Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 1st January 2005   #1
talisman

Default Things to check when buying a D70

Happy New Year to You All!

Concerning the above, just wanted to get ur advice before I buy the D70
Things that you would recommend to check, i.e; scratches on lens, dead pixel, firmware update, etc.

Thanks a lot!
Old 1st January 2005   #2
snowspeeder

For one, buy from a reliable source with nikon warranty.
Old 1st January 2005   #3
espn

If you're going to purchase on monday afternoon during lunch time, let me know.. I'll accompany you to make the purchase and help you check the items.

Alternatively would be around 6.30pm (hopefully I can make it in time...)
Sponsored Link
Old 1st January 2005   #4
lui002

Wah ! Talisman, you are very lucky man.
Our Nikon guru offering you help. What are you waiting for ?
Old 2nd January 2005   #5
talisman

Appreciate ur help on that espn!

However, AP have no stock of the D70 kit at the moment. I would like to get the 18-70 kit lens together.

I'll let u guys know when I'll be getting the D70. Hopefully u'll be free to help me check. Thanks!

Can't wait!
Old 2nd January 2005   #6
espn

Too bad I'll be on reservist for the next 3 weeks, so tomorrow's the only day I'm free. Heehee..........

And I don't like to make purchases from AP.
Old 2nd January 2005   #7
talisman

u dun like AP? Any particular reason?
I was going to get the kit there!
I better listen to the nikon guru man!!

Where do you recommend?
CP has the stock but it's almost 100 bucks more ex!!

sianz....raining today...zzzzz!!!
Old 2nd January 2005   #8
CAMEDIA

Originally Posted by talisman

Where do you recommend?

AP is not a place for newbies or faint hearted but anyway one has to learn. Hopefully, the below info can help u.

Choose a time which has less pple, avoid weekends and evenings....maybe weekday around 10.30am or 3pm, etc....

If possible, take a laptop there, take a few pics, load it into PC to check for problems like back focus, blah blah. In the meantime, go install the Opanda IExif reader or other equivalanet to check the shutter counter when viewing pics. May not be realistic to expect 0 shutter count, maybe less than a couple of hundreds should be fine. Juz make sure u dont end up with one with shutter count of a couple of thousands.

1) Check the warranty card for cam - Make sure the serial matches ur cam
2) Check the warranty card for lens - Make sure serial matches ur lens
3) Get the offical receipt from them
4) Get them to stamp on the warranty card but others may think this is unnecessary.

Thats all I can remember....Hope this helps and Good Luck
Old 2nd January 2005   #9
bigfatfish

Originally Posted by CAMEDIA
AP is not a place for newbies or faint hearted but anyway one has to learn. Hopefully, the below info can help u.

Choose a time which has less pple, avoid weekends and evenings....maybe weekday around 10.30am or 3pm, etc....

If possible, take a laptop there, take a few pics, load it into PC to check for problems like back focus, blah blah. In the meantime, go install the Opanda IExif reader or other equivalanet to check the shutter counter when viewing pics. May not be realistic to expect 0 shutter count, maybe less than a couple of hundreds should be fine. Juz make sure u dont end up with one with shutter count of a couple of thousands.

1) Check the warranty card for cam - Make sure the serial matches ur cam
2) Check the warranty card for lens - Make sure serial matches ur lens
3) Get the offical receipt from them
4) Get them to stamp on the warranty card but others may think this is unnecessary.

Thats all I can remember....Hope this helps and Good Luck

Sorry hijack this thread, I am also thinking of buying the D70 soon, maybe this week.
1)Want to know why a new camera will have a couple of hundreds shutter counts?
2) What is this back focus thing, how to check?
3) I usually go CP, but is MScolor much cheaper? which one is more safe, as in can trust?
Old 2nd January 2005   #10
yanyewkay

shutter count won't be zero for a few reasons.
firstly they got to test it at the factory,
next, there are people who just goes to the shop to test the cameras then end up not buying.
third,

so a hundred is probably easy to chalk up.
Old 2nd January 2005   #11
espn

Originally Posted by talisman

Where do you recommend?

100 bucks more ex (at CP) is reasonable. I hope they (AP) didn't quote you below $1700, if they did, they're lying. You'll end up making more purchases on other stuff.

Originally Posted by bigfatfish
Sorry hijack this thread, I am also thinking of buying the D70 soon, maybe this week.
1)Want to know why a new camera will have a couple of hundreds shutter counts?
2) What is this back focus thing, how to check?
3) I usually go CP, but is MScolor much cheaper? which one is more safe, as in can trust?
Don't worry about the back focus issue, it's over hyped, haven't seen more than 3-4 threads complaining about this here.

CP is definitely my choice if you're the worrying kind esp spending this kind of money, because of their reputation & long shop history, they won't give you bad or damaged sets. They're known for before/during/after sales services.

MSColor never dealt with before, but they did try to over quote me on a camera that I enquired, that was through the phone. Still I prefer CP definitely.

TK Foto @ Shaw Towers is a good choice. Owner's a bit bengish (*siams!!!* j/k) but a very nice guy.

If anybody wants to purchase start a list, I'll try to find a time slot that I'm ok with that I can help you folks or go along and see see a bit. *note* this is not a MO.
Old 2nd January 2005   #12
z122

heya espn,
im seriously thinkin of getting de d70. probably getting de kit, 1gb flash.. me still newbie..

Is ur offer for tomoro still stands?

thanks! really appreciate it
Old 2nd January 2005   #13
espn

Yep, still stands, probably around 11-1+ I'm free, I've got appointment at 2pm.

However will only be around CP area, cos it's easier to go where I want from there
Old 2nd January 2005   #14
talisman

I'm just thinking...

Seems we have 3 potential buyers (incl. me) this week...could we bargain to get a discount?!

espn, are u referring to the CP in peninsula plaza? I'll have to be at work tom...if u guys are serious abt getting it together to get a discount, i can arrange to take day off in the afternoon...

CP quoted me the D70 kit for $1750 (not sure whether with gst) 2 days ago.

lemme know yea
Old 2nd January 2005   #15
bigfatfish

Yes i think that is a good idea.

in the evening? 5 plus?
Old 2nd January 2005   #16
deardeer

Default Buying D70

I might want to get it too $$$$$
Count me in too!
Old 2nd January 2005   #17
espn

I'll be free in the afternoon around 12 plusish. Evening I have no confidence that I can reach at 5 or 6.30. Maybe around 7.

Afternoon time would be good
Old 2nd January 2005   #18
z122

seems like this thread is hotting up...

ive been hesitatin to buy de d70. my new resolution so im gona follow espn advice: BUY BUY BUY!!

since this is my first time getting a dslr, it would be such an honor to have such an experienced person like espn to be around. i dun mind if its in de evening, so people can come after work. im free in de afternoon oso.. so me no problems for either timings but think evenin is better for most... of course, it would depend on espn lah...

hmm..wat time does cp close anyway if tat is de place we are getting from?
Old 2nd January 2005   #19
espn

CP closes at 7pm. I'm not experienced... just evil There are more experienced users around. I just have a liking for people to spend money.

Afternoon would be best for me, I have no idea what time my 2pm appt will end
Old 2nd January 2005   #20
talisman

Talking

gosh...just remembered that I have a dinner to attend tom nite...so tom is definitely out of rme.

Do you guys really think we can get a discount if we can gather abt 5 ppl?
I a bit tight on $$$ at the moment...so wherever i can save a bit to get a better filter or lens, i will.

It's definitely a BUY BUY BUY! for me ...it's just a matter of time only!

if u guys can wait until we gather enough ppl to work out some discount/packages, I wouldn't mind to wait as well

1. Talisman

GO GO GO!!! ;P
Closed Thread