Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Newbie's Close Up - Needs comments.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    66

    Default Newbie's Close Up - Needs comments.

    Below is a close up capture of my Tamiya 1/35 Tiger. Using a A95 on auto. How to have this pic turns up sharp


  2. #2

    Default

    tried the macro mode?

  3. #3

    Default

    got use tripod?
    or at least rest the camera on a stable surface and use self-timer to activate
    try to play around with aperture, iso, EV, shutter speed, etc.
    Can actually use software to sharpen it also

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonlou
    tried the macro mode?
    Yeah. I can't get a sharp pic on this mode. What other adjustments I have fiddle with?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greenarrow2k4
    Below is a close up capture of my Tamiya 1/35 Tiger. Using a A95 on auto. How to have this pic turns up sharp
    easy. Just mount your A95 to a tripod, use Av or Manual (ensure the EV is +0) with f8 , timer mode on and SNAP .. sure sharp
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Looks like a case of hand shake?
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  7. #7

    Default

    sorry to borrow this thread, what does the (the EV is +0) do ?

    duno quite know how to best make use of it ?
    is this anything to do with the flash
    using A70.

  8. #8

    Default

    its something like Exposure Compensation.
    U use it to control the 'brightness' of the picture u taking.
    Just play with it and u will know.
    More observable if u set EV+2 in a low-light room and then upload to pc.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    easy. Just mount your A95 to a tripod, use Av or Manual (ensure the EV is +0) with f8 , timer mode on and SNAP .. sure sharp
    Followed your advice , and only thing is how or where should I change the focal? Anyway, a couple of shots using your pointers as guide.




  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greenarrow2k4
    Followed your advice , and only thing is how or where should I change the focal? Anyway, a couple of shots using your pointers as guide.



    u can use flash if u dont want to see the shadow

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sin77
    u can use flash if u dont want to see the shadow
    If I use flash, will the pic turn out as white-wash since I've a white background ?

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greenarrow2k4
    If I use flash, will the pic turn out as white-wash since I've a white background ?
    oh yah... forgot its macro shot... think cannot use flash.
    Pls trial and error and u will find the answer.

  13. #13

    Default

    not enough depth of field? especially the first one, the cannon muzzle is out of focus. not sure, but try playing with aperture settings, or shoot from further away then crop picture?

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pai
    not enough depth of field? especially the first one, the cannon muzzle is out of focus. not sure, but try playing with aperture settings, or shoot from further away then crop picture?
    maybe he can try your method of cropping,
    like that he can even use flash.
    But i think there might be more noise/pixelation when expanded thru cropping

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pai
    not enough depth of field? especially the first one, the cannon muzzle is out of focus. not sure, but try playing with aperture settings, or shoot from further away then crop picture?
    If I bring the muzzle to focus, the other portion of the tank will turns out blur. Which is the best aperture to use in this case? Btw, where to find the aperture setting on the a95 Peiseh - me newbie.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    set to manual (M) and you should see 2 values at the bottom of the screen.

    The one on the left is the exposure time, the rigth is aperture (F2.8, F-something)

    Else you can simplify things and set to Av (Aperture priority). Set the aperture value and the exposure time is automatic. just remember to mount it on a tripod in case you get long exposure times.

    What i normally use to capture model vehicles is have many table lamps all around to soften the shadow. mostly from my back to the front.

    Ok.. not many but I have only 2 one from my left and one from my right both shining diagonally at my toys..models i mean. This way I don't need to use the flash. And I use a cloth as my backdrop (got light blue, white, black).
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    oh yah.. king tiger will be very happy to see this thread. Can ask him for comments and tips. heheh.. i think he just lovess Tigers (the tank).
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  18. #18

    Default

    for shutter speed, when do we used 1/10 sec and 3 sec ?
    especially nite shots. which shutter speed is recommended ??

  19. #19
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sin77
    oh yah... forgot its macro shot... think cannot use flash.
    Pls trial and error and u will find the answer.
    No, you can! Just DIY some diffuser attachment to the build-in flash. But have to expt abit, no problem right? Its free since it digital mah.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greenarrow2k4
    If I bring the muzzle to focus, the other portion of the tank will turns out blur. Which is the best aperture to use in this case? Btw, where to find the aperture setting on the a95 Peiseh - me newbie.
    try using Av mode and setting it at the narrowest aperture (largest f number) - for a95 is it f8? if after you do that, some parts of the tank are still out of focus, then move back a little, this will let you get more of it in focus. then you can crop the picture tighter, 5mp is big enough to crop lah, u not making poster right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •