Thread: Question about Print Outs

Default Question about Print Outs

hi,

have a few questions abt print outs.

1. the aspect ratio of DSLRs(D70 in my case) is 3:2 is it? so does that mean if i wanna develop a 4R print, i would have to manually crop each pic?

2. for printing, lets say i wanna add fancy borders or wordings in the borders. and i use PS to create a 600 x 800 pixel image, it should print out exactly what i designed in PS right?or wrong?

what happened was :

i thought that since 4R is 4:6, so i fixed my canvas at that size and edited whatever stuff inside. but when i went to the lab(not a pro lab, just a normal FUJI film lab) he told me that due to paper shifts in the machine or something like that its not enough that the image is just 4:6 ratio. i need to leave some space for "buffer" like 2 to 4mm.

in the end, my borders were not balanced and i had to cut them off, in the end, my photo became less than 4R

did i do anything wrong?

Eerrmm I'm not an expert but isn't 3:2 x 2 = 4:6 the size of a 4R photo. I have printed several photos taken by my 300D in photo labs and I have never encounter any cropping in the prints. In fact the aspect ratio of 3:2 DSLR is the same as 35mm negative.

Hi wainism,

1. You bought the camera already? If not then you should do more research like reading the review in details at www.dpreview.com and it is a not so hard to find that review if you can find this forum. A 4R print is 4x6 inches, same ratio aspect with DSLR from Canon. Nikon, Minolta, Kodak currently.

2. To print exactly the same size, you have to print it on printers as most if not all the loading system for lab prints are bound to crop off a few mm on either the horizontal or vertical side of the print (depending on how what size of paper they are using).

Quote Originally Posted by wainism
    hi,

have a few questions abt print outs.