Thread: Closeup +3 +4 filters did not work!

Default Closeup +3 +4 filters did not work!

Hi guys,

a newbie here having trouble with the above. I was not allowed to try the filters at the store (2nd fl peninsular) so bopian....buy first then went back to try and it did not work on my Sigma 70-300 f4/5.6 APO Macro Super II. It just was not able to focus.

Should I put the close up filter on the lens and then followed by UV guard or UV guard first followed by close up filter and then the lens. Tried both ways but still could not focused.

Assistance/tips will be appreciated!
    Last edited by tokunaga; 1st December 2004 at 01:13 AM.

Hmmm.. from what I know is never put 2 filters together UNnecessary... can cause vignetting(is this how it's spelled?).. Oh ya I also use this lens. Don't forget to switch to Macro mode at >200mm

when using closeup filter , u have to use manual focusing. Auto focus cannot work

my advise is don't stack both closeup filter. will cause vignetting.

best is to get macro lens

Quote Originally Posted by tokunaga
    Hi guys,

a newbie here having trouble with the above. I was not allowed to try the filters at the store (2nd fl peninsular) so bopian....buy first then went back to try and it did not work on my Sigma 70-300 f4/5.6 APO Macro Super II. It just was not able to focus.

Should I put the close up filter on the lens and then followed by UV guard or UV guard first followed by close up filter and then the lens. Tried both ways but still could not focused.

Assistance/tips will be appreciated!
    forget abt UV filter. If you want to use closeup +4 filter, remove the UV filter (since it only uses for protection). Using closeup +4 filter, you only have limited focusing distance (abt 1 feet distance from lens) due to shallow DOF. Work best if you zoom in longer focal length like 300mm.
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

Quote Originally Posted by skyflash