Thread: Camera Settings

Default Camera Settings

Hi All,

As I am pretty new to photography, I would like to seek some advice on common settings for shutter and ISO when taking photos.

TIA!

Quote Originally Posted by frostyIntrepid
    Hi All,

As I am pretty new to photography, I would like to seek some advice on common settings for shutter and ISO when taking photos.

TIA!
    Hi frostyIntrepid,

Photography fall into many area like portrait, studio, sport, wedding etc .... so which area are you interested in ?
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

hmm, well maybe nature or sport??

To start off, use as high a shutter speed you can acheive... From what I have learnt, you'll need at the very least 1/125 sec shutter speed. Open up your aperture and try to get as fast a shutter speed as you can with the lowest ISO you can use, if you cannot acheive at least 1/125 sec shutter speed or faster, then no choice and switch to a higher ISO, which may degrade image quality but it depends on 101+ other factors too...

Hope that helps!
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

hi frostyintrepid, what camera are you using?

Hope this could help

http://www.acdsystems.com/English/Co...oTips/archives

寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

if u are using digicam then generally dont go beyond ISO 200 because it will be very noisy beyond that

Using 300D!

i'm posting my reply here, because it is too long for PM!

well, to begin with, you must understand what exactly IS shutter speed & ISO ratings all about.

in SLR cameras (like your 300D), the shutter actually refers to the mechanism behind the mirror. this mechanism will open and close when you trigger the shoot button. how long or short this mechanism stays open is called 'shutter speed'.