Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Something for firefox users

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Thumbs up Something for firefox users

    Check this out if you have not.
    http://bot2k3.net/forum/?showtopic=2840
    A plugin/patch that speeds up browsing. I tried and it improved.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    wah.. just patched...

    thanks man

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Not sure about installing the patch - he says that the increase in speed is from making firefox make multiple requests to the same server concurrently.

    If this is the case, you don't need to install this foreign exe (I know I'm a little paranoid). You can do this instead

    0. Open a new firefox tab/window
    1. Type "about:config" in the address field.
    2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
    3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "50".
    4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Another trick is to make firefox start rendering the page immediately (normally there is a 250ms delay)

    to do this, set
    nglayout.initialpaint.delay = 0

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    Cool gooseberry. thanks for sharing!

  6. #6

    Default

    the patch works..

  7. #7

    Default

    I totally agree with gooseberry... never try EXE from a Unsolicited source...

    and yea, tat about:config thingi was cool... didn't knew that... tat's really a helluva lot of things to tweek... good stuff...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,315

    Default

    really interesting tips, thanks gooseberry!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default



    try about config at home pc.... thanks for sharing.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    thanks gooseberry for the tips. couldn't find the "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" though.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    thanks gooseberry for the tips. couldn't find the "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" though.
    it should be there, try the filter bar to find.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh
    it should be there, try the filter bar to find.
    Thanks to the gurus - it works

    But can't find the nglayout one however

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    thanks gooseberry for the tips. couldn't find the "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" though.
    Me neither... so I just add a new key... kekekekeke

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    hmm weird, the one i use in office has this entry but not the one i use at home. funny!

  15. #15

    Default

    Well, I"ve downloaded mine from http://www.moox.ws/tech/mozilla/, not the official built, but the optimized version for P4 and P(m)...hehehehe... probably there are some differences?... I took the Branch Built instead of the Trunk built... dunno whatsoever reason, the Trunk Built doesn't work and is giving me weird errors... anyone wanna enlighten me?

  16. #16

    Default

    Thanks.. I've just converted to Firefox, and wow.
    It's a whole lot customizable compared to IE.

    I love plugin based software...

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    269

    Default

    thanks for the tweaks

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh
    hmm weird, the one i use in office has this entry but not the one i use at home. funny!
    Yeah, it looks like the preference setting for nglayout.initialpaint.delay is not displayed in the newer versions (if you've installed an older version and done an upgrade, it will still be there), just right click on the preferences list and select New->Integer and create a setting for it.

  19. #19

    Default

    Tried gooseberry's tricks before loading the patcher, and the patcher still loads pages considerably faster.

    So the patcher has more than just those pipelining requests...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •