Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 21st January 2005   #1
Nobody

Default Canon PowerShot A510

Just saw this new DC on Canon website:

http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/psa510/index-e.html
Old 21st January 2005   #2
phrozact

Doesnt really look that interesting though...dunno who would buy it considering cameras like the A85 and A95 are already out. Maybe it's just smaller?
Old 21st January 2005   #3
sriram

I wonder why the h*ll they moved to SD/MMC, and threw a spanner in the works. Now if you have some older canon camera you can't share media.
Sponsored Link
Old 21st January 2005   #4
J.J

Originally Posted by sriram
I wonder why the h*ll they moved to SD/MMC, and threw a spanner in the works. Now if you have some older canon camera you can't share media.
So they can make the camera smaller! The mass market still like small compact camera!
Old 21st January 2005   #5
West_ray

the use of non-cf card for storage is kinda turn off for me ..
Old 21st January 2005   #6
J.J

Originally Posted by West_ray
the use of non-cf card for storage is kinda turn off for me ..
Well... more and more ppl is turning to SD for Storage. Anyway..prices for SD is almost similar to CF.
Old 21st January 2005   #7
pai

i like the A series cameras, only wish they were smaller, cos still a little too bulky to put in a pocket.

if they start making newer A series that are slimmer/more pocketable, but still have all the functions, that's actually a good thing.

just buy an sd card lor.
Old 21st January 2005   #8
wilis128

to be attractive the street price needs to be 350 and below
Old 21st January 2005   #9
taku1a

I've been through 3 A series cameras (A40, A70, A75). They got smaller and smaller, and already I find the A75 too small to hold comfortably.

The cameras will of course continue to get smaller because this is what marketing researchers telll Canon their customers want.

But I don't think Canon will make them so small as to be pocketable without showing bulge. For that previlege, we'll have to pay for an IXUS.

Besides, the A series' long battery life stems from using 4 AA batteries. To make the cameras any smaller, they will have to switch to other types of batteries or reduce the number of batteries.

I will feel a pang of sadness when that day comes.
Old 21st January 2005   #10
pai

Originally Posted by taku1a
I've been through 3 A series cameras (A40, A70, A75). They got smaller and smaller, and already I find the A75 too small to hold comfortably.

The cameras will of course continue to get smaller because this is what marketing researchers telll Canon their customers want.

But I don't think Canon will make them so small as to be pocketable without showing bulge. For that previlege, we'll have to pay for an IXUS.
i guess depends on what you're looking for. normally i use my minolta a2, with battery grip definitely big enough to hold comfortably

but sometimes i'd just like a small camera to pop in the pocket. a95 a little too big for that lah. but you're right about them not getting too small cos clash with the ixus line...
Old 21st January 2005   #11
theITguy

Just the camera I need for my mother 3MP/AA batteries/small
Old 22nd January 2005   #12
scramblur11

but tink this new cam still using the older digic processor leh...wonder hw come canon dun make all wif digic2 nw...so much better in the new ixus cams leh...

but one good thing is tat is nw come wif 4x optical zoom instead.....btw anybody know wat this "zoom flash" on the A510 mean...
Old 22nd January 2005   #13
nad

i don't know, but for the price of a new A series cam, i will rather get a used G series one. better lens and image quality.
Old 23rd January 2005   #14
cosycatus

instead of the 4x zoom, i rather they give me wide angle and a faster lens and i have to agree with nad.
Old 23rd January 2005   #15
latmo

Originally Posted by scramblur11
but tink this new cam still using the older digic processor leh...wonder hw come canon dun make all wif digic2 nw...so much better in the new ixus cams leh...

but one good thing is tat is nw come wif 4x optical zoom instead.....btw anybody know wat this "zoom flash" on the A510 mean...
cos A series is a low end model to them
if they dun put the old DiGIC processor in A series then how are they going to throw away all this old processor
Old 23rd January 2005   #16
scramblur11

Originally Posted by latmo
cos A series is a low end model to them
if they dun put the old DiGIC processor in A series then how are they going to throw away all this old processor
but ixus also consider low end rite?....but u may be right..think they have a stockpile of old digic processor that still must be used...
Closed Thread