Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Macros and Close-ups

Macros and Close-ups The small world brought large. Photos of tiny things, from critters to exotic items.

Old 6th January 2005   #1
Climber

Default Sunplaza Park Insects with reverse lens

Got alot of MC lately, so i dedicate more time for photography.
Photos all taken with Canon A75, and reverse Canon EF 50mm 1.8 II

Old 6th January 2005   #2
Climber

and a spidey!

getting ready to jump!

comments appreciated
Old 7th January 2005   #3
asturias105

Default Wow!

I've just got myself a reversed lens 50mm, and i've got A75 too.. hope to get some good 1st timer shots tmr. how i wish i've half ur standard!
Old 7th January 2005   #4
sil

Climber,
did u use flash or slave flash?
i am interested in reverse lens too, wondering whether it can work with my W1...
Old 7th January 2005   #5
Climber

Originally Posted by asturias105
I've just got myself a reversed lens 50mm, and i've got A75 too.. hope to get some good 1st timer shots tmr. how i wish i've half ur standard!
Caoz ... don like dat leh... u think i'm pro meh? i think i was just lucky. I also newbie i just got my lens on tuesday! i went to sunplaza park look here look there... then some ppl think i siao one. But i just kept on shooting. I went about 4.30pm the insects don seem to like to move much esp the spider and the brown-greyish insect. (would thank anyone who can enlighen me on the species)

Originally Posted by sil
Climber,
did u use flash or slave flash?
i am interested in reverse lens too, wondering whether it can work with my W1...
I used my camera's internal flash. Not very very good but good enough i think.
hmm for ur W1 if i'm not wrong u can take out the outer ring to buy an adapter tube or smthing. U just find out what is the size of the adapter screw thread. then find some camera lens with filter thread the same size,(if not you can but step-up or step-down ring) then you can use already.

I'm still new i'm also learning. hope to learn from everyone here too. hmm thinking of going AH one day. Just donno when
Old 7th January 2005   #6
sil

Thanks for the info.
i am looking out for 2nd hand 50mm lens now.

btw, where did u get the reverse ring?
TIA.
Old 7th January 2005   #7
Climber

i stuck to 52-58 step-up ring together. the 58 end stick to the 58 end. Then i use army black tape to tape them to re-enforce. Then my lens (also 2nd hand) to screw it on.

If you're looking for 2nd hand make sure you know how to check for like fungus n scratches. And the apature must be like f2.0 and below. Just be careful and check the buy and sell section. Happy shopping
Old 8th January 2005   #8
megaweb

your shots suffered from softness , could be due to instability of your setup or slow shutter speed
Old 8th January 2005   #9
sil

Originally Posted by Climber
i stuck to 52-58 step-up ring together. the 58 end stick to the 58 end. Then i use army black tape to tape them to re-enforce. Then my lens (also 2nd hand) to screw it on.

If you're looking for 2nd hand make sure you know how to check for like fungus n scratches. And the apature must be like f2.0 and below. Just be careful and check the buy and sell section. Happy shopping
thanks for the advice. appreciate it.
Old 8th January 2005   #10
Climber

Default more questions.... :embrass:

Originally Posted by megaweb
your shots suffered from softness , could be due to instability of your setup or slow shutter speed
Thanks megaweb, but can you enlighten me on what is the softness that you see?
When i was shooting, i realised that a few milimeters front and back do make a substential difference to the focus of the insect. It's like i can't make the whole insect sharp.
Could it be due to the lens too?
Hope for your advice.
Old 8th January 2005   #11
Climber

Originally Posted by sil
thanks for the advice. appreciate it.
don mention
Old 10th January 2005   #12
megaweb

Originally Posted by Climber
Thanks megaweb, but can you enlighten me on what is the softness that you see?
When i was shooting, i realised that a few milimeters front and back do make a substential difference to the focus of the insect. It's like i can't make the whole insect sharp.
Could it be due to the lens too?
Hope for your advice.
If your setup is stable and speed is fast, you should able to see very sharp and detail of the object. Using reversed lens setup, DOF is very shallow. tt is the limitation of digital camera however it is much better for DSLR/SLR setup unless use special lens like EF 65mm macro.

see my shots
and

which one is sharper ? I used same settings for both shots and only 1 turn out good ...

Last edited by megaweb; 10th January 2005 at 09:35 AM.
Old 11th January 2005   #13
Climber

the one on the right appeared much sharper.
I know what you mean now. Although my image appears sharp, the edges are actually quite soft.

Thanks for teaching megaweb. I really appreciate it.
Closed Thread