Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remote Control Prb

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    352

    Default Remote Control Prb

    Hi!

    Im using a third party wireless remote control on my d5100

    And I found out that some times it works and some times it don't even though I had a new battery replaced.

    Why is it so?

    Is it becos its faulty alrd?

    Cos the remote control is about less than a year old ...
    Last edited by chaoticbusher; 2nd January 2012 at 12:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Remote Control Prb

    Quote Originally Posted by chaoticbusher View Post
    Hi!

    Im using a third party wireless remote control on my d5100

    And I found out that some times it works and some times it don't even though I had a new battery replaced.

    Why is it so?

    Is it becos its faulty alrd?

    Cos the remote control is about less than a year old ...
    Hello there, can you please describe more about what you mean when you mentioned that sometimes it works while sometimes it don't?
    Cheap lenses are not good AND Good lenses are not cheap!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Remote Control Prb

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Hello there, can you please describe more about what you mean when you mentioned that sometimes it works while sometimes it don't?
    Hi!

    Hmmm ... I actually cant really describe to you in detail about it.

    At times, when I used the wireless remote control on my d5100, it functioned properly.

    Example - I was testing out the wireless remote control in my room the other day before heading out to my friend's chalet and it worked fine. But later on, when I wanted to take a test shot of a group photo, it did not worked. Thought it was the battery so I switched it but still the camera seems not to received the RC's signal or that my RC is faulty, whichever way it might be.

    I hope I given some clear details of my weird wireless remote control ...

  4. #4
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Remote Control Prb

    Quote Originally Posted by chaoticbusher View Post
    Hi!

    Hmmm ... I actually cant really describe to you in detail about it.

    At times, when I used the wireless remote control on my d5100, it functioned properly.

    Example - I was testing out the wireless remote control in my room the other day before heading out to my friend's chalet and it worked fine. But later on, when I wanted to take a test shot of a group photo, it did not worked. Thought it was the battery so I switched it but still the camera seems not to received the RC's signal or that my RC is faulty, whichever way it might be.

    I hope I given some clear details of my weird wireless remote control ...
    Hmm what is the operating distance of the remote stated in the manual? And how far were you and your friends from the camera? Shouldn't be a problem with your remote control.
    Cheap lenses are not good AND Good lenses are not cheap!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Remote Control Prb

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Hmm what is the operating distance of the remote stated in the manual? And how far were you and your friends from the camera? Shouldn't be a problem with your remote control.
    My friends and I from the camera were about 1 - 2m.

    But I tested it at home with me and my camera within 4m and it does not have a prb...

    Guess, i should look for a new one ...

  6. #6
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Remote Control Prb

    Quote Originally Posted by chaoticbusher View Post
    My friends and I from the camera were about 1 - 2m.

    But I tested it at home with me and my camera within 4m and it does not have a prb...

    Guess, i should look for a new one ...
    Hmm I tried using D70 with wireless last time, no problems encountered If I never remember wrongly, must point at a certain point right? Maybe at night, then environment is darker, so a bit harder? Not really sure about it, I always use timer now
    Cheap lenses are not good AND Good lenses are not cheap!

  7. #7

    Default

    I use the original Nikon remote on my D70. It works fine at about 5m. If it is true that your 3rd party remote is faulty, then perhaps you can consider the Nikon one. Less than $20.
    KF Photography
    Thanks for viewing!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •