Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Fireworks Shoot Question with D70

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bedok North
    Posts
    65

    Default Fireworks Shoot Question with D70

    How do i take fireworks shoot with D75?
    My lens is Nikon original kits Nikkor 18-70mm 1:3.5 - 4.5g.

  2. #2
    Member Adiemus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Small island....
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Set the Mode to "M" for Manual.

    Set your kit lens focus to "infinity".

    Set the shutter speed to "Bulb" mode - Preferably use a remote control to trigger the shot.

    Compose your shot and wait for the fireworks to begin.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    And remember to mount your camera on a good strong tripod.

    And check the weather before going out.

  4. #4
    Member Adiemus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Small island....
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    And remember to mount your camera on a good strong tripod.

    And check the weather before going out.

    Oh yeah.. that's right. a strong tripod... how could i have forgotten..

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    92

    Default Excuse me if this is a silly question...

    In this application, how long to leave the shutter open in Bulb mode?

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bedok North
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Madmax
    You need a remote too!

    Here is a link I kept.
    http://photography.about.com/library.../aa070102a.htm

    And of course, clubsnap's article
    http://www.clubsnap.com/display.php?.../fireworks.htm

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bedok North
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Kahuna


  10. #10

    Default

    If you want those "clean and straight" firework streaks, use an aperture of at least F8 with a tripod. Or can try to capture the fireworks handheld without any tripod, might get some interesting and nice shots

  11. #11
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default

    settings for cam to shoot fireworks.
    set ISO to lowest (around ISO100)
    Aperture F8-13
    Shutter 2-5secs (more or bulb mode using black card)
    WhiteBalance set to florence
    Use remote to trigger the shutter(if possible)
    _____________________________________________
    that's all for the "basic" setting
    can experiment around with the Aperture/shutter.
    Try using a ND4 filter(can help to "clear" some of the unwanted smoke created by the first few rnds of fireworks)

  12. #12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •