Thread: Picture.com

Default Picture.com

Hi, I've just received a letter from Picture.com saying my picture has been advanced to the finalist for the competition, and at the same time asking for my approval to publish it in a book call Endless Journey. This sounds like good news but...

Attached inside the letter is a copy of order form, saying I can purchase the book at $20 cheaper. (I've read the post about Singapore with Love and some people mentioned 'how much is your photo worth?'... and I understand that I won't get the book for free for allowing only 1 photo to be published..) Nevertheless, does it sound like marketting gimmick, or that's the norm in this industry?

P.S please forgive my ignorance.. i'm new to photography

if i dun remember wrongly, it's a hoax.
    sigh.

Default Definetly

Definetly, I have got the same thing too. And kept asking you to purcahse this and that and you have got some throphy which require you to fly down there to collect.
    Its another way of advertising and asking you to buy more things.
    I just send them an email asking them to stop all the mail sending to me as I find it ridicules.

Quote Originally Posted by epia
    Hi, I've just received a letter from Picture.com saying my picture has been advanced to the finalist for the competition, and at the same time asking for my approval to publish it in a book call Endless Journey. This sounds like good news but...

Attached inside the letter is a copy of order form, saying I can purchase the book at $20 cheaper. (I've read the post about Singapore with Love and some people mentioned 'how much is your photo worth?'... and I understand that I won't get the book for free for allowing only 1 photo to be published..) Nevertheless, does it sound like marketting gimmick, or that's the norm in this industry?

P.S please forgive my ignorance.. i'm new to photography
    just tell them to send you the book for free in exchange for your approval to publish your pic.