Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Fuji Photolabs use AdobeRGB or SRGB?

  1. #1

    Default Fuji Photolabs use AdobeRGB or SRGB?

    Hey guys,

    Having done some research on the topic of AdobeRGB and SRGB, I would like to ask if Fuji Photolabs processing machines have the AdobeRGB working space loaded within them, if not even if I process with AdobeRGB, the results would be under a SRGB standard.

    Many thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    362

    Smile Neither....

    I spoke to the guy at DigiPro Imaging at Marine Terrace...

    They're using the Fuji ePic system. According to him, they are using the CMYK profile.

    Hope this helps

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cphile
    I spoke to the guy at DigiPro Imaging at Marine Terrace...

    They're using the Fuji ePic system. According to him, they are using the CMYK profile.

    Hope this helps
    Hmm.. CMYK profile. Does anyone know if it has a wider Gamut than AdobeRGB? If it does then I'll save my NEF files as JPG in AdobeRGB profile and send to them and SRGB for display on ClubSNAP.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,406

    Default

    For most labs, sRGB is sufficient. Prints do not have the gamut of AdobeRGB to begin with. And definitely don't convert to the CMYK profile.

    Regards
    CK

  5. #5
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gosu_John
    Hmm.. CMYK profile. Does anyone know if it has a wider Gamut than AdobeRGB? If it does then I'll save my NEF files as JPG in AdobeRGB profile and send to them and SRGB for display on ClubSNAP.
    Should be the other way round, display as Adobe RGB and print as sRGB.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    201

    Default

    not sure if this is OT: Just came back from Colorlab - some of my photos that were processed using PS elements were unable to load when trying to download into the shop's Fuji software.

    I just checked the setting on my PS - I think the processed pixs are saved in AdobeRGB. Not sure if this is why the photos couldn't be loaded. I have re-saved the pixs in sRGB and will visit Colorlab again to test.

    I have asked the lab to process those unloadable pixs anyway - wonder how they will turn out.

  7. #7

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    For most labs, sRGB is sufficient. Prints do not have the gamut of AdobeRGB to begin with. And definitely don't convert to the CMYK profile.

    Regards
    CK
    That is very useful. Thank you for that piece of information.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    For most labs, sRGB is sufficient. Prints do not have the gamut of AdobeRGB to begin with. And definitely don't convert to the CMYK profile.

    Regards
    CK
    Does this mean it is safer to shoot in sRGB and process pics in sRGB, if one is intending to send it for prints?

  10. #10

    Default

    Madmax, I suggest you read this article on sRGB vs. AdobeRGB.

  11. #11

    Default

    please post in the correct forums. This is hardly related to Nikon.

    moderators should consider making the info in this earlier thread a sticky as this question is asked very often (the 'quality' of the answers given in this earlier thread is way above the norm for clubsnap):

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=105296

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Madmax
    Does this mean it is safer to shoot in sRGB and process pics in sRGB, if one is intending to send it for prints?
    Yes, that's what I always do. Saves a lot of hassle.

    Regards
    CK

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Padawan
    Madmax, I suggest you read this article on sRGB vs. AdobeRGB.
    good read. thanks!
    sigh.

  14. #14
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Clown
    good read. thanks!
    I like his bottom line

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Fuji Frontier machines do not understand color profile. So you need to convert your jpg file to sRGB before you sent it for printing. Or else you may not get the same color as what you see on your monitor.

    I will usually try to edit in a bigger color space, like Adobe RGB. This gives me more room to play with. Then I convert to sRGB for printing.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •