Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Dry Cab neccesary?

  1. #1

    Default Dry Cab neccesary?

    Hi all, I just bought myself a Olympus EP3 with dual kit lens. I have been thinking of what assesories that are essential to get for the camera. Been contemplating if I would need a dry cab now bcoz my mum would probably yell at me for the increase in utilities bill since the dry cab have to be on 24/7. I thought of getting a side sling camera bag to put everything together instead since I would be travelling with the camera. Any suggestions?

  2. #2

    Default

    Power usage is very very minimal, like only 5w? Your fan, air con, even Hp charger consumes alot more.

    U can volunteer to pay the difference to your mom lor.

    Anyway I recommend Akurai dry cab. Cathay photo is the authorized agent with 5/6 years warranty. No need to scare about servicing.

    Just go to Cathay at peninsula and see the whole range there. Got analog and digital

  3. #3

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by donut88 View Post
    Power usage is very very minimal, like only 5w? Your fan, air con, even Hp charger consumes alot more.

    U can volunteer to pay the difference to your mom lor.

    Anyway I recommend Akurai dry cab. Cathay photo is the authorized agent with 5/6 years warranty. No need to scare about servicing.

    Just go to Cathay at peninsula and see the whole range there. Got analog and digital

    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy View Post
    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
    Difficult to maintain, no protection assurance.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy

    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
    it's quite troublesome to change or heat the silica gel everytime it turns pink

  6. #6
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy

    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
    You can use dry box, but its difficult to maintain the ph level, too low is bad for your cam.

    Recommended ph is aroud 45%-55%

    Dry cabinet (digital) easier just set and leave it, bill wise I can't see much different Haha
    Last edited by luckyorange; 18th February 2012 at 12:27 PM.
    Lousy de My Flickr

  7. #7

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Thanks all for your responses ... pardon my noobness, 1st time into photography. Any cheap entry level dry cab to reccommend? My camera is now out of the box condition ... any assessories that I should get? I already got 2nd batt, Steinzeiser 1350mm tripod. Thanks in advance!!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    There are some answers here to help you decide:

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/newbi...uy-drybox.html


    Cheers and wish you a good weekend

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy

    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
    seriously, i own a digi-cabi dry cab n it's always on too.. my mum nv noticed much diff.. abt $2?
    Alpha
    Want to get back to photography

  10. #10
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy
    Thanks all for your responses ... pardon my noobness, 1st time into photography. Any cheap entry level dry cab to reccommend? My camera is now out of the box condition ... any assessories that I should get? I already got 2nd batt, Steinzeiser 1350mm tripod. Thanks in advance!!
    Just get a 30l one? Which is around 120
    Lousy de My Flickr

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,444

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    I recommend a 40L at least....BBB can spread fast...
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike
    I recommend a 40L at least....BBB can spread fast...
    Pardon my noobness again ... What is BBB?

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,444

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy View Post
    Pardon my noobness again ... What is BBB?
    A contagious virus...Buy Buy Buy.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  14. #14
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy View Post
    Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
    Fungus does not care about whether your setup is entry level or not. It will just grow once the conditions are right. The point is about 'controlled humidity at a lower level' - something a dry cabinet can achieve easily.
    EOS

  15. #15

    Default

    Thanks guys ... I just bought a digi cabi dry cab from ms colour ...

  16. #16
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by defboy
    Thanks guys ... I just bought a digi cabi dry cab from ms colour ...
    Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
    Last edited by luckyorange; 18th February 2012 at 08:29 PM.
    Lousy de My Flickr

  17. #17
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
    You mean RH, right? The ph value something different.
    EOS

  18. #18

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    You mean RH, right? The ph value something different.
    Octarine, yes.. i think he meant RH.. never knew fungus prefer more alkaline or more acidic conditions to grow..
    Alpha
    Want to get back to photography

  19. #19

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
    Yup.. remember to let it run for a few hours and stabilise before you put your gear in. Don't kan cheong and start adjusting the knob every few hours because the air going in will affect the RH reading inside..
    Alpha
    Want to get back to photography

  20. #20

    Default Re: Dry Cab neccesary?

    cost of cleaning the body and 2 zoom lens abt below 150 plus.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •