Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 30th December 2004   #1
ParkertR

Default First post of a pic from my D70!

Taken in the early hours of the morning today at lower peirce with a 70-300mm G f/4-5.6 with SB800 used to fill the dark spots.

Any ID?

Old 30th December 2004   #2
jonlou

hello parkertr...

nice squerriel!!! hahaha..... hmm... the left side and right side DOF like abit unbalanced leh... hahaha... then the cute fellow the eyes abit red-eye hor..

my i like the overall shot... very nice. very nice colour....
Old 30th December 2004   #3
ParkertR

lol~ DOF off? mmm cuz the leaves at diff distance mah hehehe~ i gave the bugger a red-eye reduction flash :P hahaha wonder why its still red!
Old 30th December 2004   #4
jonlou

oh yeah yeah yeah... hahaha... sorry ah. u noe lar. noob here... so dun mind me toking nonsense ah....

anyway, looks like ur 70-300G lens not bad leh... wads the diff between the G and ED versions?
Old 30th December 2004   #5
ParkertR

Default G lens

ONE single ED element and errrr....no aperture ring and errrr....plastic mount... but the lens is so light it doesn't matter. The plastic mount feels pretty sttrong too... so no worries
Old 30th December 2004   #6
digipat2003

nice catch but feel the compostion of pic is abit off, too centre

just my thoughts
Old 30th December 2004   #7
Paul_Yeo

how come the squirrel so still on?

i tried to take pic of squirrel but they keep on jumping up and down and i cannot get them to stay still....u must be very patient!
Old 30th December 2004   #8
ParkertR

Originally Posted by digipat2003
nice catch but feel the compostion of pic is abit off, too centre

just my thoughts
I tried to get more of the tail in while trying to keep to the rule of the thirds :S tough la. haha :P
Old 30th December 2004   #9
ParkertR

Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo
how come the squirrel so still on?

i tried to take pic of squirrel but they keep on jumping up and down and i cannot get them to stay still....u must be very patient!
Was patient but then again, must attribute the pic to the time of the day too...t hey were very busy eating. this one though he was safe from the camera... haha but my 300mm x 1.5X factor was enough to nab him up in the tree! i have another one... but he moved and focus was on the tail :S ugh! i can post if ur interested to see... haha
Old 31st December 2004   #10
Ghostpipefish

Good shot, nonetheless, squirrels are difficult buggers to catch as they can be very skittish!

we have 2 main types of squirrels here in singapore, the Slender Squirrel and the Plantain Squirrel. The easiest way to tell is to see if there is a black and cream stripe on its side.

from your pic, it looks like a plantain squireel. Experts out there, can confirm?
Old 31st December 2004   #11
ParkertR

thanks Ghostpipefish? Anyone wanna give bad comments about this picture so i can learn? :S
Old 31st December 2004   #12
Ghostpipefish

hey ParkertR, i am no expert myself!

nothing really bad about your shot. it's just a photo of a squirrel eating. as long as you are happy with it, stay with it.
Old 31st December 2004   #13
ParkertR

yeah hehe thnx! Happy NEw YEAR!!
Old 1st January 2005   #14
stroma

Originally Posted by ParkertR
thanks Ghostpipefish? Anyone wanna give bad comments about this picture so i can learn? :S
Firstly, there is nothing particularly wrong with this photo... BUT a lot of that is down to the D70. You presumably haven't had to worry about exposure or speed (I presume the squirrel was fairly stationery); or Focusing...as I presume you were using Autofocus. All I can therefore comment on is the composition....It's just not very exciting.... 1. The Image looks 2 dimensional...flat squirrel against flat scene... 2. you mentioned rule of thirds...yet the trunk goes straight up the centre of the pic..... etc etc...... However.. If I'd got that shot as a newbie I think I would have been very happy... (it's also Top Heavy...all the 'weight of the picture is in the top half!!).... You asked for comments... I hope these are constuctive comments...

Happy New Year Stroma
Old 1st January 2005   #15
ParkertR

stroma, thanks so much!

1) Squirrel was fairly stationary - YES!
2) Focusing... er... MF! hee :P
3) 2D image... yeah... it's a little flat
4) I think its top heavy too - should I have cut the tail? :S
5) Was shooting on M.

Happy new year to you and thanks for the comments!!!
Old 1st January 2005   #16
stroma

Originally Posted by ParkertR
stroma, thanks so much!

1) Squirrel was fairly stationary - YES!
2) Focusing... er... MF! hee :P
3) 2D image... yeah... it's a little flat
4) I think its top heavy too - should I have cut the tail? :S
5) Was shooting on M.

Happy new year to you and thanks for the comments!!!
hee hee too...Glad you've already moved onto some manual features!!! Problem with the D70....It's just too Good!! So concentrate on what you can put in!!...Like composition,,,D70 can't do that and no-one can really teach it...You keep working at it and it'll come...Great thing about DSLR is that you can experiment till the cows come home LOL... Good first pic...Just think if you'd got his face coming towards you...Real Impact...

As to what you can do with the existing photo... A much tighter crop in PS (and lose abit more tail) but also get rid of the waste of space to the right which adds nothing!!!.. (someone mentioned DOF.... actually you or the camera got that about right LOL)...Get rid of the red-eye.... I would duplicate a layer in PS and apply a 'multiply' blend mode for some more definition and balance.....

Happy 2005

Stroma

Last edited by stroma; 1st January 2005 at 10:48 AM.
Old 1st January 2005   #17
ParkertR

going to SBG tomorrow morning, weather permitting. if you're there and you see two guys - one with a huge tamron and the other with a huge VR lens... that's me and my fren :P haha