Thread: Thaipusam Festival 2012

Default Thaipusam Festival 2012

Thaipusam Festival is on 7 February 2012

I never shot this event before, hence I want to take leave and try this year, But as a noob, I kinda blur with all the Hindi terms & ritual schedules.
    Can some seniors here give some enlightment the best timing / venue to capture?
    I'm interested with piercing & procession...

many thanks in advance!

Default Re: Thaipusam Festival 2012

Just follow it and shoot it.... easy really

For me last year at dusk was ISO 1600 and f2-3.5, got some great shots !!!
    See my WTS items.. :) Any sales is by meet up face to face, payment is cash only.

Just to check, what time will the rituals for Thaipusam begin? From what I understand the rituals start very early in the morning, or possibly even from midnight? Could someone more familiar with Thaipusam please enlighten?

Also, are we allowed to simply enter the temples during the rituals, or do we have to get permission from the temple, etc?
    .my flickr :: .my tumblr
    D90 : Nikon 50mm f/1.8 : Nikon 105mm f/4 : Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8

Quote Originally Posted by brkit View Post
    Just to check, what time will the rituals for Thaipusam begin? From what I understand the rituals start very early in the morning, or possibly even from midnight? Could someone more familiar with Thaipusam please enlighten?

Also, are we allowed to simply enter the temples during the rituals, or do we have to get permission from the temple, etc?
    Is the procession called SILVER CHARIOT PROCESSION or SRI TANDAYUTHAPANI PROCESSION?
    I dun understand, the website saying it's 7 Feb, but when I download the pdf doc, the Silver Chariot Procession is on 6 Feb, while Sri Tandayuthapani is on 7.
    Which one? and what is Annathanam?

when in doubt....

just shoot all.

Where is the starting place and any tips for capturing this event?
    Nikon D200 Nikon20f/2.8D Nikon50f/1.4D Tamron18-200f/3.5-6.3