Page 41 of 51 FirstFirst ... 163136394041424346 ... LastLast
Results 801 to 820 of 1006

Thread: D800 User Thread I

  1. #801
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore City, Singapore
    Posts
    917

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    For those with thunderbolt port, this is faster than USB 2.0. Though more expensive, you gain the faster speed as compared to USB 2.0.

    However, for those with USB 3.0 port, you can stick with USB 3.0 as Thunderbolt does not offer much speed gain over USB 3.0 and USB 3.0 is much cheaper.


    Check the following comparison out:

    Seagate GoFlex Turbo Review. Thunderbolt, USB 3.0/2.0, Firewire 800 - YouTube

  2. #802
    Senior Member rain5533's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S'pore, JB
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazypaladin
    For those with thunderbolt port, this is faster than USB 2.0. Though more expensive, you gain the faster speed as compared to USB 2.0.

    However, for those with USB 3.0 port, you can stick with USB 3.0 as Thunderbolt does not offer much speed gain over USB 3.0 and USB 3.0 is much cheaper.

    Check the following comparison out:

    Seagate GoFlex Turbo Review. Thunderbolt, USB 3.0/2.0, Firewire 800 - YouTube
    Yes for my case, if wanna go for USB 3.0 should be change my whole laptop to become MBP Retina for total cost $3k vs $300 for using thunderbolt still worth it for me.

  3. #803

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by rain5533 View Post
    Yes for my case, if wanna go for USB 3.0 should be change my whole laptop to become MBP Retina for total cost $3k vs $300 for using thunderbolt still worth it for me.
    funny you mention. I just did the $3k solution last week. :P got tired of waiting around for the new iMac.

    well, at the moment, USB3.0 drives are (very much) cheaper than thunderbolt drives.

  4. #804

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Same for my case, my current iMac do not support USB3.0, thus have to resort to Thunderbolt solution.
    Quote Originally Posted by rain5533 View Post
    Yes for my case, if wanna go for USB 3.0 should be change my whole laptop to become MBP Retina for total cost $3k vs $300 for using thunderbolt still worth it for me.

  5. #805

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by loboclerk View Post
    The technician also told me that it is preflash. But the thing is, all my settings were manual. Manual focus, manual shutter, aperture, ISO, flash power. I rarely ever used TTL. It didn't make sense for it to preflash at all. And the thing is, the problem doesn't exist on my D80.
    You mean even flash power change to manual also fired 2 times? I had test mine, all manual including flash power, it only fired once before shutter close. Nikon should change a new one for you if they cannot solve this problem .

  6. #806
    Senior Member loboclerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,843

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    You mean even flash power change to manual also fired 2 times? I had test mine, all manual including flash power, it only fired once before shutter close. Nikon should change a new one for you if they cannot solve this problem .
    Yes I always use manual.. using TTL or iTTL uses battery too fast and I don't need it.

    Confirm that you used rear curtain flash? You tested with bulb mode or long shutter to see if the preflash appeared?

    I just tested with onboard flash only, all manual mode. The preflash fires but does not appear in the picture. I used CLS before and the preflash appeared in the picture, but for that I'll need to test again.
    Macro Photography in SG - http://sgmacro.blogspot.com | Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/sgmacro

  7. #807

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    I using M mode, bulb, f10, ISO 100 and at menu e3 change to manual flash power.
    When I press the shutter it did not fire, it only fire when I release the shutter, but
    at TTL mode it fire 2 times

  8. #808
    Senior Member Dfive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore lah....
    Posts
    3,085

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by mogwai View Post
    funny you mention. I just did the $3k solution last week. :P got tired of waiting around for the new iMac.

    well, at the moment, USB3.0 drives are (very much) cheaper than thunderbolt drives.
    Whats the $3k MBP Retina solution ? how....
    See my WTS items.. :) Any sales is by meet up face to face, payment is cash only.

  9. #809

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dfive

    Whats the $3k MBP Retina solution ? how....
    Buying a new Retina display MacBook Pro for over S$3,000.
    KF Photography
    Thanks for viewing!

  10. #810
    Senior Member Dfive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore lah....
    Posts
    3,085

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by Blur Shadow View Post
    Buying a new Retina display MacBook Pro for over S$3,000.
    LOL sorry guessed that after I posted it... hahahaha

    I'd prefer the solution being someone buying me one...
    See my WTS items.. :) Any sales is by meet up face to face, payment is cash only.

  11. #811
    Senior Member loboclerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,843

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie77 View Post
    I using M mode, bulb, f10, ISO 100 and at menu e3 change to manual flash power.
    When I press the shutter it did not fire, it only fire when I release the shutter, but
    at TTL mode it fire 2 times
    Thanks for doing the test! I just checked, it only happens when I set the on-board flash to commander mode. Technically it still should not do the pre-flash since everything is manual, but it does.
    Macro Photography in SG - http://sgmacro.blogspot.com | Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/sgmacro

  12. #812
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    334

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loboclerk
    Thanks for doing the test! I just checked, it only happens when I set the on-board flash to commander mode. Technically it still should not do the pre-flash since everything is manual, but it does.
    If you're on commander mode, shouldn't the preflash be present to control other CLS flashes.

  13. #813

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Technically it shouldn't preflash , I remember my previous D300 did not preflash when in commander mode.
    Fired so many times all insect runaway ... Joke

  14. #814
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    334

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Let me rephrase that ... if you're in commander mode, there should be a preflash to trigger your CLS flashes if group A or B are set to "M". However, there will not be any preflash if group A and B are set to "-".

  15. #815

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Just to share my simple shot with my beloved D800..


  16. #816

    Default

    Very nice !! Thanks for sharing .

  17. #817

    Default

    Hi guys. Wandering if you experience lubricant stain on sensor often. I have my D800 for 2 months and need to send back nsc for sensor cleaning twice so far.

  18. #818
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore City, Singapore
    Posts
    917

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    what cause the lubricant stain?

  19. #819
    Senior Member Dfive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore lah....
    Posts
    3,085

    Default re: D800 User Thread I

    Quote Originally Posted by crazypaladin View Post
    what cause the lubricant stain?
    Fast shutter actions, or using continuous burst of frames ( FPS ) has been known to do it sadly. ( on many high spec / or high frame rate cams... not just Nikon )
    See my WTS items.. :) Any sales is by meet up face to face, payment is cash only.

  20. #820

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dfive

    Fast shutter actions, or using continuous burst of frames ( FPS ) has been known to do it sadly. ( on many high spec / or high frame rate cams... not just Nikon )
    Do you guys always send back to nsc for cleaning or diy?
    Any recommended kit if diy?

Page 41 of 51 FirstFirst ... 163136394041424346 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •