Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Macros and Close-ups

Macros and Close-ups The small world brought large. Photos of tiny things, from critters to exotic items.

Old 25th December 2004   #1
jeffgoh

Default AH on Xmas

Seen like all the butterflies have gone to church.

Below some of the shots i took in AH this morning.

Old 25th December 2004   #2
jeffgoh

Old 25th December 2004   #3
melvynyeo

Very nice Jeffrey

Love your last pict
Sponsored Link
Old 25th December 2004   #4
erictan8888

very nice... esp like your 5th and last pic .....
wow... looks like got to go AH somedays..... got a lot of insects there.... hee hee
and i guess its time to get a macro lens liao.... hee hee

just like to ask: is the manification of the butterfly (pic 5) considered 1:1 or smaller magnification than 1:1 ?

thanks
Old 25th December 2004   #5
Falcon

Nice pics, Jeff. I like the 2nd last shot most. I think the black bg works well here. I din see many butterflies there either when I went there a few days ago.
Old 27th December 2004   #6
jeffgoh

Originally Posted by erictan8888
very nice... esp like your 5th and last pic .....
wow... looks like got to go AH somedays..... got a lot of insects there.... hee hee
and i guess its time to get a macro lens liao.... hee hee

just like to ask: is the manification of the butterfly (pic 5) considered 1:1 or smaller magnification than 1:1 ?

thanks
Eric - it is smaller then 1:1.

Thanks all for the comments. Getting very rusty liao I think time to shoot more often ....
Old 27th December 2004   #7
nemesis32

Whats the lens you used? Tamrom 90mm?
Old 27th December 2004   #8
jeffgoh

Originally Posted by nemesis32
Whats the lens you used? Tamrom 90mm?
Canon 100mm macro
Old 29th December 2004   #9
nzmacro

Very nice Jeff. The caterpillar and butterfly are excellent. Very unusual those two, Also like the grasshopper, I love the perspective on that one. Nothing wrong with your eyes Jeff

All the best Jeff, I'll have to post something as well my friend.

Danny.
Old 30th December 2004   #10
jeffgoh

Originally Posted by nzmacro
Very nice Jeff. The caterpillar and butterfly are excellent. Very unusual those two, Also like the grasshopper, I love the perspective on that one. Nothing wrong with your eyes Jeff

All the best Jeff, I'll have to post something as well my friend.

Danny.
totaly agree with you on you have to post something... More more you can never fail to amaze me with your pics.
Old 31st December 2004   #11
megaweb

Very nice shots esp. detail and exposure, however have to improve on the background.
Old 31st December 2004   #12
yeocolin

A newbie asking about macro shoot on butterflies. Will appreciate your guidance very much.

Do you just mount camera on tripod, aim on a flower and wait for the butterfly to come or do you only aim and shoot when the butterfly is on the flower? Thanks.
Old 31st December 2004   #13
macross

Personally, I hand-held my camera, and chase after the butterflies.
Old 31st December 2004   #14
yeocolin

In this case, wouldn't you would be using either high iso (at least 400?) or a macro ring flash? Otherwise, at such close up magnification, camera shake will be obvious unless its accompanied by high shuttle speed. Please advice. Thanks.
Old 31st December 2004   #15
xmen2003

Originally Posted by yeocolin
In this case, wouldn't you would be using either high iso (at least 400?) or a macro ring flash? Otherwise, at such close up magnification, camera shake will be obvious unless its accompanied by high shuttle speed. Please advice. Thanks.
I guess it depends on individuals. Some can handhold at slow shutter speed.
Old 31st December 2004   #16
jeffgoh

A newbie asking about macro shoot on butterflies. Will appreciate your guidance very much.

Do you just mount camera on tripod, aim on a flower and wait for the butterfly to come or do you only aim and shoot when the butterfly is on the flower? Thanks.
My setup - 100mm macro len with omni bounce flash handheld.

You can also use monpod for support.

Settings are ISO 400, 1/125. ISO 400 cos the lightings wasnt good that day.

No i dun wait for the butterfly to come i look for them in a slow manner. hanging around a place where most butterflies would come and wait for them to settle down before you shoot.

But for insect you can actually use tripod to shoot if you are able to get close to them without getting them running away from you.

Hope this help.
Old 31st December 2004   #17
yeocolin

Thank you for sharing about your set-up.

How close was your lens from the subject? Was your flash mounted on hotshoe or disconnected from camera's hotshoe?

Was the flash pointed 'straight ahead' or pointed 'upwards' as some people do?

Cos I tried shoot 'straight ahead' with 100mm macro lens and turned out pictures underexposed, as if the flash coverage doesn't cover such a proximity. Thanks in advance.
Old 31st December 2004   #18
jeffgoh

Thank you for sharing about your set-up.

How close was your lens from the subject? Was your flash mounted on hotshoe or disconnected from camera's hotshoe?

Was the flash pointed 'straight ahead' or pointed 'upwards' as some people do?

Cos I tried shoot 'straight ahead' with 100mm macro lens and turned out pictures underexposed, as if the flash coverage doesn't cover such a proximity. Thanks in advance.
It was close the min foucs distance. and yes my flash is mounted in the hot shoe. it was pointed straight with omnibounce. for the under exposure problem you might need to understand your setting and it oso depends on lightings and where you meter when u should.

I would suggest if you can try to shot with some of the CSers so that you can do abit of comparsion as well as getting some tips on the setting which may help you understand y your pics are under expose.
Old 1st January 2005   #19
yeocolin

Thanks.
Closed Thread