Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42

Thread: Backup camera

  1. #21
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Looks like D700 based on the tag line... which is video-less.
    in that case, if it was me, i would get a camera that has the same lens mount, battery and memory card as my main camera
    then it can truly be called a backup camera.

    but the new cameras uses a different battery and memory card format.

    so plan for the future when you change your main camera

  2. #22
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Backup camera

    eg.

    D800, D7000 and the Nikon V1 uses the same battery

    and can use the same memory card
    D800 and D7000 can use the same lenses
    the V1 can also but with an adapter

    but all can shoot video

    so if main camera goes down, the backup camera can take it's place without much fuss

  3. #23
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Good point!

    However, in TS's case... none of the latest models would fit the bill...

    That leaves D300s or D90 for TS for video needs since all shared the same batteries.... D300s uses CF + SD - so CFs can be shared as well. PLUS D700 can share the same Battery grip with D300s (MB-D10)...
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  4. #24
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Backup camera

    But seriously... one person handling two person's job is quite erm.... how you put it? Messy...to put it simply.

    Being a main tog, he/her job is to capture the really really important moments... Being a videographer, his/her job is ALSO to capture the really really important moments... If you are both... how does one decide which is more the important tool to use than the other for the right moment? If you get a good video sequence... you missed all the important stills... If you get the good stills... you missed all the important video sequences... Go figure...
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  5. #25

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Jack of all trades. Master of none.

    if you're professional you would have a dedicated videographer and photographer.

    just sayin'

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    TPY
    Posts
    2,458

    Default

    Agreed... Usually get 2 body so no need to change lens... Not because use 1 for still 1 for video... Don't think can handle, unless is plan until swee swee... But then again, tio BBB virus, nevermind lar, just buy the one u fancy.... Life short, enjoy first lar...

  7. #27
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Good point!

    However, in TS's case... none of the latest models would fit the bill...

    That leaves D300s or D90 for TS for video needs since all shared the same batteries.... D300s uses CF + SD - so CFs can be shared as well. PLUS D700 can share the same Battery grip with D300s (MB-D10)...
    Hello... rolling shutter...

    seriously, some one even did a test of the hacked GH2 with the D800 video... Let's just say that the results show that the GH2 can really keep up... and the D800 a little embarrassed.

  8. #28
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    in that case, if it was me, i would get a camera that has the same lens mount, battery and memory card as my main camera
    then it can truly be called a backup camera.

    but the new cameras uses a different battery and memory card format.

    so plan for the future when you change your main camera
    +1

    I don't know how many times I have swapped batteries and memory card from one cam to the next in emergencies...

  9. #29

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Is Nikon D700 Obsolete?

    i guess most places are with D700 OOS. so is even getting a second hand d700 worthy still?
    if do plan to head into FL wedding photography, is D3s overkill?

    just asking around as D4/D800 never really enter my mind, one too ex while the other kill my memory cards.

  10. #30
    Senior Member rain5533's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S'pore, JB
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by akagi07
    Is Nikon D700 Obsolete?

    i guess most places are with D700 OOS. so is even getting a second hand d700 worthy still?
    if do plan to head into FL wedding photography, is D3s overkill?

    just asking around as D4/D800 never really enter my mind, one too ex while the other kill my memory cards.
    Hi, currently i have my D7000 for back up and the main on D800, after you has shoots it for while, and found the back up cam really want to keep or just left at dry cabinet.

    If you're really is the professional photographer sure you need it more & more you wont ask ppls to advise you need or not.

    Cause due to working with photographer and sometime will facing the battery flat or memory card failure, on the spot can bring up the back up body to shoot is end of the day.

  11. #31
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Backup camera

    D700 obsolete? Hardly the case. It is still available in MY if you looked hard enough and at a good price. In fact, it was recently reissued to the stores in the states. I don't know exactly why Sg do not stock D700... Probably not to cannibalise on sales of D800... If u do happen to find a piece, I'll bet that the price is still the same since before D800 was released...
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  12. #32
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by akagi07 View Post
    Is Nikon D700 Obsolete?

    i guess most places are with D700 OOS. so is even getting a second hand d700 worthy still?
    if do plan to head into FL wedding photography, is D3s overkill?

    just asking around as D4/D800 never really enter my mind, one too ex while the other kill my memory cards.
    You have to do your own numbers and determnine your ROI.... when you can make enough to cover back the camera... aka breakeven point... and realistically how much is your profit margin etc... then you will know if it is worth it with one equipment or the next.

    Do not forget that covering weddings is hard work. and you also need to know how to price yourself right...

    Sometimes it really beats me how people can use dual professional bodies (D3s etc..) with all the best expensive lenses... and yet charge $800 for 10 hours full day AD coverage. well... whatever works for them...

    So you need to understand what works for you...

  13. #33
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    D700 obsolete? Hardly the case. It is still available in MY if you looked hard enough and at a good price. In fact, it was recently reissued to the stores in the states. I don't know exactly why Sg do not stock D700... Probably not to cannibalise on sales of D800... If u do happen to find a piece, I'll bet that the price is still the same since before D800 was released...
    Especially now, if you look in the right places, and if they have stocks, you can almost buy two D700s for the price of a D3s and still have money left over to get a lens or two...

    Stocks for D700 will come back up... right after Nikon stabilizes D800/E and D4 production. Just as kriegs was saying, as we speak, stores just received some stocks of D700 and D7000 recently. But most of the D700s are already snapped up very quickly. So you have to be quick and you have to keep asking around. And once you locate one, you cannot hesitate.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 21st May 2012 at 07:28 PM.

  14. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123

    Especially now, if you look in the right places, and if they have stocks, you can almost buy two D700s for the price of a D3s and still have money left over to get a lens or two...

    Stocks for D700 will come back up... right after Nikon stabilizes D800/E and D4 production. Just as kriegs was saying, as we speak, stores just received some stocks of D700 and D7000 recently. But most of the D700s are already snapped up very quickly. So you have to be quick and you have to keep asking around. And once you locate one, you cannot hesitate.
    Where in MY are all these competitive price at?? I came across one thread talking abt what johan shop.

  15. #35
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by akagi07 View Post
    Where in MY are all these competitive price at?? I came across one thread talking abt what johan shop.
    Hint... take a look in Consumer's Corner.

  16. #36

    Default

    I am looking at G1x as backup .. But cant use my flash on this canon camera .. Sigh
    D700 - 24-70mm F2.8 ED - 105mm VR2 Micro - Samyang 14mm - 50mm 1.8D - Mb 10 - SB900 - SB400

  17. #37
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by small pig View Post
    I am looking at G1x as backup .. But cant use my flash on this canon camera .. Sigh
    I seen Canon users use Nikon flashes. Not sure Nikon can use Canon flashes.

  18. #38
    Senior Member rain5533's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S'pore, JB
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wmayeo

    I seen Canon users use Nikon flashes. Not sure Nikon can use Canon flashes.
    Canon user can be used Nikon lenses, but Nikon can use their lens

  19. #39

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by rain5533 View Post
    Canon user can be used Nikon lenses, but Nikon can use their lens
    english pls.

  20. #40
    Member fmeeran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    834

    Default Re: Backup camera

    Quote Originally Posted by rain5533 View Post
    Canon user can be used Nikon lenses, but Nikon can use their lens
    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    english pls.
    I assume he means that canon users can use nikkors with adapters but nikon users can't use canon lenses (because of the flange distance issues).
    Dxxxx | 35/1.8 | 50/1.8 | Tokina 28-70 | Panny G1 | 14-45 | 25/1.7
    My Flickr

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •