Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 82

Thread: Back grounds are too bright

  1. #1
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default Back grounds are too bright

    Hiya bros. I was just shooting some pictures near ACM when I realised that my subject (dalhousie obelisk) was very dark while the back ground was very bright.

    I tried using my flash and bringing down the iso and bringing up the shutter speed but the difference was minimal. Any ideas in how to solve this problem??
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  2. #2

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Basics of exposure and dynamic range. Either live with it and just make sure you meter for the obelisk, or use HDR. If your camera is a Sony, you can use the built-in HDR or try DRO +5.

    Or shoot at a time when the sun isn't so bright.
    Alpha

  3. #3
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae
    Basics of exposure and dynamic range. Either live with it and just make sure you meter for the obelisk, or use HDR. If your camera is a Sony, you can use the built-in HDR or try DRO +5.

    Or shoot at a time when the sun isn't so bright.
    Icic. Any attachments or other options? Cuz I'm using a nikon
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes View Post
    Icic. Any attachments or other options? Cuz I'm using a nikon
    Nikon also has built in hdr mode

  5. #5
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mds80

    Nikon also has built in hdr mode
    Hidden in the menus somewhere?
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  6. #6

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by mds80 View Post
    Nikon also has built in hdr mode
    Nope.

    Nikon has active D-lighting, which is not the same as HDR.

    @TS: No, there is no attachment that will help. Even if you use a graduated ND filter, you'll only dim one side of the picture.
    Alpha

  7. #7
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    Nope.

    Nikon has active D-lighting, which is not the same as HDR.

    @TS: No, there is no attachment that will help. Even if you use a graduated ND filter, you'll only dim one side of the picture.
    Icic. Thanks for all your help bros
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes

    Icic. Thanks for all your help bros
    You could try switching to spot metering, then focus on the obelisk. Might blow out the sky though. The other way is mount your camera on a tripod and do exposure bracketing, then use PS to do HDR stacking.
    Stuff I'm reasonably proud of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ctky1973/

  9. #9
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pbear1973

    You could try switching to spot metering, then focus on the obelisk. Might blow out the sky though. The other way is mount your camera on a tripod and do exposure bracketing, then use PS to do HDR stacking.
    What is exposure bracketing? And I'm no good at ps :P
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  10. #10

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes View Post
    What is exposure bracketing? And I'm no good at ps :P
    It means you take one shot where the obelisk is correctly exposed, one more shot for the background, then use the HDR stacking in photoshop to merge them.

    In other words, an HDR shot.
    Alpha

  11. #11
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    It means you take one shot where the obelisk is correctly exposed, one more shot for the background, then use the HDR stacking in photoshop to merge them.

    In other words, an HDR shot.
    Ohh. Is there any online resource that I can read or watch from to learn the steps?
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  12. #12

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes View Post
    Ohh. Is there any online resource that I can read or watch from to learn the steps?
    yes, tons. Just google "how to create hdr" (logical, riiiight?). There's quite a lot of resources.
    Alpha

  13. #13
    Member Fudgecakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    yes, tons. Just google "how to create hdr" (logical, riiiight?). There's quite a lot of resources.
    Like duh hahah thanks man ^^
    There are no bad photographers, only photos that could've been done better
    My Flickr

  14. #14

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes View Post
    Like duh hahah thanks man ^^
    Digitalrev has a reasonably good HDR how-to. Can look on Youtube.
    Stuff I'm reasonably proud of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ctky1973/

  15. #15

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    It means you take one shot where the obelisk is correctly exposed, one more shot for the background, then use the HDR stacking in photoshop to merge them.

    In other words, an HDR shot.
    Bro, does that mean if i use the HDR in my A33, i don't have to go through the trouble of take 2 or 3 shots and stack in PP? or is my understanding wrong altogether?
    Alpha
    Want to get back to photography

  16. #16

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    in Camera HDR uses software to under and over expose the picture digitally. IT works most of the times...

    But if you really want some control over it you may want to capture 3 seperate phots.

    1st Correctly Exposed for the MAIN subject
    2nd underexpose by at least 3 steps (meaning if you shoot 1 1/500 you may want to do a 1/200, to capture bright areas)
    3rd Overexpose by 3 steps. (to capture dark areas)

    Each situation is different... it would be easiler to find the best time to capture the scene if you have time... and if it was a fixed object...

    Cheers
    P&S: Sony U20, Pana-leica FZ5, Canon S90, Pana DMC-T3
    SLR: Nikkor F60, Oly E-510, Oly E-5

  17. #17

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by viewwing View Post
    in Camera HDR uses software to under and over expose the picture digitally. IT works most of the times...

    But if you really want some control over it you may want to capture 3 seperate phots.

    1st Correctly Exposed for the MAIN subject
    2nd underexpose by at least 3 steps (meaning if you shoot 1 1/500 you may want to do a 1/200, to capture bright areas)
    3rd Overexpose by 3 steps. (to capture dark areas)


    Each situation is different... it would be easiler to find the best time to capture the scene if you have time... and if it was a fixed object...

    Cheers

    Many DSLRs can help you with this. On the D7K you just need to press the BKT button, then use the front and rear dials to choose the # of shots (3 or 5) and the bracketing ev (-0.3, 0, +0.3), then mount on a tripod and take the 3 or 5 shots.

    HDR stacking in PS takes maybe 3-5 mouse clicks.
    Stuff I'm reasonably proud of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ctky1973/

  18. #18

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Photogenic View Post
    Bro, does that mean if i use the HDR in my A33, i don't have to go through the trouble of take 2 or 3 shots and stack in PP? or is my understanding wrong altogether?
    That is correct. But note that the Sony HDR is "mild" and tries to look as natural as possible. A lot of people seem to prefer the over-cooked HDR look though.

    Quote Originally Posted by viewwing View Post
    in Camera HDR uses software to under and over expose the picture digitally. IT works most of the times...
    Incorrect. The Sony cameras take 2 separate exposures then blend them.
    Alpha

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    That is correct. But note that the Sony HDR is "mild" and tries to look as natural as possible. A lot of people seem to prefer the over-cooked HDR look though.

    Incorrect. The Sony cameras take 2 separate exposures then blend them.
    I guess it won't need tripod if it snaps the 2 shots fast enough? Hard to believe that the shots would be perfectly aligned so any alignment and smoothing algorithm might introduce loss of IQ?
    Stuff I'm reasonably proud of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ctky1973/

  20. #20
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    23,821

    Default Re: Back grounds are too bright

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudgecakes View Post
    Hiya bros. I was just shooting some pictures near ACM when I realised that my subject (dalhousie obelisk) was very dark while the back ground was very bright.

    I tried using my flash and bringing down the iso and bringing up the shutter speed but the difference was minimal. Any ideas in how to solve this problem??
    what time of the day you are shoot?

    My guess is the time is not right, lighting not right, your subject is back lite, try Google (Google image; keyword: Dalhousie Obelisk) to see how others shoot the same subject at the same angle, I doubt they need to shoot with HDR.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •