Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 80

Thread: K5 or K30

  1. #41

    Default

    True that the colour on 18135 is abit "flat"?

  2. #42
    Senior Member felixcat8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    9,108

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by Remedy View Post
    True that the colour on 18135 is abit "flat"?
    I find the colours are sharp and vivid. Not "flat".
    Pentaxian for Life
    K1, KP, FA*28-70/2.8, FA31, 43 & FA77 Limiteds, K85/1.8, FA*200/2.8, A50/1.2



  3. #43
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    I think I read somewhere there is a mirror flop issue during using liveview on k30 or there is no problem? Can anyone elaborate? Does this problem happen in k5?

    Cheers!

  4. #44

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    I think I read somewhere there is a mirror flop issue during using liveview on k30 or there is no problem? Can anyone elaborate? Does this problem happen in k5?

    Cheers!
    i dont think u call that a mirror flop. when u used live view. there is a double shutter sound. just that in k5 its softer and u maybe not notice its double shutter. in k30 its louder.
    ....

  5. #45
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Ok. Appreciated. Thank you for your input.

    Cheers!

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!

  7. #47

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    Welcome to the family
    My Flickr ->Flickr

  8. #48

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    Congrats! And welcome to the family

  9. #49

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    Welcome.....

  10. #50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    Welcome!!
    Pentax K-30, Pentax Program Plus, Sigma 10-20, 35/2.4, 77/1.8, 18-55wr, 50-200wr, A50/2, M28/2.8

  11. #51
    Senior Member felixcat8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    9,108

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    Welcome to the Pentax family
    Pentaxian for Life
    K1, KP, FA*28-70/2.8, FA31, 43 & FA77 Limiteds, K85/1.8, FA*200/2.8, A50/1.2



  12. #52
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    1,087

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    Finally yesterday, after much struggle between k30 and k5, decided to get the k5 as my first digital dslr. Somehow, to me the grip on k5 feels much better than k30 and I dont seems to favour the look of the k30. I still have a long way to go for this camera and I believe this is forum for me to learn. Looking forward to the Pentax outing!

    Cheers!
    K-5 - Pentax's finest to date! Never been so satisfied with my SLR/DSLR before.
    K-5IIs, DA16-85, DFA50, DFA100, DA*60-250, 540FGZ II, 160FC, 201FG

  13. #53
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    So sorry if this qn is ask before. Since i got my k5, i shoot with it once. When battery drop to 1 bar on top lcd while i was focusing in dim condition, it started to freeze. Is it common for it to freeze during 1bar? Any k5 sifu can recommend gd compatible battery? Is it good to get the battery grip since the price is cheaper than the battery(to me expensive) at webstore?

    Thanks ! Still having fun with this mc and about photograpy!

    Cheers!

  14. #54
    Senior Member darrrrrrrrrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    So sorry if this qn is ask before. Since i got my k5, i shoot with it once. When battery drop to 1 bar on top lcd while i was focusing in dim condition, it started to freeze. Is it common for it to freeze during 1bar? Any k5 sifu can recommend gd compatible battery? Is it good to get the battery grip since the price is cheaper than the battery(to me expensive) at webstore?

    Thanks ! Still having fun with this mc and about photograpy!

    Cheers!
    Battery grip cheaper than battery? I'm sure that battery grip is third-party, ie no weather sealing, lousier buttons, less solid construction, inferior plastic, etc.

    Regarding compatible batteries, the Divipower batteries from Manly Dept Store (in Chinatown, 26 Temple Street 6325 4868) are the best.

    Don't get me started on freezing and glitches.. Keep using and if the problem persists, bring it to Emjay and try to replicate the problem on the spot for them

  15. #55
    Senior Member felixcat8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    9,108

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk View Post
    So sorry if this qn is ask before. Since i got my k5, i shoot with it once. When battery drop to 1 bar on top lcd while i was focusing in dim condition, it started to freeze. Is it common for it to freeze during 1bar? Any k5 sifu can recommend gd compatible battery? Is it good to get the battery grip since the price is cheaper than the battery(to me expensive) at webstore?

    Thanks ! Still having fun with this mc and about photograpy!

    Cheers!
    When you say "freeze", under what conditions? Type of lighting, etc . . . needs to be mentioned s that we understand more of the scenario too.
    As Darrrrrrrrrr menioned, DiviPower from Manly is a good choice as it lasts . . . Webstore price for grip is cheaper than battery is because it is a 3rd party grip and not the original which will cost about $299.00 brand new.

    I used K5 until battery goes to Zero also does not freeze.
    Pentaxian for Life
    K1, KP, FA*28-70/2.8, FA31, 43 & FA77 Limiteds, K85/1.8, FA*200/2.8, A50/1.2



  16. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Ok noted. Thks to Darren and Felixcat8888. I will just get the Divipower battery this few days. As for the freezing, I was at garden by the bay on the bridge heading to Marina Sands. At the time, my batt show 1 bar. As it was quite dark and this is the first time I am using, my exposure setting was wrong and shutter was pressed, I could hear the camera trying to focus and all of the sudden it freeze( where pressing the dial or shutter etc also gave no response). I decided to switch off and on after which turned out ok. But this time the batt showed 2 bar and I started to shoot a few more 20 shots where it drop to 1 bar and subsequently blinking. I guess I will just have to continue to shoot and see if this 'freeze' issue happen again and I will post it first hand.

  17. #57

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    FYI Manly is out of stock for the D-LI90. New stock coing in on Fri. Best to call before heading down.

  18. #58

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by stuck View Post
    FYI Manly is out of stock for the D-LI90. New stock coing in on Fri. Best to call before heading down.
    Manly told me that they did not have Divipower anymore but they now stock for the Strongcell which they say is basically from same factory and work the same as well

  19. #59

    Default Re: K5 or K30

    Quote Originally Posted by Iittoo View Post
    Manly told me that they did not have Divipower anymore but they now stock for the Strongcell which they say is basically from same factory and work the same as well
    Strange. That's not what they told me when I went in on Monday. Do they have ready stocks of this new battery?

  20. #60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lensk
    So sorry if this qn is ask before. Since i got my k5, i shoot with it once. When battery drop to 1 bar on top lcd while i was focusing in dim condition, it started to freeze. Is it common for it to freeze during 1bar? Any k5 sifu can recommend gd compatible battery? Is it good to get the battery grip since the price is cheaper than the battery(to me expensive) at webstore?

    Thanks ! Still having fun with this mc and about photograpy!

    Cheers!
    It happen to me once when using one of those third party batteries. I felt that it could be due to the battery fault as that battery subsequently could not hold a charge well.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •