Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 15th December 2004   #1
Digiman

Thumbs up 20D Battery Life

This might be old news to most of you 20D owners but I thought I should share this experience with those people sitting on the fence and still debating whether to upgrade to a 20D.

I charged the 511A battery that came with the cam about 3 weeks ago, reset the frame numbering to 0 and was shooting with it until it finally ran flat this morning. I checked numbering of the last shot taken and it was an amazing "2059". WOW! More than 2000 shots on a single charge!

Mind you, I used it in a normal manner, not particularly trying to conserve energy, although I only used the built-in flash a few times. I previewed the shots all the time, and also deleted shots along the way.

I'm surprised that Canon's own estimates are so conservative (abt 1,000 shots, w/o flash & 700 witth 50% flash).

Perhaps the other 20D users can confirm this?
Old 15th December 2004   #2
jeff49er

Yes battery life is as long as " thousand thousand years"
Old 15th December 2004   #3
Falcon

That is a quantum leap from 10D which is only 200+ shots.
Sponsored Link
Old 15th December 2004   #4
John Tan

Imagine how much you can shoot when you are using with grip w 2 batt!!! Even the IS lens can't suck it dry after 1000+++ shots!
Old 15th December 2004   #5
Pablo

Hi Digiman,

Can't say that I have tested a battery till flat.
I change mine over when I know I am at about 800. (have 2).

This is not for pro work; I just don't want the disappointment of a flat battery.
Old 15th December 2004   #6
Digiman

Originally Posted by Pablo
Hi Digiman,

Can't say that I have tested a battery till flat.
I change mine over when I know I am at about 800. (have 2).

This is not for pro work; I just don't want the disappointment of a flat battery.
I know what you mean, Pablo. I probably won't shoot until the battery is totally flat again. I just wanted to see how far it could go for once. Anyway I have plenty of batteries with me at all times and a flat battery is really no biggie.
Old 15th December 2004   #7
Pablo

Originally Posted by Digiman
I know what you mean, Pablo. I probably won't shoot until the battery is totally flat again. I just wanted to see how far it could go for once. Anyway I have plenty of batteries with me at all times and a flat battery is really no biggie.
Yo, Hi Digiman,

Glad that you did experiment.
I am not always brite enough to remember the backup
So now I know I have less chance of "Ahhh NO !!"

Old 15th December 2004   #8
leejiing

This might be old news to most of you 20D owners but I thought I should share this experience with those people sitting on the fence and still debating whether to upgrade to a 20D.

I charged the 511A battery that came with the cam about 3 weeks ago, reset the frame numbering to 0 and was shooting with it until it finally ran flat this morning. I checked numbering of the last shot taken and it was an amazing "2059". WOW! More than 2000 shots on a single charge!

Mind you, I used it in a normal manner, not particularly trying to conserve energy, although I only used the built-in flash a few times. I previewed the shots all the time, and also deleted shots along the way.

I'm surprised that Canon's own estimates are so conservative (abt 1,000 shots, w/o flash & 700 witth 50% flash).

Perhaps the other 20D users can confirm this?
wah.. Digiman finally upgraded liao... hehe.. so how is it compare to your old 10D?? any regrets??
Old 15th December 2004   #9
Digiman

Originally Posted by leejiing
wah.. Digiman finally upgraded liao... hehe.. so how is it compare to your old 10D?? any regrets??
Bro, of course no regrets lah. The loud shutter takes some getting used to though...
Old 15th December 2004   #10
leejiing

Bro, of course no regrets lah. The loud shutter takes some getting used to though...
yup... sama sama.. my only complain about that camera oso
Old 16th December 2004   #11
cyanwater

I'm impressed!

Is a batt grip better or a spare batt? Btw, how much does a spare batt cost?
Old 16th December 2004   #12
leejiing

Originally Posted by cyanwater
I'm impressed!

Is a batt grip better or a spare batt? Btw, how much does a spare batt cost?
I got myself the battery grip as I want the vertical grip, AA size battery adaptor and of course, more shots before I change batteries hehe ... u could get 3rd party spare batts from eastgear which is good enough...
Old 16th December 2004   #13
300D

hmm....maybe i should dump my 300D for 20D??
Old 16th December 2004   #14
leejiing

Originally Posted by 300D
hmm....maybe i should dump my 300D for 20D??
dun say dump lah, 300D is still a very good cam ... but if you got the monies to upgrade.. just go for it!!! like me hehe
Old 16th December 2004   #15
300D

dun say dump lah, 300D is still a very good cam ... but if you got the monies to upgrade.. just go for it!!! like me hehe
hahaha..... it's only my crude way to say put it aside...
anyway, i will use the $ to buy lens instead.
will upgrade when D200 is out.
Old 17th December 2004   #16
RiStaR

Originally Posted by Falcon
That's not a very fair comparison? 10D with 511 vs 511A with 20D? Maybe it'll be better if a 10D owner tested it with a 511A....
Old 17th December 2004   #17
imaginary_number

Apparently, with the battery grip, the rate of power consumption seems to go up. Someone in dpreview has done some tests. Personally, I get around 700+ shots with the grip (dual batts) before the battery indicator drops to 1 bar (w/ review 4s). Was also using the higher ISOs.

Seriously, I'm more impressed with the 580ex. On a set of 2500mah, I got 700+ shots too, with at least 80% bounced flash. And it was still going strong. Recycling time is really fast as well.
Old 17th December 2004   #18
chenwei

Originally Posted by Falcon
maybe ur batt got prob? mine can last 400+ not a prob, still haven't finished somemore... (1GB card full lol~)
Old 17th December 2004   #19
Digiman

Originally Posted by chenwei
maybe ur batt got prob? mine can last 400+ not a prob, still haven't finished somemore... (1GB card full lol~)
I agree. I remember I could get abt 500 shots on a fully charged 511 on the 10D. Maybe your battery is faulty.

BTW, I made a mistake in my first post. On closer check, I actually managed abt 2,400 shots on the 20D.
Old 17th December 2004   #20
cyanwater

I got myself the battery grip as I want the vertical grip, AA size battery adaptor and of course, more shots before I change batteries hehe ... u could get 3rd party spare batts from eastgear which is good enough...
Any idea how much would a 3rd party spare batt cost?
Closed Thread