Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Any *Good* LCD to Recommend?

  1. #1

    Default Any *Good* LCD to Recommend?

    The iMac 20" LCD monitor really blow me away. So do the bigger Apple LCD monitors.

    Happened to see some of those 19" LCD in the price range of below $1K in SLS and all simply cannot make it as compared to the Apple.

    Are there any better quality LCD available to the PC users?

    Also, wonder if the Apple LCD can be used by PCs.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh
    The iMac 20" LCD monitor really blow me away. So do the bigger Apple LCD monitors.

    Happened to see some of those 19" LCD in the price range of below $1K in SLS and all simply cannot make it as compared to the Apple.

    Are there any better quality LCD available to the PC users?

    Also, wonder if the Apple LCD can be used by PCs.
    check this thread : http://forum.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=82717

    I believe it answer most of your question .. you can try the Dell one

  3. #3

    Default

    Got the dell one last month. 2001FP. Bagus!!


    No dead or bright pixel.

  4. #4

    Default

    Just got a Dell 19 inch ultrasharp a few days ago.

    Portrait mode is an incredible way to work.

    Wonder how I ever got along with landscape mode.

  5. #5
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    The ACD should be usable on PCs if you use DVI

  6. #6

    Default

    Apple 30inch HD LCD Display 120dpi.... =) Shoikness.

    if not any old apple will do... they should be DVI standard. I have found two 17inch screens (older bundled with quicksilver) better than one big 23 inch screen... but thats me.. actually i nv really complained abt the 23inch that much.

    Have not seen any others that impressed me... hence i feel that a calibrated CRT is the way to go... =)

  7. #7
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moos blues
    Apple 30inch HD LCD Display 120dpi.... =) Shoikness.

    if not any old apple will do... they should be DVI standard. I have found two 17inch screens (older bundled with quicksilver) better than one big 23 inch screen... but thats me.. actually i nv really complained abt the 23inch that much.

    Have not seen any others that impressed me... hence i feel that a calibrated CRT is the way to go... =)
    ditto.
    CRT is still a must..

    LCD altho it's getting better still dont cut it.
    sigh.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh
    Also, wonder if the Apple LCD can be used by PCs.
    latest range of apple LCD are using dvi, so u can use it on a PC without any problem

    if you are using the older version (the one with transparent frame), they are using ADC instead of DVI, so you will need to get a DVI to ADC adapter (not ADC to DVI) and the adapter cost me $170+

    there are also 3rd party DVI to ADC adapter, but then the price is about the same as the original one after you add in the shipping

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    The new ACD 20" runs at some funny resolution of 1680 x 1050, my ATI 9600 SE does not seem to have that resolution. There are so some posts on the forums that it does not work with all PC-based graphics cards -- it will only display the Windoze desktop but not the text-mode stuff like the POST screens and not even the Windoze bootup screens.

    Regards
    CK

  10. #10

    Default

    CK,

    That is the widescreen resolution used in the 2005FP and ACDs. The latest ATI catalyst drivers support this.

    The POST screen problem is true. Apple enginneers have no PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    The new ACD 20" runs at some funny resolution of 1680 x 1050, my ATI 9600 SE does not seem to have that resolution. There are so some posts on the forums that it does not work with all PC-based graphics cards -- it will only display the Windoze desktop but not the text-mode stuff like the POST screens and not even the Windoze bootup screens.

    Regards
    CK

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    mine is old ACD and all my graphics cards can support 1680 x 1050, try reinstall the driver

    only one of the graphic card that i have manage to make ACD display the POST and bootup screen

  12. #12

    Default

    In terms of value the Dell 2001FP beats the 20" ACD(widescreen) -

    Dell is SGD 1300 while ACD is SGD 1850.
    Dell is 1600x1200 while ACD is 1680x1050.

    U actually get more screen and pixels with the Dell 2001FP. Also, Dell has a money back gurantee (you pay shipping of $60), so if your dead/bright pixel is really bad, just send it back.

    Dell 2005FP is equivalent to the ADC. ONly avail in US and cheaper than the 2001FP generally unless u have an insane coupon deal.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Java_Guru
    CK,

    That is the widescreen resolution used in the 2005FP and ACDs. The latest ATI catalyst drivers support this.

    The POST screen problem is true. Apple enginneers have no PC?
    Well, they are Apple engineers! According to the forums it's more of a DVI issue, some incompatibility or implementation difference or something like that. The truly complaint ones are supposed to work.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    mine is old ACD and all my graphics cards can support 1680 x 1050, try reinstall the driver

    only one of the graphic card that i have manage to make ACD display the POST and bootup screen
    I don't have an ACD, but I don't see that resolution in my ATI's driver's list of resolutions, which is why I thought it might not work. Obviously don't want to buy one to find that I have to use the closest resolution.

    The new ACD 20" at $1848 doesn't sound too bad tho the Dell is cheaper. At the previous price of $2848, it's rather pricey.

    Regards
    CK

  14. #14

    Default

    Ya....when i did the price check just now...i was a bit surprised at the smaller differential....I was sure that the price was different a month ago before I bought my Dell 2001FP.

    New price is a decent deal for....apple standards.

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    The new ACD 20" at $1848 doesn't sound too bad tho the Dell is cheaper. At the previous price of $2848, it's rather pricey.

    Regards
    CK

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Java_Guru
    In terms of value the Dell 2001FP beats the 20" ACD(widescreen) -

    Dell is SGD 1300 while ACD is SGD 1850.
    Dell is 1600x1200 while ACD is 1680x1050.

    U actually get more screen and pixels with the Dell 2001FP. Also, Dell has a money back gurantee (you pay shipping of $60), so if your dead/bright pixel is really bad, just send it back.
    yes..that's true theortically.

    I have two LCDs, one is 1600 x 1200 and the other one is the ACD which is 1680 x 1050. i also told myself that the ACD only 1680 x 1050, so mathematically there will be less working space compare to 1600 x1200.

    But after I use it long enough, I realised that I prefer to have wider screen (can put two programs side by side and still have space for my ICQ list), that 80 pixels more does make a big different.

    Also, the ACD is so much sharper and the colour also much nicer when I put the two screen side-by-side

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    Well, they are Apple engineers! According to the forums it's more of a DVI issue, some incompatibility or implementation difference or something like that. The truly complaint ones are supposed to work.
    Yes, I have a few graphic cards and only the newer one (X800XT) able to display POST screen. But I have to set in BIOS to boot from AGP first. Because I also have another Radeon card in PCI slot, so if I choose to boot from PCI first, the POST screen will display on the LCD that is connected to this PCI card.
    I don't have an ACD, but I don't see that resolution in my ATI's driver's list of resolutions, which is why I thought it might not work. Obviously don't want to buy one to find that I have to use the closest resolution.
    that's because u need to plug in a ACD, then after your graphic card detected it, u will have all the widescreem resolution like 1680 x 1050.


    I can even play games like half-life 2 and CS:source at 1680 x 1050 thru the DVI-ADC adapter. And yes, play CS on wide screen is better because i can see the enemy come in from left and right much earlier
    Last edited by Wai; 10th January 2005 at 10:57 AM.

  17. #17

    Default

    I've seen somewhere (online) where they have FLAT CRT's. (ie: its thickness is about the width of a box fan (maybe 5inches at most. don't think I've seen those at sim lim though.

    but imho, once you've gone lcd, you can't go back to crt's.....I find CRT's big, clunky, heavy and mostly tend to die every 3 years or so.


    samsung lcd's have a zero dead pixel policy with effect from this year I believe.

    anyway, I'm waiting for 21" lcd's to drop in price, then buy a tv tuner as well. that way don't have to have a large tv in my room... (ok: i only got puny 14" tv cos no space.)

    having said that, why do they make computer tables so big still.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loupgarou
    having said that, why do they make computer tables so big still.
    So that you have more space for your junk. Unused graphics cards, motherboards, CD coasters, and other chapalang stuff lying around now can fill over to the extra space released by using a LCD monitor


    Regards
    CK

  19. #19
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    So that you have more space for your junk. Unused graphics cards, motherboards, CD coasters, and other chapalang stuff lying around now can fill over to the extra space released by using a LCD monitor


    Regards
    CK
    Yeah, I have a stack of DVDs & my plugins for PS, a pair of wedding bears, CDRWs, Krisflyer leaflet and ...

  20. #20

    Default

    Hi...

    Anyone uses Del Ultrasharp 1905FP? Any comments?

    Specs looks ok.... may want to get this......

    Thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •