Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem synchronising camera with flash

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    9,777
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Problem synchronising camera with flash

    Hi. Anyone has problem synchronising your Flash guns with your FZ20 in burst mode? BTW, I am using the Suntax 328DTZ and while I was able to get two properly exposed frames (2 out of 3) with the 328DTZ in burst mode, in the past, I now manage to get only one.

    What could be the problem? Is it because the flash is inadequate? (I am using auto flash as what I did before and I have also enabled burst mode flash on my camera).

    Any recommendation for a good reliable burst flash costing no more than $150.
    Last edited by Zenten; 22nd December 2004 at 02:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    the flash probably can't cycle fast enough. are the batteries fully charged and the subject the same distance from the flash and the same ISO/aperture used?

    you'll generally need external battery packs (e.g. quantum 1+, or some dedicated external battery packs) to power the flash to improve the cycling rates.
    Last edited by mpenza; 23rd December 2004 at 12:11 AM.

  3. #3

    Default

    There is another factor why in the past you manage to get 2 to 3 burst and now only 1.

    Your aperture setting and distance from the subject. Higher f-stop and your subject being further away from the camera means the flash have to discharge more to get the correct exposure. If the flash is partly discharge to get the right exposure, it will take a shorter time to fully recharge it.

    For experimenting purpose, everything being equal, try at f2.8 and another at f8, with the subject at the same distance from the camera.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    308

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenten
    Hi. Anyone has problem synchronising your Flash guns with your FZ20 in burst mode? BTW, I am using the Suntax 328DTZ and while I was able to get two properly exposed frames (2 out of 3) with the 328DTZ in burst mode, in the past, I now manage to get only one.

    What could be the problem? Is it because the flash is inadequate? (I am using auto flash as what I did before and I have also enabled burst mode flash on my camera).

    Any recommendation for a good reliable burst flash costing no more than $150.
    Hi Bro, read the manual again. I think somewhere in the manual says that is can only fire one shot with flash. And it is natural that the flash needs to charge up for the subsequent shots too.

  5. #5

    Default

    nope...

    for a short distance , my flash can fire 3 times...

    but for 2m, only fire 2 flashs...

  6. #6

    Default

    Yes my Emoblitz flash can take 3 frames when batt is just fully charged. After that, it is down to 2 all the time.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    308

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spiderman
    Hi Bro, read the manual again. I think somewhere in the manual says that is can only fire one shot with flash. And it is natural that the flash needs to charge up for the subsequent shots too.

    Here is the manaul. But it is for the built in flash. I don't know if it applies for the external flash.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •