View Poll Results: for those who get paid to shoot weddings and events,which do you shoot?

Voters
63. You may not vote on this poll
  • RAW only

    22 34.92%
  • JPEG only

    17 26.98%
  • RAW and JPEG

    24 38.10%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: JPEG or RAW?

  1. #1

    Default JPEG or RAW?

    for those who get paid to shoot wedding and events, do you shoot jpeg or raw or jpeg and raw?

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I shoot RAW, RAW and RAW.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    I shoot RAW, RAW and RAW.
    You should shoot RAW+JPG-Fine soon.

    And back to the question, as above.

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    not so soon, not so soon

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GitS
    for those who get paid to shoot wedding and events, do you shoot jpeg or raw or jpeg and raw?
    Learnt my lesson ... it play safe to shoot RAW .. if your CF card got big capacity can oso shoot RAW+jpeg ...
    AMPA * WPPI * J team

  6. #6

    Default

    If its just a day of shooting and walking around, I will shoot RAW. But if I go on extended holidays without computer access, then it will be jpeg.

  7. #7

    Default

    RAW if the body is fast. jpeg fine if run out of space or if no need to print big

  8. #8

    Default

    so few votes?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    all around the world
    Posts
    507

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shodan99
    If its just a day of shooting and walking around, I will shoot RAW. But if I go on extended holidays without computer access, then it will be jpeg.


    its the other way round for me :P

    I shoot jpeg for my clients (unless I understand that they have the intention to enlarge). And I shoot RAW only for my holidays.

  10. #10

    Default

    Shoot in RAW cos memory is cheap... but memories are priceless.
    Last edited by bonfire; 6th December 2004 at 06:32 PM.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KNIGHT ONG
    Learnt my lesson ... it play safe to shoot RAW .. if your CF card got big capacity can oso shoot RAW+jpeg ...
    how to shoot RAW+JPEG at the same time?

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by popeye
    how to shoot RAW+JPEG at the same time?
    Please check your user guide...In D70, you can look for lmage quality NEF+JPEG Basic.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore & Hong Kong
    Posts
    903

    Default

    Does the 300D has this functions also ?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lensman
    Does the 300D has this functions also ?
    It only can shoot in RAW or not RAW... not both...
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  15. #15

    Default

    I shoot in JPEG only for most of the shots... it's only certain VIP shots, eg Group Shots that I'll switch to RAW+JPEG just in case... after that I'll switch back to JPEG.

    Fortunately, I haven't had the need to touch the RAW files.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Behind the viewfinder...
    Posts
    5,851

    Default

    JPEG+RAW is good enuf when you have the control. If the colors and the exposure is right, dun waste precious time in tweeking in RAW coz the JPEG version is already good enuf. Unless you want a super large file for stock usage

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    siglap
    Posts
    87

    Default

    what if they jus need to develop 4r photo? jpeg enough?

  18. #18
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    i shoot in jpeg unless i'm VERY sure that there's gonna be some problems with the exposure and i needed all the dynamic range i can get.
    sigh.

  19. #19

    Default

    how do i take pics in raw?? i am using canon A80

  20. #20

    Default

    check your user manual.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •