SSD.

    No need to get proprietary Apple SSD since its probably using the same thing as what you get in most shops.
    Better be 100% sure. Apple has a history of using proprietary connectors. Even the SATA port for the SSD in the new retina macbook uses a connector that is yet again different from earlier macbooks.
    Alpha

  18. #18

    Default

    http://www.macsales.com i buy all my mac stuff from here. imacs 16 gb ram still going strong 2 years liai.

  19. #19
    Senior Member G-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    2,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    Better be 100% sure. Apple has a history of using proprietary connectors. Even the SATA port for the SSD in the new retina macbook uses a connector that is yet again different from earlier macbooks.
    Not for the older models. For the retina display MacBooks, they actually soldered the upgradeable components, those b*$t*rd$!

  20. #20

    Default Re: Is the sec of my Mac enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by G-man View Post
    Not for the older models. For the retina display MacBooks, they actually soldered the upgradeable components, those b*$t*rd$!
    The SSD is not soldered, but it uses a new plug:
    AnandTech - The next-gen MacBook Pro with Retina Display: SSD Analysis
    Alpha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •