Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 62

Thread: What would you do with 36MP?

  1. #1
    Member vizuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    80% Sg
    Posts
    383

    Default What would you do with 36MP?

    With the D800 coming up, I was thinking of the wonders it could open up for many. I definately would get my hands on it, BUT! In the real world practicality, we won't print our pictures so large. Can anybody enlighten me what will you do with the full 36MP?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Landscape and shoot in DX mode for 18megapixel birding and macro.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  3. #3

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    buy new memory cards, buy new hard drives...

  4. #4

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    Quote Originally Posted by vizuel View Post
    With the D800 coming up, I was thinking of the wonders it could open up for many. I definately would get my hands on it, BUT! In the real world practicality, we won't print our pictures so large. Can anybody enlighten me what will you do with the full 36MP?
    for me personally, i think it means i'll get more useable crops. haha, i can even shoot everything in landscape, then crop the ones i want to portrait :P

  5. #5

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    I won't buy it unless I upgrade my laptop / external hard disk first......
    with 36mp, my current laptop will lag and external hard disk will run out of memory for sure......

  6. #6
    Member vizuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    80% Sg
    Posts
    383

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    haha I expect such replies! Thinks for affirming my thoughts.

  7. #7
    Member pasay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    508

    Default

    36MP is just another "good-to-have" feature esp for pros who print large, but real world applications for a hobbyist are close to zero print-wise I oftentimes print large (min 12" x 18", sometimes up to A3 size) using a 12MP D90, and i find that 12MP is enough for most needs. Unless as mentioned above you just want it for usability in croppingu
    a Nikon body, some lenses, a flash, and a whole lot of dusty photos

  8. #8
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    Yes, need to buy new external hard disk.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Dfive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore lah....
    Posts
    3,085

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    Quote Originally Posted by mogwai View Post
    buy new memory cards, buy new hard drives...
    Then: Upgrade RAM, and buy new laptop !!
    See my WTS items.. :) Any sales is by meet up face to face, payment is cash only.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dfive

    Then: Upgrade RAM, and buy new laptop !!
    Sure laptop only? Think full power desktop! Haha!
    KF Photography
    Thanks for viewing!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    In the first place, Nikon has 36mp already meh?

  12. #12
    Member tropiccana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    633

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    get new pc

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Very Soon
    In the first place, Nikon has 36mp already meh?
    The very high possibility rumored D800
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  14. #14
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vizuel
    With the D800 coming up, I was thinking of the wonders it could open up for many. I definately would get my hands on it, BUT! In the real world practicality, we won't print our pictures so large. Can anybody enlighten me what will you do with the full 36MP?
    It will be a FX camera that is also truly a (better) DX camera. You can use all your DX lenses at their best.

  15. #15

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    does anyone have any idea what would be the estimated mp in DX mode? For me I would love to use it with 10.5 fisheye.

  16. #16
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jackmbox
    does anyone have any idea what would be the estimated mp in DX mode? For me I would love to use it with 10.5 fisheye.
    If it is the NEX-7 sensor as rumoured than it should be 24MP I think. 24 x 1.5 = 36MP.

  17. #17

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    I am understand the worries about large file sizes.

    However with the high speed of tech stuff normally progress, the large files will become 'normal' soon and thats when it retain its worth by staying current.
    WTB Manfrotto RC4 L Bracket

  18. #18

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai View Post
    If it is the NEX-7 sensor as rumoured than it should be 24MP I think. 24 x 1.5 = 36MP.
    Use similar triangle pricinple, area is related to square of length. D7000 sensor at 16 MP x 1.5 square = 36.45 MP. In the same ball park ast 38 MP.

    Quote Originally Posted by jackmbox View Post
    does anyone have any idea what would be the estimated mp in DX mode? For me I would love to use it with 10.5 fisheye.
    Should be equal to D7000, i.e. 16 MP in DX crop.

    Basis of my comparison.

    Take the D7000 sensor size 23.6 x 15.6 mm = 368.16 mm2 for 16.2 million effective pixels

    Take the FX sensor size 36 x 23.9 mm = 860.4 mm2

    Take the ratio of the area to work out the effective MP of FX camera using D7000 sensor = 860.4 * 16.2/368.16 = 37.9 MP.

    Double check, use data for D300s

    FX camera using D300s sensor = 860.4 * 12/368.16 = 28 MP. D3x is 24.5 mp, so the computation is in the right ball park.

    My take is, therefore, using the same wafer that is used to make D7000 sensor and build FX sensor and get FX (aka rumoured D800).

    So, noise performance should be similar to D7000, i.e. not in D700 much less D3s territory. Double check - D3x noise performance is not in D700 territory, IIRC it is slightly better than D300s.
    Last edited by diediealsomustdive; 5th February 2012 at 01:04 PM.

  19. #19

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    What would I do with 36MP? Nothing. Not going there.

    I like a D3s sensor in a D700 body. Hopefully it comes out after the D800, maybe a D700s?

    And no way the D800 will have better noise performance than D700. To say so would be to claim D3x has better noise performance than D3s or D3 or D700, which is not true.

    Or I may end up with a D7000 - reluctant to go there, as the improvement over D300 is too small for me to splash out the money. Maybe wait another year and buy use D7000? I like to have video function in a D300-size body. And I do not have the luxury of changing body for video, heck I can't even change lens under water!

  20. #20

    Default Re: What would you do with 36MP?

    Quote Originally Posted by sjackal View Post
    I am understand the worries about large file sizes.

    However with the high speed of tech stuff normally progress, the large files will become 'normal' soon and thats when it retain its worth by staying current.
    This I agree.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •