Thread: Any good recommendations?

Default Any good recommendations?

Hi guys.
    Got a questions to ask.
    I'm a total beginner at photography. Thinking abt getting an SLR camera for learning as digital SLR is way out of my budget. (ard $500+ btw)

Any good SLR cameras to recommend? I heard that there is a new canon EOS 300x model out. I wonder is that good for learning? or should I go for older models, like Nikon F55? How is F55 compared to 300x?
    Can someone kindly point out the pros can cons of the camera they recommend?

Thanks in advance.

wha, i think this had been asked a couple of times already..

Hmm, if you wanna learn the basics of photography, can go for the amateur series.. The 3 digit EOSes like 300v, 3000, 300 etc; But if you wanna learn the more intermediate stuffs of photography, i think most would suggest that you go with teh prosumer range, or the 2 digit EOSes like 30, 30v, 33, 33v, 50, 55, 10 blah blah blah..

The difference between the two is that teh 3 digit series offer lesser control with regards to certain photographic elements as compared to teh 2 digit series.. For example the EOS 300 doesn't allow you to choose a 1st/2nd curtain sync.. it only allows 1st curtain sync.. The more important thing is that the 2 digit EOSes offer a wider area for progressing in the photography realm. Because more control == more mistakes == more lessons learnt