Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

  1. #1

    Default digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Hi everyone,just bought a Digi Cabi D050 ytd,something is wrong with my Hygrometer i think,i on the power i saw the readings coming out,but after 15 mins after power on,i went in to check and the Hygrometer do not have any readings at all now..,i guess something is wrong with the Hygrometer right?just 1 day old and i just on it 15 mins ago out from box

  2. #2
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Iittoo
    Hi everyone,just bought a Digi Cabi D050 ytd,something is wrong with my Hygrometer i think,i on the power i saw the readings coming out,but after 15 mins after power on,i went in to check and the Hygrometer do not have any readings at all now..,i guess something is wrong with the Hygrometer right?just 1 day old and i just on it 15 mins ago out from box
    Then bring back to service cent or shop?
    Lousy de My Flickr

  3. #3
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,389

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Likely there's nothing wrong with the hygrometer (although, impossible is nothing), but rather your expectations need some adjustments.
    A dry cabinet is not a shock freezer where you turn on power and 15min later "Ding" it's done. The process of lowering the humidity inside takes a few hours, more than 24h is not unusual depending on the environmental conditions in your place (e.g. whether you use aircon or not), the size of the cabinet and the humidity of what you put inside (dry cabinets are not meant for cameras only).
    So put in your equipment, adjust the cabinet to target humidity of about 45% (or: if you have AD series, turn the knob somewhere between green and red area) - and wait! Come bac checking after 6h and you should see some progress. Wait at least for another 24h before you make further adjustments. Humidity should be equal or lower 45%. Lower than 45% is also fine, nothing to panic. In the meantime do yourself a favour and read the manual and the many similar threads here about dry cabinets. Search function is upper right hand, help yourself.
    Last edited by Octarine; 26th January 2012 at 01:02 PM.
    EOS

  4. #4

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Likely there's nothing wrong with the hygrometer (although, impossible is nothing), but rather your expectations need some adjustments.
    A dry cabinet is not a shock freezer where you turn on power and 15min later "Ding" it's done. The process of lowering the humidity inside takes a few hours, more than 24h is not unusual depending on the environmental conditions in your place (e.g. whether you use aircon or not), the size of the cabinet and the humidity of what you put inside (dry cabinets are not meant for cameras only).
    So put in your equipment, adjust the cabinet to target humidity of about 45% (or: if you have AD series, turn the knob somewhere between green and red area) - and wait! Come bac checking after 6h and you should see some progress. Wait at least for another 24h before you make further adjustments. Humidity should be equal or lower 45%. Lower than 45% is also fine, nothing to panic. In the meantime do yourself a favour and read the manual and the many similar threads here about dry cabinets. Search function is upper right hand, help yourself.
    The whole meter went blank,that is my main concern,do not have any readings at all,not that it never move..but just asking whether it is normal to have the hygrometer went blank?

  5. #5
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,389

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Iittoo View Post
    The whole meter went blank,that is my main concern,do not have any readings at all,not that it never move..but just asking whether it is normal to have the hygrometer went blank?
    First question: do you have AD series or DHC series? Or: do you set humidity by turning the know inside (AD series) or by pushing some buttons next to the hygrometer (DHC, digital series)?
    For AD: change the battery. For DHC, check with the shop / service center. Digihub Service Center is in Tagore Lane, Upp Thomson Rd.
    EOS

  6. #6
    Member brkit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bukit Gombak, Singapore
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Did you put battery in the hygrometer?
    .my flickr :: .my tumblr
    D90 : Nikon 50mm f/1.8 : Nikon 105mm f/4 : Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8

  7. #7
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Quote Originally Posted by brkit View Post
    Did you put battery in the hygrometer?
    quite likely no? haha

  8. #8

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Iittoo View Post
    The whole meter went blank,that is my main concern,do not have any readings at all,not that it never move..but just asking whether it is normal to have the hygrometer went blank?
    could be battery leak. Thats what happened to me

    I never checked mine, the acid corroded the meter now i use a analog one ..

  9. #9
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,335

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Iittoo View Post
    The whole meter went blank,that is my main concern,do not have any readings at all,not that it never move..but just asking whether it is normal to have the hygrometer went blank?
    Just happened today for me. Changed the battery and all's fine.......

  10. #10

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    haha! thanks for this forum. My DIGI Cabi DB-036 was also no reading for a month now. lucky i google "digi cabi hygrometer" and this thread pop out.
    This is what i have done:
    1) Open the dry cabiner door
    2) locate the hygrometer
    3) check hygrometer battery compartment(mine was behind hygrometer compartment)
    4) Take out & replace new AAA battery

    And that's all.

  11. #11
    Senior Member oceanpriest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ghim Moh
    Posts
    3,453

    Default Re: digi cabi Digital Hygrometer not working

    or go simlim tower buy another small hygrometer to double check the humidty level...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •