Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 2nd December 2004   #1
jonoq

Default Which len to choose

Hi All,

Have gotten Minolta 17-35 F2.8 len. Found that the range very limited.. Thinking of getting Sigma 18-125mm f/3.5-5.6 DC and sell away the 17-35.

Anyone try Sigma 18-125 mm len before. Another wide range tele-len will affect quality of the photo? F2.8 and F3.5-5.6 len different a lot, if yes as in what? Is it a good choice to sell away minolta len ?
Old 2nd December 2004   #2
Del_CtrlnoAlt

if you can afford to keep, i think the 17-35 with another 28-125 is better, or maybe get 3 of the different range to match the 18-125...

i did not try the 18-125, but normally lens with longer range tend to lose out in quality over zooms with short length. and the f2.8 can never replicate in the 3.5-5.6
Old 2nd December 2004   #3
grado

Practicality vs Picture Quality... Find out what are the range you like to shoot and spend more on that range.
Sponsored Link
Old 2nd December 2004   #4
deslim27

Originally Posted by jonoq
Hi All,

Have gotten Minolta 17-35 F2.8 len. Found that the range very limited.. Thinking of getting Sigma 18-125mm f/3.5-5.6 DC and sell away the 17-35.

Anyone try Sigma 18-125 mm len before. Another wide range tele-len will affect quality of the photo? F2.8 and F3.5-5.6 len different a lot, if yes as in what? Is it a good choice to sell away minolta len ?
18-125 got minolta mount already?

Not so good idea to sell now lor, you may change your mind again later..
Old 2nd December 2004   #5
jonoq

Originally Posted by deslim27
18-125 got minolta mount already?

Not so good idea to sell now lor, you may change your mind again later..
Checked liow...can order and they will ship in from Japan. So far, from our usage..I like to zoom around to be the best effect..With 17-35mm got some contraint..need to swoop ard with another len i have which is 28-105 mm Sigma len. Found it a bit troublesome and scare intoduce dust or sand into body when i travel ard and keep on swapping.

So thinking of getting a wide range len 18-125...which is very user friendly esp when travel ard.

If travel, need to bring 17-35mm, 28-105, 70-300 mm (3 len)

Dun know..cannot make up mind..scare buy liaoz wate money...
Old 2nd December 2004   #6
deslim27

Checked liow...can order and they will ship in from Japan. So far, from our usage..I like to zoom around to be the best effect..With 17-35mm got some contraint..need to swoop ard with another len i have which is 28-105 mm Sigma len. Found it a bit troublesome and scare intoduce dust or sand into body when i travel ard and keep on swapping.

So thinking of getting a wide range len 18-125...which is very user friendly esp when travel ard.

There is another one 18-50 EX 2.8, the lens covers the usual standard zoom range. Assume it should be better than 18-125, since it is a EX. I understand your complain lah.. that why I didn't buy any new lens so far, until there is some good solution for me arrive.
Old 2nd December 2004   #7
blurblock

18-125 vs 17-35????? and you are selling away the 17-35???? wah liao .... get a cheap cheap 28-200 to compliment it lah ..... 28-200 is no good, but it is better then selling away your 17-35 .....
Old 2nd December 2004   #8
deslim27

Originally Posted by blurblock
18-125 vs 17-35????? and you are selling away the 17-35???? wah liao .... get a cheap cheap 28-200 to compliment it lah ..... 28-200 is no good, but it is better then selling away your 17-35 .....
He has a 28-105 mm Sigma len liao..

I hate it too.. got cut off at around 40-50mm (after 1.5 CF), best at least 70mm..
Old 2nd December 2004   #9
HMC

Default 18-125 Good Walk Around Lens

Hi All,

I have a 18-125 and I find that it is a good out door travel lens. The range is good so you will not need to change lens that often. Only set back is that it is not good enough for low light indoor application. I find that I have this lens on my cam 70% of the time when I travel with it.
Old 2nd December 2004   #10
jonoq

Originally Posted by deslim27
He has a 28-105 mm Sigma len liao..

I hate it too.. got cut off at around 40-50mm (after 1.5 CF), best at least 70mm..
Same feeling... that time went ard for photo shooting, found that 17-35 got limitation in zooming.. so end up walk half way change len now and then... U know that type of feeling... imagine ard beach area, sekali sand got into the len or body...disaster..

Main concern is that Sigma 18-125 F 3.5 will it great drop in quality of picture..as compare to minolta len.. I very greenhorn in choosing len..
Old 2nd December 2004   #11
jonoq

Originally Posted by HMC
I have a 18-125 and I find that it is a good out door travel lens. The range is good so you will not need to change lens that often. Only set back is that it is not good enough for low light indoor application. I find that I have this lens on my cam 70% of the time when I travel with it.
So normally in Singapore, u bring your 18-125 and 17-35 mm ard...under low light env, you will use 17-35 mm ? Under Good light condition, you use 18-125mm ?

Anyway, under bad light condition cannot use manual focusing on 18-125 mm ?
Old 2nd December 2004   #12
BBTM

Personnal View.

Those wide lens, 12-24, 17-35 are mostly for gp, family, landscrape and short distance shooting. A walk ard len will require a long range of zoom like those 24-135, 70-200 etc... For wild life, above 300mm is a must, make it 600mm if you can

So, use the right range at the right time and you hardly need to change len. Or you shoot a enough with a wide before you change to a long range for other. Try not to be greedy and changing target here n there, very troublesome one.
Old 2nd December 2004   #13
Flare

come come... sell to me... sell to me
I'll gladly hisap (suck) your 17-35... I need a wide angle...

Personally, think around 52mm equivalent may be a wide for some people, while some can actually run around with just a 50mm prime.. For me, I need a wide to take group shots... that's all, if not think my 24-105 will still stay on the camera until I find a better walk around...
Old 2nd December 2004   #14
UY79

Can't find the Sigma 18-125 for Minolta mount on any of Sigma's website.

Where can you order it from?

Old 3rd December 2004   #15
jonoq

Originally Posted by UY79
Can't find the Sigma 18-125 for Minolta mount on any of Sigma's website.

Where can you order it from?

Call MS color.....
Old 3rd December 2004   #16
jonoq

Originally Posted by Flare
come come... sell to me... sell to me
I'll gladly hisap (suck) your 17-35... I need a wide angle...

Personally, think around 52mm equivalent may be a wide for some people, while some can actually run around with just a 50mm prime.. For me, I need a wide to take group shots... that's all, if not think my 24-105 will still stay on the camera until I find a better walk around...
Well, if i got Sigma 18-125 mm coz it basically cover from wide to standard. Concern is that cannot try cause it is not in Singapore, must indent through store and they bring in for you...

So still wonder F2.8 and F 3.5 long range len will have great diff in quality of the picture..

P.S: If i make up my mind..i sure PM u..
Old 3rd December 2004   #17
UY79

Call MS color.....
Are you sure they got it right? Sigma 18-125mm DC lense for Minolta mount?

The only trace of it I got from the web is one on Amazon which I think is the result of an error.

Old 3rd December 2004   #18
jonoq

Originally Posted by UY79
Are you sure they got it right? Sigma 18-125mm DC lense for Minolta mount?

The only trace of it I got from the web is one on Amazon which I think is the result of an error.

Yup..i call to Sigma Singapore.. They state it not available in Singapore.. They will need import from Japan..which have Minolta mount. Maybe you can call them and double confirm...

You are buying?
Old 3rd December 2004   #19
UY79

Yup..i call to Sigma Singapore.. They state it not available in Singapore.. They will need import from Japan..which have Minolta mount. Maybe you can call them and double confirm...

You are buying?
No, not this one. If DC lenses for Minolta mount are available, I might consider the 18-50 2.8.

Old 3rd December 2004   #20
blurblock

I would not consider 18-50 DC f/2.8 ..... the price is more expensive then the Tamron / Sigma / Minolta 17-35mm and not even full frame, thus unable to be used on my film body.
Closed Thread