Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Just a thought - focus stacking

  1. #1
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default Just a thought - focus stacking

    A wild thought in a slow afternoon: a lot of cameras support exposure bracketing. Wouldn't it be cool if one can do focus stacking in-camera? Any camera already do that? Using external remote software seems cumbersome.

    Just a thought...

  2. #2
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    Something like: set camera to rapid shot (say 10 shots of more). Aim and compose. Then press and hold shutter release... camera shoots 10 shots with +/- an epsilon focusing distance from the first shot with epsilon being a tunable parameter.

    Useful or not, you think?

  3. #3
    Member willdoang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    east, near dakota MRT
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    ya i think it'll be usefull, especially at night shoot with large aperture lens where u can miss the focus by a bit, one function to bracket the focusing distance per constant value would be appreciated
    i buy i sell i use, repeat, such are the vicious endless cycle of GAS

  4. #4

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    Should be very useful for macro photography where DOF is extremely shallow.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    But I suppose the speed of a lens changing focus won't be that fast? Besides, I guess it's hard to determine the amount of adjustment needed for each shot. I don't know.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    There are programs out there that let you do that.
    Helicon Focus - extended depth of field, focus stacking, 3D visualization

    To do focus stacking, you'd need to be on a tripod. But once you're on it, manual stacking is pretty easy.

  7. #7
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IsenGrim
    There are programs out there that let you do that.
    Helicon Focus - extended depth of field, focus stacking, 3D visualization

    To do focus stacking, you'd need to be on a tripod. But once you're on it, manual stacking is pretty easy.
    Same goes for exposure bracketing. Just that if already built in as a camera function, far less hassle and more accurate mar.

  8. #8
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    59 Fiercely Focus Stacked Photos

    Cool shots via focus stacking...

  9. #9
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,334

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    It seems the best use of focus stacking is for close-ups and macros. Manual focussing is required though....

    Focus Stacking - a macro photography technique - YouTube

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    To think abt it, to automate the full stacking process, it will require the lens to traverse through a series of focusing distance, would it be better to built this feature in future macro lenses? Maybe a switch call stacking mode and incorporate with CH mode On body to take a series of pics from MFD to 0.5m?
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  11. #11

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    Some of the high end microscopes already have this function in software.

  12. #12
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cks2k2
    Some of the high end microscopes already have this function in software.
    Just discovered that it is available on the S100 that I bought. I have yet to experiment with it though.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Just a thought - focus stacking

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai View Post
    Just discovered that it is available on the S100 that I bought. I have yet to experiment with it though.
    In fact DSLR users can do it with magic lantern I think.

  14. #14
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by area0404

    In fact DSLR users can do it with magic lantern I think.
    Canon only right?

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai

    Just discovered that it is available on the S100 that I bought. I have yet to experiment with it though.
    Ooh it came! Congrats! I think it's a new feature I don't see it on the S95.
    Stuff I'm reasonably proud of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ctky1973/

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •