Thread: Possible to take moon shots with a95?

Arrow Possible to take moon shots with a95?

Hi guys, just wondering if anyone has tried taking pictures of the moon with a95. I'm in Australia for the moment, and where i live, it's clear blue skies in the morning and starry nights with big moon. I dun have any adaptor lens.. tried to take the moon at night (or at least include it as part of the scenery) with different settings but didn't turn out too well. Too long exposure, moon becomes very bright. Too short.. not well either..

Also, I'd be going on a road trip along great ocean road this week end.. can anticipate to take picture of many sceneries.. anytips? Smallest possible aperture?

I'm an amateur so anyone has any idea/comments to help me improve i'd be very grateful!

Quote Originally Posted by dda95
    Hi guys, just wondering if anyone has tried taking pictures of the moon with a95. I'm in Australia for the moment, and where i live, it's clear blue skies in the morning and starry nights with big moon. I dun have any adaptor lens.. tried to take the moon at night (or at least include it as part of the scenery) with different settings but didn't turn out too well. Too long exposure, moon becomes very bright. Too short.. not well either..

Also, I'd be going on a road trip along great ocean road this week end.. can anticipate to take picture of many sceneries.. anytips? Smallest possible aperture?

I'm an amateur so anyone has any idea/comments to help me improve i'd be very grateful!
    Set aperture to f8-f11... wait... set to f8, max for compacts I believe and set shutter speed to 1/80-1/150s (ish..)

Zoom as far as you can...
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

If u keep getting the moon all white, increase ur shutter speed till u can see it right. Happy trying