Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Inserting CF cards

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    58

    Default Inserting CF cards

    I did something which is not supposed to....
    I inserted a CF card into my camera WITHOUT turning off the power.. will it damage to the camera?

  2. #2
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong KM View Post
    I did something which is not supposed to....
    I inserted a CF card into my camera WITHOUT turning off the power.. will it damage to the camera?
    No. It should be fine.

  3. #3

    Default

    Small issue leh.
    KF Photography
    Thanks for viewing!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    It's not a big deal, sometime u have to do this while shooting event. no time to off camera change card then on camera again. u will miss a lot of shots....
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    Like what others had mentioned, no problem at all. I even change lens without switching off the power although we were told to do so.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    just remember to let the camera finish writing to the card before taking out the card. if not you ll lose the photos in the buffer and have a corrupted file for the one that was being written when the card was removed.

    else if, you can change lens, card, battery, mount/dismount flash when the camera is on (and not doing anything important)
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    485

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    It's a bad habit but part of the worry IIRC comes from those days where computers buffered data before actually writing it onto removable devices. The concern was that if you remove the device before the computer finishes passing data onto it, you could potentially corrupt the device or file in transfer.

    That said, I've done taken SD and CF cards without powering off DSLRs, and have never got data corruption before. As the previous poster has pointed out though; do make sure your camera isn't busy writing data onto it first.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    Thanks for all your replies which help to allay my concerns about it. At first I was thinking if I've introduced any unwanted ESD into the camera circuitry during the process of inserting the CF card without powered OFF the camera, thus the may affect may the sensor perfrormance of the camera. Instruction manual was saying to turn off when inserting memory cards.

    Haha.. I think I OCD too much
    Will just remember to off it before inserting and removing cards in future.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: Inserting CF cards

    It should be ok. Happened to me all the time.....

    Just dont remove the card while the buffer is writting.... or remove while formatting.
    http://www.EdmundPhoto.com
    for Weddings, Family Portraits, Executive Portraits, etc

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •